We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rocks, Conference Center needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfy and staff was amazing, friendly, helpful. The conference portion of the stay was way less than expected by me and my co-workers. The selections for breakfast and snacks were ridiculous for the amount of money paid to attend the seminars. There was nothing healthy and lunch wasn't provided. Would stay there, but will never attend another event held there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment our staff for their dedication to our guests! I am fortunate to have a great team that focuses on taking care of our guests, and I thank you for noting it! I look forward to welcoming you back to Boston! We also appreciate you bringing some conference details to our attention, I have brought your comment to our team and we are actively reworking our offerings with your recommendations in mind. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,955 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for 12 nights, so selected the Superior Corner room with a mini refrigerator and microwave so we could have some in room snacks/breakfast.
We had a few problems but didn't let them spoil our stay.

Problem 1 Corner room didn't have a microwave (or any space for one)
Problem 2 only 1 bathrobe supplied (front desk sorted this out very quickly)
Problem 3 no bath slippers (by the time we realised we had given up for the evening)
Problem 4 Every time a door on the floor was left to slam the wall and headboard moved
Problem 5 There is inadequate sound proofing you could hear other rooms flushing the lavatory, and the one in the room was very loud.
Problem 6 the inroom refrigerator was very noisy considering it was just at the foot of the bed.
Problem 7 Minor problem, no newspaper was supplied but some were in the lobby.

I can't stress enough how friendly the staff were, from Sophie on the desk, to the barman in the lounge giving advice on some local bars serving craft beer.

On a positive note it is just across from the Sheraton and the entrance to the Prudential Centre. There are numerous restaurants and bars a short walk away on Boylston Street.
T stops are a short walk away.
The room windows open a small amount which lets you air the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wemorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

We sincerely appreciate your generous comments about our staff who strive every day to create memorable experiences for our guests. The detailed feedback and comments you have provided are also greatly appreciated, please feel free during your next stay to mention issues directly to the staff whilst you're here. If you feel as though something isn't living up to your expectations, we will do everything in our power to resolve it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel is clean and well maintained. Ventilation in rooms only works for heat in winter, AC in summer, so rooms get stuffy. Can't just have the fan going. Breakfast is either in the restaurant $$ or at the lobby cafe which doesn't have fresh goods. Staff is helpful and very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We are thrilled to hear that the Hilton Boston Back Bay lived up to your expectations on your recent business trip to Boston. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next trip, during which we hope to exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Clean and quiet hotel. Decent rooms with nice linens. The front desk staff were very helpful. The pool is ok, but the gym is above average. Easy walk to the nearby shops and restaurants. The rooms are quiet and bust transportation is easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sciencetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed account of your experience! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our excellent gym! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spent 4 nights here doe a conference and the location was perfect. One block from. Boys ton and the Prudential center and less than a block to the T. Room was very comfortable and even though it was full, I never heard anyone in the hall. Employees at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again when I return to boston.

Room Tip: Khigher rooms so you can enjoy the view do the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment the team and, in particular, our Front Desk Team. I am fortunate to have a great team that focuses on taking care of our guests, and I thank you for noting it! I look forward to welcoming you back to Boston soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Hilton Back bay hotel in Boston sucks, the rooms are poorly designed, the air/heating system sucks. The bathrooms sucks and are so small you can hardly move the door blocks the shower/tub, and the toilet placement while the door is open make it impossible to get into the shower.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Samir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with guest room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel is central for walking to lots of restaurants. The train station is within walking distance.
We had a corner room with a view of the Charles River in the background.
It was easy to take taxis to the Brigham & Womens hospital which was a short drive.
We had free breakfast every day which was very basic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindamaebda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed account of your experience! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our convenient location! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#53 of 84 in Boston
2,472 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $126 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing