We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall I give the Eliot 3.5, too many little things just off.”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, excellent location! Little things were off like the TV and Radio were not plugged in and it was a hassle to move furniture around to plug stuff in. No bottled water in room or coffee maker- for the price I was surprised by this! No refrigerator in room, too bad! And the bathroom while lovely, did not allow any room for cosmetic bag, brushes, or anything. I had to put my stuff on a towel on the floor. We did not have a do not disturb sign and were disturbed a couple of times by maids entering in. And the keys are huge and heavy- nostalgic for sure but a key card would be easier to carry about. Again it was beautiful but many little things off- and for the price that shouldn't be.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakeswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was the second year in a row that my family and I stayed at the Eliot to catch a Red Sox game at Fenway. We love it! The rooms are very spacious, clean and neatly appoited. The staff is courteous, friendly and very helpful. We recognize many of the faces from last year so I believe this says a lot about the hotel. Our room was availble for check-in before the 3 PM time. We have a toddler son so having the room available early for him to take a quick nap and freshen up before the game was tremendously helpful to me and my family. The hotel is located near Fenway, the T, the Charles River walkway, Newbury Street, great dining, and so much more. We look forward to our return to Boston next year and will most certainly stay and this welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Rooms are tiny if you are not in a suite and fairly run down. Air conditioning didn't work and when we told the front desk the response was that you should not put it to the lowest temperature setting because hot air will come out....not sure how that could be the case. A high end hotel would have apologized and moved us to another room. On a positive note, the location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juniordavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph P, Assistant General Manager at Eliot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to review our hotel. The majority of the hotel’s accommodations are spacious Premiere suites averaging approximately 475sf. The hotel’s 16 Deluxe Guest rooms average 275sf in size. The entire hotel is renovated and all rooms completely redecorated less than 18 months ago.

I do apologize for the mechanical failure with the air conditioning. Although the hotel’s infrastructure is proactively maintained, there are times when unexpected failures can occur. In such cases, maintenance is always dispatched to the room to assess any failure and concurrently, we take whatever actions might be required, making our guest’s comfort and convenience a priority, including moving rooms if necessary. That this guest was just offered operational advice is perplexing and regrettable, as it seems the front office staff did not understand the extent of the issue. I invite this guest to contact me personally so I may review the circumstances of his stay directly with him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

After a long flight from Brussels to NY and then to Boston, we arrived at the hotel, where we reserved a suite for the 3 of us. Very friendly people & good service and a wonderful location. The suite was nice, but not that whow feeling. The bathroom was tieny tiny for the 3 of us. They did not take into account that we were there with 3 persons: not enough towels, body wash & shampoo. Airco was old and very noisy (we could not sleep with the airco on, because of the noise). There was no possibility to open any of the rooms. We had some bugs too in the room. For our feeling, we paid too much just for 2 nights (+/- 900$).

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Eliot is a jewel in the city of Boston. Well located for walking to museums, Fenway and restaurants; gracious and friendly staffed; quiet, large and elegant suites. We loved our stay at The Eliot.

Room Tip: Our suite had a king size bed in the bedroom and a pull out couch in the other. Perfectly suited fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_A538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right at the intersection of Commonwealth and Massachusetts. Great location to the ball park, dining (Boylston and Newbury), touring, Hop On, Hop Off, great walking distance to everything. We loved the Hotel as it is next to Harvard Club (and they were filming Whitey Bulger story while we were next door)! We got a corner suite and it was cozy and romantic. Bathroom facilities were more like Paris or London circa 1950 but everything updated, clean and accessible. The room was quiet and the layout was very comfortable. The staff was very responsive, service was great and we always left our key to our room at the Reception Desk. This was not like the Marriott Marque that we had just spent a week in at Times Square but it also didn't cost us over $800./night! Their restaurant is convenient and the food was excellent. However, we also had great dining selections just a few blocks away. Of course, the weather was super and it was Boston at its Best. We'll definitely be back to the Eliot Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get outside rooms depending on number of people in party as we well as availability. See we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hifliangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

the hotel still uses the heavy key on a brass key-chain and they still have the hotel check-in with the boxes that hold the keys just like an old luxury hotel in London or from the movies! Loved that my kids could see what hotels were like way back when. From the doorman to the front desk folks to the yummy brownies left on the desk after check-in its a fabulous hotel! location is awesome in downtown Boston. we walked to Harvard and back then to dinner on Charles st. and of course shopping on Newberry were steps away. Breakfast was fantastic. bathroom was luxurious. loved our stay! would recommend very highly! Bed was so comfy after a day of non stop walking!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Texasboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,541 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $217 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing