We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location right across the street from the conference center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Boston Back Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Boston
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent location right across the street from the conference center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a conference. We had a corner double, and the room was extremely spacious, with a good city view and a view of the Christian Science temple. I am a Gold member, so therefore we had access to the lounge. This was great, as they provide a breakfast in the morning (with real food, not just cold cereal) and snacks and non alcoholic beverages during the afternoon and evening.

Wifi was pretty slow, but it was free with Gold status so it wasn't that big of a deal. We appreciated the fitness center and the pool/hot tub. They are small but the equipment was top quality with a nice view of Boylston Street while you're walking/running on the treadmills.

The location is two blocks from shopping at Newberry Street and about a 20 minute walk from historic Boston sites such as the North End and Paul Revere's House. We were here over St. Patrick's Day and the hotel was still quiet, even though there were several marching bands in house and much revelry.

I would definitely stay here again - I thought the rates were a bit high but I suspect it was due to the holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeLiElHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed account of your experience. I am happy that you you and your friend had a great time in Boston during your conference and took advantage of our convenient location! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    1,089
    455
    154
    62
See reviews for
691
709
162
798
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Excellent staff and location. We were on one of the upper Honors Floor and paid extra for a corner room with more size. The lounge provided breakfast every morning, would have liked a little variety between days but for it being included, it was very nice. Using the lounge in the early evening was a nice way to unwind. Pool was great since it was 18 degrees outside. Fitness center was top notch and used most of the equipment and amenities. The lobby was a busy place with a lot of activity but our room was a nice sanctuary after a long day. Right across the street from the Sheraton with access to Hynes Convention Center, the Prudential Center and Copley Place. Close to both the Hynes and Prudential T stop (subway) on the green line.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed account of your experience! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our convenient location! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and had everything that we required. Only issue is that to use Wi-Fi in the rooms you had to pay for this. However, there is a business centre beside the lobby that has free Wi-Fi and also computers available for you to use. We enjoyed the location of the hotel as there was plenty of bars, food places and shops right next door pretty much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Mellisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Boston Back Bay for your recent trip to our city! It is always a pleasure to hear when our hotel meets and exceeds guest expectations, we would love to host you again should you return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Hilton Back Bay last June to celebrate our wedding anniv and it was beyond our expectations. The hotel is beautiful and the room that we had on one of the top floors was gorgeous. We got one of the panoramic rooms and a complimentary bottle of champagne and choc strawberrys to celebrate the anniv. This was such a lovely lovely suprise and it added so much to our holiday and helped make it a holiday to remember. The rooms are spacious and very very well appointed. The staff are so lovely and welcoming and always ready to impart valuable information on local sights etc. The location of this hotel is excellent and you are literally in the best location there possibly could be. It is right across the road from the prudential centre and lots of shopping, restaurants etc. I loved my stay in this hotel and we most definetly will be back. if you are visiting Boston and you want to stay in a real nice hotel.....choose this one!!!!!
Niamh

Room Tip: The high up rooms offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banSHEIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are overjoyed to hear that you and your husband had such a memorable anniversary with us at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. Everyday we make it a point to try and exceed guest expectations so it is an honor to have had the opportunity to host you and we certainly hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is very close to the Prudential Center and public transportation. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are quite with great views of the city. The only down fall is the cost to park your car, $54.00 a night if you stay there, just add it to your room price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest finds our staff and hotel friendly and accommodating! Should you return to Boston we would love to host you again and please ask us about our parking package which will help with the cost and convenience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicomico Church, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not as upscale as some of its neighboring hotels. It is clean and quiet and meets your needs. It did not have free wifi which I think is essential. However when my husband went and discussed it with the staff they did give us a code We could use.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibshiloh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback we sincerely appreciate your input. We apologize that you were inconvenienced by the wifi, complementary wifi is offered in the lobby, starbucks and bar area of our property. Should you travel in the future and stay with Hilton, by signing up for our Hilton Honors program at no cost you will become a program member, once you reach gold and diamond status you will recieve complementary wifi at all Hiltons worldwide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is an older property that has undergone some recent renovations that have immensely improved both room and dining area quality. The hotel location is spectacular- right in the Back Bay, close to Fenway Park, Newbury Street shopping and the Boston Common. The hotel staff is friendly, helpful and quick to address any questions or concerns you might have. All in all, one of my favorite Hilton properties anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to host you again should you ever return to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Property: Hilton Boston Back Bay
Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing