We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a nice view of the Charles River and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. My daughter slept on the pull out sofa in the livingroom and seemed to be very comfortable. We had room service twice and both times, the food arrived as promised and was delicious. The lobby is beautiful and check in and check out was very quick!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel! Happy to hear you enjoyed your room service and got a nice view of the Charles River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff was very friendly. Rooms were very nice, spacious and clean. Cookies delicious! Beds exceptional, so comfortable. We would highly recommend this hotel. It has everything you want, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. Check in and check out were quick and effortless. Parking is great, parking garage which is secured. We stayed on the Charles River side. Great view and it was fun to watch the rowers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyRedSoxfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Wow! This is fantastic! Great to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel has just had the lobby are remodeled, and looks great. I suggest that you ask for a room with a view of the Charles River. There are boats on the river from very early to late in the evening. It is fun to watch them rowing.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank paulbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the rennovations - we appreciate the feedback! Glad you were able to enjoy to enjoy the view of the Charles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had a friend who wanted to do something special for his girlfriend on her birthday. I hadn't stayed in a Boston hotel in over 10 years since last doing so for a company holiday party. It's an interesting perspective to stay in your own city from a hotel room and see how the tourists do it.

Practically everything was incredible about our Doubletree experience. From the welcoming and thorough front desk staff to the cleanliness of the room, five stars all around for everyone involved. There was a small wait to check in but the line moved quickly and we were greeted with a smile and a fresh cookie for all of us staying in the room.

16 floors up, overlooking a pretty and sunny atrium in the elevator (not for the faint of heart if you are heading high up, seriously). We arrived at our door and were just blown away by how great the room ended up being. Two floors of suite splendor with a extremely comfortable king sized bed upstairs, a TV *in* the mirror of the bathroom and amazing views of the Boston skyline greeted us prior to learning about the motorized 20 ft window shade to hide the sunlight in the morning. At night, we acted like it was a curtain call on the city as we all said goodnight as it was coming down, I'm not sure when I'll get to experience that again but it'll live in my memory for quite awhile. The sinks are lovely as well and few details were overlooked in the room. Even the toiletries were top notch. We had to get extra pillows late in the night and the delivery arrived with a smile. Finally, two complimentary slices of cake arrived room service style and were super delicious, well done DT staff!

The only downsides were the speed of the wifi and parking fee. Wifi was a slight hassle to get on through no fault of the hotel, I didn't see the code listed in the key booklet and had to call the front desk to see if they offered a password, thinking I was slick and not paying for it. Although it didn't end up costing anything, the speeds were slower than what they should be. In regards to our vehicle, they can gouge you on parking because there aren't any other options in the area. $35 to park when you aren't exactly in the city proper is a bit exorbatant., especially with no discount offered for guests. Another very minor problem was a dead bird on the ledge of the room. I'm sure it's difficult to grab since the window doesn't open but it was a bit gross.

Stay with confidence because you won't find much better unless you are a huge snob that NEEDS the Ritz-Carlton downtown. Drop some extra cash and get a top floor suite if you can afford it, especially for a family or a group that needs more sleeping space. You'll be near Fenway, Harvard and even downtown Boston with shuttle services available to certain locations. Local very much approved!

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade, make sure you get the top level suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMEGARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We appreciate your kind and extremely detailed review! Happy to hear that a local Bostonian was able to experience the hotel as a tourist and get a great view of the city from your suite. Getting one of our bi-level suites seemed to be a great option for you as you were able to take advantage of some of the in- room amenities. Should you be needing to stay in the city again we hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston - Cambridge again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

7 years in a row this has been our team's favorite hotel. The location is the best for the Head Of The Charles regatta. The team dinner is always great. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel restaurant, bar, lobby, and parking are all perfect for our athletes and their families to relax and hang out between practice and racing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Joelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoy our hotel and continue to stay with us each year! We look forward to hosting you and your team for many more years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great rooms with a breath taking view! I love the suites in the hotel. They are very spacious and has an ante room with another sofa bed.
Although it does not have any nearby establishments, it is a 1mile walk to harvard square.
Parking is not free and costs 35 dollars per day.
Beds are comfortable and clean.
The wifi is fast and free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladysdv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are so happy to hear that we were pleased with your recent stay and were able to experience the fantastic views of the city! We appreciate your review and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Doubletree. My husband has frequent business in Boston and this hotel is usually our choice for accommodations. They've recently undergone a renovation to the lobby area. The changes seem to allow a larger area for seating and use of the computers. We liked the changes. My husband is Diamond with Hilton and the staff always acknowledges his status and they usually offer us an upgrade. This stay was no exception.
We've been assigned the Presidential Suite on two occasions. Very large space and terrific for entertaining. It has a double door entrance, dining room, living room area, seating by floor to ceiling windows and a wrap around couch for television viewing along with a small galley kitchen area (with microwave, no stove). It has a very small bedroom with attached bath and a spacious lav out in the public areas. I thought the suite needed attention and updating. It looks as though it has been abused by guests. It showed a lot of wear and tear. We were surprised and a bit disappointed. On an odd sidenote, the toilet paper in the suite was so rough and cheap. For the status and luxury of the title "Presidential Suite", this was something I'd change or upgrade in a heartbeat. We wished we had family/friends staying at the Doubletree. We would have utilized the huge space and have invited them and entertained. For just the two of us, I would pass on this upgrade in the future.
Now to the loft suite. I loved it! We had room 1625. You enter into a hallway. Your first left is stairs to the loft, then your next left is a lav. Proceed a few steps more and you are in a living room/dining area with wall mounted tv and sofa and chairs, along with a dining room table that seats 4. There is counter space with a sink, microwave and a small fridge below the counter. This particular room has a door on the right with frosted glass. It leads to a roof top deck that I assume is for all hotel guests, but it's right off the room. I would love to utilize this deck area in the summer, even if it is shared with other patrons. It overlooks the Charles River and all of downtown Boston. It must be magical at night! Upstairs is a king bed with wall mounted tv and a full bath with shower (no tub). There is also a tv built into the mirror with its own remote. Not really practical, but James Bond cool. The loft overlooks the living room. Guests also have a wall control by the bed to open and close the room darkening shade on the large picture window. Very convenient. I would love the opportunity to stay in this room again.
The staff at the Doubletree are most pleasant. With my husband's status, we receive free continental breakfast. We find it very satisfying and have never felt the need to upgrade ($6.00) to the prepared selections. There is a shuttle that will transport you to Harvard Square, the Aquarium and Copley Square. I believe they offer free shuttle to and from the airport too. I love to walk along the Charles and I've walked to Fenway from the hotel. I always look forward to "tagging along" when he has an assigned job in Boston. They have a habit of treating us like royalty. Who wouldn't want to return?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinelectronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Glad to hear that you often choose to stay with us when in town for business! We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear the nice things you said about our lobby renovations and the suites! It is great that due to your husbands Hilton HHonors status you are able to experience breakfast in our restaurant as well. Nothing beats seeing the city at night from our bi-level suites on the 16th floor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $141 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, all-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of the Charles River, just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, refrigerators, and flat screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing