We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view of Charles River, a bit out of the way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of Charles River, a bit out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

The hotel is very nice. It has a very impressive indoor courtyard with all the corridors around.
The views are spectacular, specially if you get a room looking to the Charles River and Downtown Boston.
The suites are very comfortable. they have a nice living area with a table for four person, a couch and a lounge chair, and a very nice plasma TV.
The kitchen is in the corridor to the bedroom. it has a small refrigerator and a microwave, Every day they replace the stock of tea, coffee and coffee condiments. There is a coffee maker to brew your coffee every day.
The bedroom in my case had two beds and a nice desk to work with my computer while enjoying the great views.
The only problem with this hotel is the shuttle service: it is completely unreliable. the most of the times I waited in the pick up stop and it never came, or i got ONE minute late to the lobby and it has already departed (although we needed to make the reservation, so they knew that somebody was missing). Other times, in the contrary, we waited ten minutes on the bus and it didn't departed. They change the routes constantly, they had old brochures with outdated schedules, etc.
Be ready to spend money in taxis, or to walk a lot, because there are no buses nearby and the subway station is a good 15 minutes walk.
The pro of this: walking to Harvard along the Charles River is exquisite (although it will take you more than 30 minutes)

  • Liked — The suite and the views
  • Disliked — The location and the shuttle
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fercho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    639
    223
    88
    60
See reviews for
591
320
94
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

My family and I loved this hotel. (3 kids ages 12, 13 and 15) True, it is out of the way, but the shuttle service got us everywhere we wanted to go. It was about a 15 minute walk along the river to get to Harvard, and about a 15 minutes walk down the street to the T stop for Central Square. There is a Whole Foods 2 blocks away and we bought our breakfast foods there.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the shuttle service was terrific. We would come home from a day of touring, then hop on the shuttle to go downtown to eat. It was always on time, but you do have to make reservations for it, so plan accordingly. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. It was a great value for the price, especially in Boston.

  • Liked — The availability to get where we wanted to go
  • Disliked — It's a little confusing to get to - lots of one way streets and busy highways.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodstock98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

As Hilton Honor members, we stayed on the 15th floor (16 floors in all). The suites have 2 tvs (a tube tv in the bedroom and a flat screen tv in the living room). The bedroom was quiet. If you plan on having on any guests sleep on the sofa bed in the living room, plan to bring some earplugs. You can hear doors slamming and the noise from the atrium. You can also hear guests from the next door room.

While we were there, the hotel was replacing the carpeting and drapery in the the rooms so we heard hammering before 8 am. When we left for the breakfast buffet ($12 pp), one of the construction workers asked us if he can go in the room to do some work. Of course, we answered no. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in one of the restaurants, which consisted of made-to-order omelettes, waffles, pancakes, fresh fruit, bagels, pastries, bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, freshly-squeezed orange, juice, pop, coffee and milk.

Our room had a nice view of the river. The hair dryer in the bathroom did not work, so we just grabbed another one from one of the rooms that was being renovated. We had to call housekeeping to bring toilet paper since we ran out. The hotel has a swimming pool and good-sized exercise facilities.

The location was okay. It was a 20 min. walk from the Central stop (Red LIne train). You can also take the 64 bus, which stops across the street from the hotel, but it runs every 30 min. to 1 hour depending on the time of the day. Make sure you arrive early to take the free hotel shuttle. You are supposed to make reservations but there were people who got on without reservations and some people had to wait for the next shuttle. We found that the easiest way to go to the airport was to take the hotel shuttle to the Aquarium stop and take the Blue Line.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dressyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

The suite was clean and big, and well-facilitated (even with a microwave oven in the room)! Hotel provides shuttle bus service to different local attractions.

  • Liked — the cleanliness and the design of the hotel
  • Disliked — no free internet access in hotel room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Amylase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

I stayed here for two nights in May at a rate of $169. Can't remember how I booked it. For that price, in Boston, I guess it was a good deal (though parking was another $25 per night). Even though I was an H-Honors member, I got a fifth floor room overlooking a truck lot, but I was too tired to ask to be moved. My son slept in the living room with sofabed and was bothered by the noise from the bars below. My twin bed was comfortable. I booked this for the two rooms, which for a family is a good idea. We were looking forward to a good breakfast but discovered the restaurant charged $14++ for a regular bacon and eggs breakfast...There's nothing else around the hotel so we trooped over to the gas station across the bridge and got some horrible muffins and some frozen cheese pastry thing. The staff was helpful and the shuttle service was good. All in all I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — fridge
  • Disliked — cheerless room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northerndancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

This hotel was pretty average. Our room overlooked a carpark (who cares really as we were out anyway) but the carpet was damp, clearly clening up something ikky! The room also smelt really odd! But the beds were so comfortable, warm and lovely after much travelling. However would not stay here again.

  • Liked — car parking
  • Disliked — carpet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank meltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

It is hard to find good service these days, but the staff at the Doubletree was fabulous. I stayed there with my family, including two children, for four nights and was pleasantly surprised by their warmth and hospitality. The suite is perfect for families. And the cookies were delicious!

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nycguestNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Harvard Square Hotel
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing