We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Not the best experience. We were college visiting. We stayed in 2 other towns, both Marriott properties and its easy to see why Marriott is winning the hotel wars. We are Hilton Silver level members. No express check in line, wife and I had reservations. They gave us a room designed for single occupancy. That meant a bathroom so small that you could not open the door and use the toilet simultaneously. The mattress was very good. Frankly the best thing about the stay. They charged us for WiFi. What good is being a Silver member if there is no express check in or Wifi. ?? Only other plus was the waiter in the restaurant. Good food and great service for breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay at the Sheraton across the street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family_guy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input on our room appointment and service and apologize you were not pleased with our experience. Please know that we value you as HHonors members and we will keep your comments in mind as we look for new ways to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the improved quality hospitality you expect and deserve from our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,884)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Boston Back Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,900 - 1,906 of 2,884 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel a few different times. It continues to exceed expectations, primarily based on the incredible level of friendly service. I typically stay at Hilton family hotels and I've yet to stay in one that is so intentional about providing exceptional service. The location is perfect with hundreds of great restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. It's also just a quick 15 minute taxi to Logan. Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jski529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. I am very happy to see you were able to experience true Hilton Hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it was a nice, clean, convenient, staff was pleasant and helpful to questions we had. I'm sure if you're looking for luxury this would not be it but it's nice!!! Getting a cab was easy because it snowed 5-6 inches through the night and it seemed to not bother the Bostonians!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkyme1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re happy to see you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed here over st. patrick's day weekend. i booked the room through priceline package with united airfare (room was about $240 for 1 night). we checked in around 3pm, they pulled up my reservation immediately through priceline.com and gave me the key. the room was clean and tidy. the bathroom was nice, although a little small. the room had a flatscreen TV, desk/study, and lounge chair. there was also

i enjoyed my stay at the hotel. the staff was friendly, the room was nice and cozy and they have free internet in the lobby.

location was hard to beat. it is just minutes away from the hynes convention center. it is walking distance to boylston street and newberry st.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good hotel to stay in near back bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and appreciate your time and input on our property layout and amenities.We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed in a mind-blowing selection of hotels in the Back Bay/Copley Place area as well as around the BCEC and I've finally reached a point after my third stay here where I've realised how poor the Hilton is as an option. The rooms are perfectly well appointed, but far behind the Sheraton and Marriott in the immediate area. The floors feel like a rabbit warren when finding a room away from the elevator. Breakfast is ok and the bar is nice enough in that it is away from the reception, but it lacks any atmosphere.

This hotel isn't bad, it's just that it's immediate neighbors are much better for the same price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joegold80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stays with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your time and input on our property layout and amenities and we will use your comments as we look for future refresh options. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the quality and value you expect from our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed two nights for PLRB conference across the street. Hotel is a little older but clean & comfortable with easy access to conference center via Sheraton across the street. Was amazed at large fully functional fitness center with great views of falling snow & good size pool. Ladies room was really locker room with working medical scale & lockers & shower. Key features for me in hotel. Staff very helpful & friendly. Also, very quiet. Slept well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdthomasnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope that next time you’re in Boston you will consider staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good location in Boston Back Bay district, which is good shopping area, with walking access to Boston Common. Just opposite the Sheraton, which gives direct access into the Prudential Center and Boylston Street, good places to eat, shop and the 'T' Underground network. Nice lobby, with Internet access, though charges extra in the rooms. Decent pool and gym, open 24 hrs, not cheap, but I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very happy to see you had such a great stay with us and you were able to enjoy the fitness center and the gym! We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,370 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,859 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $180 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing