We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relatively good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our second time in Boston. The hotel was close to many of the places we wanted to see. It's a Hilton, so you kind of know what your going to get. Nice open lobby, polite staff and a Starbucks.

The rooms are spacious and tidy, loved the night light in the bathroom. Liked the set up.

Downsides: this hotel is noisy! If it's not the air con, it's people. All night.

They charge $41 a night to park. Pretty expensive in my opinion.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We were very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and that you had positive experiences with our staff and the lobby amenities. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise and we will take your comments into consideration. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel should you return to the Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Boston Back Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

In great Boston location yet avoids frenetic sheraton ,
convention center madness. Who needs frenetic 24/7.
Rooms lovely , staff excellent, fitness THE BEST..quiet ,friendly
and steps away from everything.. Shops restaurants convention center , mall ..
Lucked out in every way

Room Tip: Ask front desk, they will fill your needs. If you are really lucky smart helpful care giving Benjami...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanrose2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a response about your stay with us at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel provide you the comfort you were looking for and were able to take advantage of our convenient location. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff has shown our guests the Hilton hospitality, we take great pride in doing so. We hope to see you again should you return to the Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel was very central and across the road from two excellent malls which you can access through the Marriott hotel.

Bit on the pricey side but guess that's what you get when you stay at a hilton in central Boston.

Rooms were nice, spacious with very comfortable beds. Toilets great as well and room service was tasty.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Amrithds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Back Bay. We appreciate all of your comments and are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and enjoyed the room service! We certainly hope you will come back and see us should you return to the Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is spectacular. The staff members are exceptional and go out of their way to make your stay one to remember. My family and extended family were all treated so well. Location is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We are so grateful for your kind words and are ecstatic we were able to exceed you and your family's expectations! We hope you will return should you visit the Boston area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here In late October. We chose this hotel because our other favorite hotel in the Boston back bay area was unavailable. We called ahead to request an early check-in and were told that they would request it, but it was not a guarantee. We arrived several hours early and were denied an early check-in because they were busy, Ok not a problem. We understand it was not guaranteed, but it was a disappointment nonetheless. When we finally went to check-in at 2:30pm, we were informed that our room was not ready yet (seriously!), so they offered us another room on a lower level. We had taken a red eye flight and had been awake for 48 hours, so we took it. We had pre-paid for a room with one KING bed, we walked into a room with two small beds. We brought this to their attention and were told that all rooms were booked and since we had accepted this room we could no longer change. The issue is that we were NOT informed that we would not be receiving the room we had paid for by accepting the room change. Had we been made fully aware that we would be forfeiting what we paid for, then we would not have accepted the room change. The room was clean and decent, but not even one water bottle was provided, we were forced to purchase one small water bottle for $4USD from the small store in the lobby. We were ignored by staff, they were not helpful and did not seem friendly. The beds were comfortable. Good housekeeping, they replenished toiletries. We were stuck on the seventh floor next door to the fitness center and pool, not a real issue during the fall but may be different situation during summer months. I had always heard good things about the Hilton brand, but after this experience I feel it is overpriced, overrated, and not worth $250 a night we paid. So the question is, would we stay here again? It wouldn't be our first choice.

Pros: Great location, 15 minute walk to Fenway Park, close to Prudential shopping center and dining area. Subway T station is a couple blocks away.

Cons: No water provided, did not receive the accommodations that had been paid for, parking in nearest structure is very expensive. Staff was not helpful.

Tips: if you're going to be visiting Boston in late October, bring a good heavy coat or jacket because it gets cold! Layers would make your life easier. Comfortable walking shoes are a must. Riding boots worked great for me!

Everything and I mean everything in the city is way overpriced.
The T is a convenient way to get around, can be a bit confusing if you're not accustomed to a subway system. Go to the MBTA website and use the trip planner tool, it will give you exact directions and information on which station to use and which line to take to get you where you want to go.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jptravels619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your experience at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We apologize that your experience did not fulfill all of your expectations and sincerely appreciate your feedback which we will use to continuously improve upon guests experiences in the future. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance should you return to the Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Location, location, location. We spent a weekend at the hotel with our four year-old daughter. The staff greeted us at reception with a coloring book about Boston and crayons, and we had a nice view of the water from our room, both of which our daughter loved. A very easy walk to Newbury Street, and we spent a fun morning walking the Freedom Trail, through the Common, and back to the hotel. The hotel was nicely furnished, with comfortable bedding. The included continental breakfast for diamond members was adequate, though not extensive. Little perks (like two bathrobes instead of one, a hairdryer that worked well, or replenished soap after the first day), would have been welcome, but overall it was a very pleasant stay at a standard upscale western hotel.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible; the views were terrific!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WashingtonType
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and appreciate all of your gracious comments. The Hilton Boston Back Bay would be thrilled to welcome you back should you return to the Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love staying at the Back Bay Hilton. We find the place to be sophisticated, elegant and just all around marvelous. We have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed or had a bad experience. The staff is always professional and helpful and the hotel is located in a perfect place to enjoy Boston without getting caught in the hassle and hubbub. The price may seem a bit high, but let me tell you, you get what you pay for and here you get top notch service and an amazing stay. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Boston Back Bay! We appreciate all of your feedback and are very grateful to have such loyal customers such as yourself. We are thrilled to hear your trip exceeded your expectations and hope to see you in the future should you return to the Boston area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,359 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 84 in Boston
1,848 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $198 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing