We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and modern service”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Eliot is a lovely old hotel with all the modern amenities, in the central area of Boston, with a well deserved reputation for service and customer satisfaction. We were made very welcome on arrival and the valet parking is a great boon in a busy city centre hotel. The reception manager who greeted us - Soyoon Joo - was so welcoming and helpful and her courtesy and professionalism made our stay at the Eliot even more enjoyable. Overall we found the hotel location very handy for walking to and from the various city centre sights, including the shops at the main shopping Mall. Boston is a busy place, despite the icy Winter weather, and the hotel was a lovely refuge on our return each evening.

Room Tip: There is major refurbishment of the hotel exterior so if possible choose a room away from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Upon our arrival, the staff was extremely helpful and attentive. The hotel itself has an old-world charm and feels as it is in a world of the 1920's. Unfortunately the hotel was very run down and dirty in the actual room. It turned out to be a further walk from downtown and tourist sites than we had imagined-but that was our own fault not knowing the layout of the city. The staff during the day was wonderful but at night, absolutely rude. It was very obvious why management schedules them the way they do. I would recommend this hotel for those who only wish to stay in the Back Bay area and are looking for the historical pizazz rather than convenience and efficiency.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph P, Assistant General Manager at Eliot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

I wish to thank this guest for taking the time to share their experience of our hotel. While we are committed to providing superlative accommodations and service, it appears we were unsuccessful in this case. It is perplexing, however, that the guest would state the room was run down and dirty as the entire hotel has been completely renovated and our housekeeping standards are of the highest order. Had the guest informed the hotel of their dissatisfaction, we could have investigated and certainly attempted to provide the guest with an accommodation that would have met their expectations; it seems we were not given the opportunity to do so. It is regrettable as well that this guest expressed such a discordant experience between our daytime and evening staff. We pride ourselves in providing gracious and professional service to all of our guests in the most egalitarian manner. That the guest feels differently leaves us some concern and I would certainly welcome an opportunity to discuss the experience personally with the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Staff is very helpful, smiling and friendly. Location is fantastic. You are very close to shopping centers and also Boston University. The room was very clean and beyond our expectations. I would recommend this hotel strongly if you would like to have a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candle2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The service is excellent in this elegant hotel. The doorman gives a feel of sophistication and welcome. However, it is awkward to call room service for everything, including ice. We had to ask for glassware for the bathroom as well. The location is fabulous- close to Newbury Street and the Prudential Center for shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Although the front of the Eliot is being renovated, it did not disrupt my recent overnight stay. The room was clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff were hospitable and helpful. And dinner at Clio was as great as ever. Wonderful servers, Catherine and Nathaniel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We loved our stay at the Elliot. There were 5 of us with three 6 foot boy teenagers. We are too big for most hotel rooms, but the Elliot 2 BR suite was the perfect fit. Plenty of room for all.

What a wonderful location. Just east of Kenmore square. The hotel was just steps to shopping and dining on Newbury street. My wife got a mini shopping spree in while the boys lounged in the comfortable room with three tv's. A perfect launch pad to see a Fenway game!

Upon departure we received a 15% coupon for our next stay. What a nice surprise. We will be back.

Pat
from Southbury Ct

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patbannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The location is excellent, the suites are perfect to have a small business meeting or to just relax, the service is always spot-on and the Eliot houses my favorite restaurant in Boston ... Clio.

This is a must stay hotel.

Room Tip: Take a suite. It's got everything you need and more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myquest4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#10 of 85 in Boston
4,563 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 85 in Boston
2,888 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 85 in Boston
4,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $216 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing