We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, well located to the T.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here apart from one niggly thing. We travelled around New England for 10 days and every B&B/hotel we stayed in offered complimentary WiFi unfortunately this hotel doesn't unless you are gold/premium members. It's a really handy tool for planning trips etc. They do offer terminals in the lobby but its not private so if you want to bank online its not ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We appreciate your feedback regarding the speed and cost of our wireless internet service. We apologize that it did not work well during your stay. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we strive to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,025 - 2,031 of 2,912 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first time in Boston and our first stop on our honeymoon. When we arrived after a long flight from the UK, we were met by a surly receptionist who wasn't at all friendly. She asked for our ID and credit card and gave us no information about the hotel, the facilities, the times for breakfast etc. I am pleased to say that this must have been a one off as everyone else we spoke to during our 4 day trip was extremely warm and friendly.
We stayed on the 6th floor. Our room was extremely spacious, with a big bathroom and twin shower. However, I think that the room was a little on the tired side, considering that this was a Hilton hotel.
Breakfast wasn't included. We paid $55 for the first day and after that we visited the nearby Prudential Shopping Centre and had breakfast at a fraction of the cost.
The nearest metro is also at the Prudential.
If you get the chance, take a trip to "Legal Seafoods". (The nearest metro is Aquarium). The food is out of this world

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that had a disappointing arrival and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional Guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was staying at this hotel for a conference that was across the street at the Sheraton. I chose the Hilton instead and regretted that choice. There is nothing wrong with the Hilton, the staff was friendly and the location is good - but it's starting to look a bit rundown and the overall vibe wasn't great. The workout facilities were pretty basic and the view from my room was nothing special.

All of that said, it is clean and the location is excellent. If you can get a good rate there is nothing wrong with it but not as nice as the Sheraton across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with guest room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment of our arrival to the time of check-out, our experience at this hotel was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The concierge was very knowledgable and helpful -- and even offered to print our boarding passes when I trouble doing it myself in the business area. The room was very clean and appointed nicely. The "T" is easily accessible (only two blocks away), and other parts of the city (Prudential Center, Back Bay, South End, Beacon Hill) are a reasonable walking distance away. No question I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randstyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros: Good rooms but with problems (see below). Nice Lobby/bar/business areas. Helpful staff.
Good resturants/bars in easy walking distance as are two T stations.

Cons: Some rooms suffer from noise, our first (20th floor) had noisy air con units below, second (4th floor) had elevator noise all night, third (21st floor) was great.

An issue Hilton should address is WiFi, it’s free in lobby and business area, but in rooms you have to pay $15 a day, during our trip $75 motels gave free WiFi so a $300-$350 a night hotel should offer it free in room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mart166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in Boston you will consider staying with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We went to this Hilton as the other hotels we've been to we're full. Compared to the service we received at the doubletree near the airport, the service here was lacking. Granted I arrived at 11p, but it would have been nice if there was a valet service available or someone at the door to assist with bags. I'm surprised that the doubletree/Hilton near the airport offers all that but the Hilton down town does not. You would expect that from a Hilton. I'm told they will also not credit my Hilton rewards card as my boyfriend booked the room thru a travel website, which is annoying. The room was in the typical nice Hilton style and clean. I think wifi costs $ which I object to. We also ordered room service which was good but expensive $85 without tip for app and 2 entrees and 2 drinks. I'm a little disappointed as I've stayed at the Hilton Times Square and it was much nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielledebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose this hotel specifically, as it was close to the Prudential Centre and the fact that the trolley stop is outside. The Hilton is opposite the Sheraton (where the trolley stop is), and to get to the Prudential Centre, go into the Sheraton, left up the escalator, then straight ahead and right to the shops....easy.

We had booked our hotel via a consolidator, who shall remain nameless, but provided us with weeks of worry after we had booked and then found the reviews online. If booking via someone, always call the hotel a couple of weeks before, to check you do actually have a room..

We came off a cruise ship early Sunday. Room not ready, but staff stored our bags in a locked room, whilst we went on our hoho tour.

When we checked in, we were offered a king or double. We went for the king. We had room 613. On getting in there, and flopping on the bed for a nap, we started hearing strange noises......as if the T train was going past our door! On investigation, we found it to be resonance from the elevator shaft, as our room was directly behind. Luckily, at night this is not a problem, but anyone wanting to sleep before 10 pm or after 7 am, be warned. It is most annoying. Also, flushing the toilet in the bathroom produced a sound as if the toilet was exploding.Weird.

Room itself fine, bed comfy, ac quiet if u put the fan on low. Has a window that opens, for some fresh air. Breakfast is ridiculosly priced at USD 17. Food court and food concessions in the Mall provide everything much cheaper. Also there is a branch of Legal Seafoods there, plus other dining options.

We used the free wifi in the lobby. During the day, found lots of other locations with free wifi, so no issues with no free wifi in the room.

All staff were extremely friendly, although the concierge was notable by his absence during almost all our stay.....

We would only stay there again if we got a room with no elevator noise.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dancer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBostonBackBay, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

I sincerely apologize for the elevator noise you encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in Boston you will consider staying with us again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#52 of 84 in Boston
2,422 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 84 in Boston
1,885 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $157 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing