We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard Hilton, just very expensive with Columbus weekend and the Red Sox in the playoffs, and the International Bar Assoc”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great service in general. Good pool gym and hot tub. Very helpfully found some milk at 5am for my jetlagged little boy.
A little understaffed at the check-in counter, frequently had to wait to be served: also no-one and no cart available to help us unload the car on arrival. Starbucks in foyer staffed by very helpful and friendly staffer.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexanderMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and taking time to write a review of your stay with the Hilton Bostn Back Bay. We hope you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and are glad to hear you had a great experience with our Starbucks' staff. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Boston Back Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,681 - 1,687 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, but has major issues. The most notable being that it's very loud. You'll hear your neighbors flush toilets and shower. I also found it wasn't the cleanest hotel (bug in bed & dirty silverware at the restaurant). With so many other hotels in Boston, choose a different one than Hilton Back Bay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the cleanliness problems you encountered. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our Guests deserve better. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was clean and quiet. I enjoyed the toiletries provided and they were restocked sufficiently, which at some hotels is a problem. Would stay here again, and loved that Starbucks was in the lobby! Hotel is within walking distance to famous Newbury Street and many shops and restaurants on Boylston. The common is a fifteen minute walk, approx. and the T is pretty close as well.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NM_61933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a response of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton! I appreciate your very kind comments and I will be sure to share your feedback with the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights at the start of a New England tour. I have no real complaints.It was clean,they did a nice breakfast and the staff were pleasant.Just a couple of gripes, I would prefer once decent sized bed rather than two that were neither single or decent doubles.Also you had to pay for wifi, which is a bit mean.It is well placed to access the rest of the city and was close to the Prudential Centre, over the road through the Sheraton Hotel and you are there, which is great for a spot of retail therapy.Would consider it if we made a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iannpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton. Making the most out of our convenient location is easy, with our hotel being in the heart of the Back Bay just steps away from some of the best eateries, shopping and transportation in Boston. We appreciate all of your comments and will keep them in mind for the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The 2 Day Seminar I attended was located within the hotel. All guest services staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The location of the hotel within the city is great for shopping or a walk to admire the architecture. Watch out for hidden costs. Parking garage rates are 3x higher than nightly parking rates within a 1-2 block radius. No free wi-fi. The sound proofing of the rooms to the hallway and adjacent rooms were minimal and the bathrooms are very tight. The door barely cleared the toilet when opened and you couldn't step into the bathroom with the door open. King suite was spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a response about your stay with us here at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We take all of your comments to heart and will keep them in mind as we continue to try and improve our guest experience. We are very glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A comfortable room.Dining room experience very good,although a tad expensive.
Rather shocked to be asked to pay over 40 dollars for wifi connection to our room( Hilton Back Bay is the only hotel in our 14 day drive through England to ask for payment for wifi in room) Surely,in this day and age this should be included in the hefty charge to be a guest at the Hotel,although wifi is available free in the lobby.
Staff pleasant without being as warm as in so many hotels in the US visited.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VernonPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry your experience did not live up to your expectations. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

On the plus side the hotel is well positioned for the Hynes Convention Centre across the road, many universities and colleges such as Northwest and MIT but not the main Harvard campus - its Public Health School is walkable and is not on the main campus. Public transport is also close both the subway and the train to Rhode Island.
On the downside this is an old building so the elevators are slow and the air conditioning is noisy as it cycles on and off. You cannot turn it off in the room but the hotel can do it from a central control. The hotel is just up the road from the fire station so you can expect fire trucks sirens on a regular basis. There is no club room of the usual type but there is a "diamond" lounge which serves a very basic breakfast but most of the seating is not conducive to comfortable eating. Luckily this area has many places to eat with a good food hall in the convention centre complex. The rooms are adequate, I had a corner room which costs about $10 extra, it is worth it just to have a different shaped room for a change. The bathrooms are typical Hilton small with a tub neither big enough for a comfortable bath nor do they make a good shower with those clinging shower curtains. Some rooms do have a walk in shower.
is it worth the money? Well yes if you to attend the convention centre but otherwise there are other better value hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk in shower and not facing the fire station.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry your room did not meet your expectations. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,360 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 84 in Boston
1,849 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $198 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing