We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check in not so good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check in not so good.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

It started out rocky. Our room wasn't ready so the girl had us wait "10 minutes" over on a bench. She left in that time and 1/2 hr later we went and asked what was going on. We were told our room was ready, she didn't know why we were still waiting . We waited 20 extra minutes for nothing. That should be addressed with your staff so that doesn't happen again. We had asked for 2 double beds when we found out at the hotel you don't have that. We had to take 2 singles or a king. If you don't offer double you should take it off your website. After that issue it went up from there. The room was clean. The staff were friendly. The shuttle around town was a big bonus. It made it a lot easier to tour Boston. Our over all experience was great, minus the first hiccup.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so disappointed to hear of the lack of communication regarding your room being ready upon check in. This is in no way acceptable and the information should have been relayed to the next team member once the original front desk agent left the desk. We will be sure to address this matter with our management team immediately! Regarding your room type, it is unfortunate that you were unaware of our room types – the information listed on our website states that they are twin beds so I am unsure where the confusion came from. Nonetheless, we are pleased to hear that we were able to turn your thoughts around and provide you with a pleasurable stay. It is great that you were able to use our complimentary shuttle and that you found our staff friendly and rooms clean. We hope to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Boston/Cambridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    655
    227
    92
    62
See reviews for
605
323
97
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I lodged for 5 nights from June 9th to the 13th and had a wonderful stay on the 12th floor. I was in town to attend a week of training at Harvard Law School and my wife came along to perform her role as care partner in my home hemodialysis treatments.

The Doubletree staff had recieved all my disposable supplies (16 ea. cartons) from NxStage Medical on the prior Friday and stored these until our arrival on Sunday. Upon our Sunday arrival all of the supplies were promptly delivered to our room and neatly stored against the wall in the dining area.

The front room was spacious as was the bedroom, with no lack of storage for our week's worth of clothing and HHD supplies. Counter space for meal preparation was a little cramped, but the ample bathroom counter provided plenty of additional service.

The complementary fax service was invaluable for sending my completed treatment sheets to my HHD clinic back home and the immensely helpful Concierge provided my wife with a loaner umbrella out of the lost and found that I needed desperately on the last day of our stay.

The hotel's location, 1.3 miles from my training destination to the campus of Harvard Law School provided me with ample daily exercise to actually have lost weight during the week. The nearby Whole Foods, Trader Joe's and Rite Aid stores permitted my wife to walk to food shopping avoiding what would have been a complicated short drive with our rental vehicle.

The Doubletree's $35 per night parking fee was a bit to choke down, but alternatives were virtually non-existent. Not having to worry about finding and paying for daily (2 hour limit) parking in Cambridge in return was priceless.

Unfortunately, my desire to arrive at the Harvard Law School training destination around 7:00 am each day rendered the hotel's complementary shuttle service to Harvard Square unuseable, with the earliest depature from the hotel 7:30 am. I had no qualms, given the exercise I got, perhaps with the exception of that last very rainy day, but then there was the complementary loaner umbrella.

Room Tip: Rooms with an overlook view of the skullers on the Charles River
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiKingMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It is so great to receive such a detailed and complimentary review such as this! We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge and that our staff went above and beyond to assist you throughout your stay from delivering your packages, sending/receiving faxes, and loaning you an umbrella. Glad that our location was so convenient for you and your wife to get to different locations during your time with us – losing weight is always a plus! :) We look forward to seeing you again should you be traveling back to Boston/Cambridge in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville nj, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

very clean,good value for our stay.restaurant was very good but a bit pricey.concierge was extremely helpful the rooms were clean and ready at check-in.we arrived early and they accomodated us by storing our luggage.the pool was clean but very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review - we're happy to hear that you had a pleasurable stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston - Cambridge and found it to be a "good value". It is great that we were able to accommodate you when you arrived early and that our concierge was extremely helpful. We hope to be your hotel of choice should you be traveling back to our area soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were in Boston for a family vacation, and, I chose this hotwl because it is not in the city. It is located in Cambridge which is still very close to anywhere you want to go. There is a Whole Foods that is only a 5 minute walk away and we walked there many times for snacks and meals. We also walked to Harvard Square which is only a 20 minute walk from the hotel. The scenery is beautiful along the way and it is a very enjoyable walk. We took the subway downtown because my son wanted to see what is was like to ride a subway. You can take the hotel shuttle, but, we managed to get around on our own. The food in the hotel restaurant is expensive so I recommend eating elsewhere. However, the view from our room was beautiful and we enjoyed the roof top bar. From the roof top bar, you get an amazing view of Boston and it is very pleasant. We had the bi-level room on the 16th floor and it was nice. I wouldn't say the room was as luxurious or elegant as some other rooms that we have stayed in, but; it was nice. The service at the hotel is very good, and all in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The bi-level rooms have pros and cons. The pull out sofa bed is very uncomfortable, and, upstairs is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge! It is a pleasure to hear that you had a great stay and were able to experience the city life with your family while staying with us. It is wonderful that you were able to see the amazing views from our roof top bar on the 16th floor and from your bi-level suite. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
602 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I spent 3 nights at this hotel with a friend. We came to play tourist; take bus tours; a boat tour; and walk the Freedom Trail. We found the hotel's shuttle service to be very convenient. It goes to/from Copley Square, Harvard Square and the Aquarium at regular intervals from around 7:30 am until close to 8:00 pm on weekdays. The weekend schedule is slightly different. Saves you from having to drive your car and finding parking . . . . . which is expensive.

The suites are great and the service is quick and friendly.

3 TIPS:
*When you check-in, insist that they override the air conditioning system for the duration of your stay to allow YOU to set the temperature. If not, their system will run at 72-73F regardless of what you set it at.
**Coffee in the lobby is not free as it is in many hotel. $1.50 get you a large cup. Better to use the 2 cup in-room coffeemaker. . . . . . good coffee! If you are going to want more than 4 cups the next morning, leave the maid a note with a small tip and she will leave more.
***If you are planning to eat in your room, it is much more convenient . . . and a larger selection . . . . to ask for restaurant menus at the front desk. They have a large selection and the restaurants will deliver directly to your room.

Room Tip: I listed 3 tips above . . . . . Another is to request a room away from the elevators. They announce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! With so many hotels to choose from in the Boston area, we are pleased to hear that you and your friend chose to stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge. It is great that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to use our shuttle to get to the tourist destinations you were looking for! Your tips are great and we hope future travelers find them helpful. We hope to see you again should you be traveling back to the Boston/ Cambridge area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff, housekeeping, the shuttle divers, and the concierges were excellent with their jobs. Room keeping was one of the best Double Tree hotels that we have stayed. The concierges were always helpful. The shuttle services have gone out of their ways to pick up all the customers with many trips at nights. Surely, we will stay there again when we come to Boston next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Xuan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
It is such a pleasure to hear the wonderful things you have to say about our hotel and staff! We couldn't be happier to learn that you enjoyed your stay and plan to stay with us again during your next trip to Boston. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team to let them know what a great job they did. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Reno, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was a nice place!! Nice and clean and no problem checking in. Parking a little on the high side and I never got a cookie. Not a big deal but every time I walked by the front desk I keep hearing we are out but there are some fresh cookies on the way so.... And the girl that worked the desk at night needs an attitude adjustment. Maybe caught her on a bad night but still at least try to smile. But over all nice place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Casketfiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review regarding your recent stay at The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston- Cambridge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your suite and found our hotel nice and clean. Please accept our apologies for not having any cookies available when you arrived and for the unpleasant interaction with our Guest Services Agent. This is absolutely not our standard and we are saddened to hear this happened during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing