We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Stayed 3 nights at the Doubletree & selected it based on getting a suite; was a little apprehensive after reading some earlier reviews. We were very happy w/our experience. Got a king suite on 7th floor (pd $189 booked thru hotel directly)

Room very clean (was told it had been refurbished) - did not see any of the construction previously mentioned. AND, the shuttle service was excellent! Used it in AM & PM, & it was right on schedule, which is published. Pick-up/drop-off sites include Copley Sq & Acquarium. As long as they keep up the excellent shuttle service, I would not hesitate to stay again. (PS - since it's free, a tip for the drivers is a nice thing to do if you're also pleased w/the service.)

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2006

My wife and I stayed for three days, September 9th - 11th and had a great stay. The most amazing thing about the hotel was the huge suite that we had. We have traveled all over the world but had never stayed in a place that felt like an apartment with a separate living room and bedroom - it was just excellent.
During our stay, the hotel was full of Clemson University fans who were playing Boston College in football. The bar was completely full of fans after their game, but the staff handled each and every customer in a timely and courteous fashion. We also appreciated the friendliness of the staff.
The shuttle mentioned frequently in these reviews was very helpful; we were dropped off on separate days at Faneuil Hall and in Havard Square and promptly picked up when reaquested. The one time that we did not take the shuttle back to the hotel, we rode the T Red Line getting off at the stop between Havard and MIT - Central I think. We then took a cab back to the hotel for a little over $5.00.
I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel as the price was right and was really first class in every way with a concierge that was a big help with directions. (He furnished us with maps for Boston and how to get to Lexington/Concorde.) A great place in everyway and as a benefit, chocolate chip everyday in the lobby!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PrinceRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

Stayed at the hotel on September 2nd for one night. Nice hotel, but very noisy. A lot of foot traffic, a wedding, and one of the reasons I chose the hotel - Scullers Jazz Club - was closed due to the wedding.

The rooms are spacious with a separate area with pull out sofa and television, but the furniture and carpet are dated. There are areas of the hotel that need repainting and updating and just plain cleaning.

The hotel location is very isolated - on a highway - but we had our car so this was not a problem.

We had a very drunk bridesmaid on the elevator on our way back to our room, who screamed at us when we would not give her "jazz fingers". It was very embarssing for the boyfriend and a bit unsettling for us.

It is not a hotel I would consider on my next trip - as the Radisson in Boston was cleaner, newer, more modern and with a more knowledgable concierge - all for the same price PLUS breakfast and parking.

Good luck!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed at this hotel during our stay to Boston, August 15 - 17th. Booked on Priceline through a package -- Next time we know better -- Staying in town makes a huge difference ... Shuttle Service only goes until 9:00 p.m. and then you will be taking the taxi service home. If that is great with you, no problem. We attended the baseball game at FENWAY -- Great time... even if you don't go to the game, go for the experience.

We loved everyone at the hotel, they made our stay enjoyable. Since it is off the beaten path, we paid $37.00 for two to eat breakfast...ouch! At Harvard Square you can find coffee houses, breakfast nooks, etc. Very good food if you don't mind the walk and crossing a very busy intersection. We didn't take the shuttle into harvard square. We stayed for three days and loved the hotel, the beds are GREAT -- you can really enjoy your nights sleep! Neutrogena hair and body products, coffee pot in room, and YUMMY cookies upon arrival. Overall we loved the hotel and hated the location.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PennFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night and absolutely loved our stay. We were in town for our first Red Sox game and weren't very familiar with the city. The concierge was very very helpful and extremely knowledgable about the city.

We arrived early at the hotel and unfortunately our room wasn't ready for an early check-in which we had been advised. The concierge helped us by taking our bags for us and keeping them there until we returned later that evening and were able to check in.

That night, we checked in and were given warm chocolate chip cookies that are amazing! The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very very clean. The space was quite large for the two of us and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful view overlooking the Charles River which was very beautiful to wake up to that next morning.

The next day, we took the hotels shuttle to Copley center and then were able to pick it back up later that afternoon. The shuttle did break down in the middle of Boston, but the entire staff quickly sent another shuttle and handled the entire situation very well. We had no problems whatsoever getting to our destination.

I would highly reccomend this hotel for a small family, a romantic evening out, or for a business traveler. The downside is that the hotel really isn't near any T-Station and a taxi is pretty much the only option. Other than that, we would definitely stay here again.

1  Thank mdccy9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Just stayed here for a long weekend in Boston. I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel -- atmosphere, cleanliness, location, and quality of rooms.

The front desk was very helpful and gave the kids "doubletree" knapsacks with kiddie playthings inside. Kids also loved the cookies. I just found the atmosphere to be very pleasant. The room was a spacious 2 room suite with a very comfortable king bed and very firm, comfortable sofa bed. Nice sparkling views of the Charles River and Boston city skyline at night. The rooms opened up to overlook the spacious center lobby -- reminded me of the Wilderness Lodge in Disney -- very attractive. Some sort of Jazz club was on the premises and looked very nice.

Hotel was just busy enough to make you feel like you're not in the middle of nowhere but not at all crazy and bustling.

Even though they offered shuttle service to several points in downtown Boston, we used our car. Hotel Parking $20 a day is no fun but is to be expected in such close proximity to a major city. Downtown was minutes away by car. Very nice!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamondgirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

For a truly nice hotel you cannnot beat their price. BUT ... it is a little off the beaten track ... if you cringe at the thought of walking along sidewalks on high traffic roads and taking public transit or dishing out for cabs, or paying $20 per day for the honor of a parking space, this is not your hotel. Shuttle service worked fantastic for going to Harvard square where we took the subway, but we never were able to take the shuttle directly downtown. It was always booked or full. Hotel was very clean, staff extremely friendly and informative -- as was all of Boston in our Chicago-esqe perspective. It is in a very safe area. We know because we took public transit or walked. Pool area was hot, but if you wear your suit and get in, the pool temp was just fine. Hot tub was very large and fantastic for relaxing with family and friends and soaking those tired tootsies from sightseeing. We didn't try the restaurant as it was too pricey for us, but there were fantastic places to eat in Harvard square (again, you need to take the shuttle or a cab). To my knowledge, there is no restaurant, or convenience store less that 6-8 blocks away. Hotel was also fine with having food delivered and provided a stack of take out menus for us to use! Drinks were about $8 each from the bar (they were always ample size and most refreshing), bottled softdrinks and water were $1.50 each. Your room has a fridge and there are liquor stores in Harvard square and also a Whole Foods grocer about 6 blocks away. Housekeeping was top-notch and friendly. We made special requests to housekeeping on two nights and all were accomodated with smiles within a 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank tippytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
239 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $114 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, all-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of the Charles River, just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, refrigerators, and flat screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing