We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for girls' getaway”
Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston area
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel for girls' getaway”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We just spent a great weekend at this hotel. 5 women shared a 2 bedroom suite comfortably (especially for the small amount of time spent in room). We had a room with 2 double beds, a room with a queen bed and a living room with a pull-out couch - I slept on that and it wasn't bad at all. The location was great! I was concerned we would be too close to Kenmore Square, but we definitely still felt like we were in the Back Bay. We walked to the MFA, and spent a lot of time wandering around Newbury Street. Beacon Hill was also walkable. The rooms were nicer than I expected, and staff was helpful. Valet parking was pricey ($36 per 24 hours), but we knew that going in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    305
    84
    39
    26
See reviews for
400
369
46
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I joined another couple for a weekend in Boston. We found the Eliot to be perfect. We particularly enjoyed the sitting rooms, which allowed us to watch a "big" football game, read the paper, drink coffee and share good company when we were not seeing the sights. We also enjoyed the interior design and the helpfulness of the staff. We would happily return to the Eliot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We needed to be in Back Bay for a week in July, and got a good deal at The Eliot Hotel. We managed to score a "suite", which was a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette like thingy and a sitting room with pull-out couch. Flat TVs in both rooms, wireless internet (for a fee). The bathroom was tiny, no room for a toilet kit anywhere (let alone stuff for 3 people!).

The fridge wasn't cold enough to chill a couple beers. On the other hand, Boston was suffering through a massive heat wave with temps above 100. Still, we really would have liked a cold brew after the afternoon walk!

Speaking of the heat, the A/C was very very noisy. Perhaps it was just his particular room, but we had to have the fan on the lowest speed to make it manageable.

In general, the standard was, well, old fashion. For example, there were very few electrical outlets, so charging a camera, a laptop and a couple cell phones was a logistical problem.

Also, steer clear of the $30 per person breakfast buffet. Truly underwhelming. We demanded a refund after the first morning, and ate at a Greek diner around the corner on Newbury Street for the rest of the week.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with quite A/C if you are staying in the summer. Check the fridge temp directly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MostlyLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel is in a wonderful location: Near the T, shopping, coffee shops, restaurants. It's also in a beautiful area - good for walking, etc..The staff was very nice, the rooms clean and above average.
I would stay here again. I just had two complaints, one major and one minor. The minor one was that we had no full length mirror anywhere in the room (also no coffee), the major complaint was that even though there were two restaurants in the hotel, they were only available during certain hours. In other words, during our stay, the weather became cold and very rainy. Since we didn't feel like braving the elements, we thought it'd be nice to go down and have a cup of tea or coffee or a glass of wine. No luck. They were not open. It's best to check their hours I guess. In my opinion, in a hotel as nice as this - at least a coffee or a drink should be available anytime. (other than room service) We ended up settling for room service, stuck back in our room, and received only one cup and the coffee was luke warm.
I would recommend this hotel - just be prepared to walk to a coffee shop if you're an early riser!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilybelle344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I would like to start saying that I find quite surprising some of the negative comments about this magnificent hotel. I have worked in many hotels around the world during the years and I can honestly say that this is one of the best I have ever experienced both from a professional and from a guest point of view. I will not go into detail regarding the positives of the Eliot Hotel and I would just recommend everyone to stay here if they are looking for a hotel that doesnt feel like the typical impersonal chain hotel.
Thumbs up for the management.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alchymist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. We had no problems whatsoever. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed here last winter, late for a review but I had to add this. This is my favorite hotel in Boston, and I have only been there once. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in Boston but none seem to compare to the great old world charm and fancy decor that this gem has. There were nice amenities in the room. The bed was plush and comfortable. Service was great we had booked our room on price line and got a great price, the first room we went to had two double beds, so they made a quick easy switch for us to a very nice king sweet. However since this change was made I was charged a extra night fee to my credit card that I could not get taken off. This was a mistake by the hotel, I think because of the change of rooms. Even though I had to pay double I still love the hotel and am sure that next time I will make sure that dose not happen again. I was so impressed by the place that I, who is all about getting the best price on anything, didn't mind paying the extra charge. This is a very rare thing for me too say. I say stay here you wont regret it just watch your charges. By the way Clio the resturant in the hotel is one of the best places you can go to eat in Boston, 5 star top notch food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwilbar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,357 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,629 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliot Hotel is set on one of the most beautiful boulevards in America, a stone's throw from fashionable Newbury St. shopping, Copley Place and Boston’s major art galleries and cultural attractions, as well as universities and research centers. This historic, boutique hotel provides European luxury and unique elegance not found in other downtown Boston area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot Hotel Boston
Eliot Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing