We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of parking charges but great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beware of parking charges but great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent a night at the hotel purchasing our stay from Priceline. Parking was not included and the parking rate was $35 per night for self parking. That ate up much of the savings from the reduced rate we received.
The good news was that the view of the Charles River from our room was wonderful. There were crews rowing all morning and a run on the Cambridge side of the river.
The suite had a frig, a pullout bed for our son, and ample space.
The staff was pleasant and the room clean.
The other down side is that if you are going to downtown Boston, you will need to drive to a T stop. Walking is possible but a bit inconvenient. Walking to Cambridge, on the other hand is easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Charles River and Cambridge Get free parking as part of your package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback from your recent stay with us! We appreciate your positive feedback about the views and our guest rooms!

While I can understand your frustration with the parking charges, we do comparison reviews on a frequent basis of our competitive hotels to make sure that our parking charges are in line with everyone in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    643
    225
    90
    61
See reviews for
599
321
94
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring
Level Contributor
317 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was a little bit leery heading into this stay, given the hotel's location surrounded by major highways. It was my intention to walk to both BU and Harvard multiple times, and I was concerned about crossing major intersections. I shouldn't have been worried. Access to the hotel is great.

The three things I look for in a hotel stay are quiet, comfort, and cleanliness. The DoubleTree surpassed my expectations on all three. Despite being located in the midst of highways, there is no exterior noise. Internally, each night I heard one loud noise during the night, but there is no noise from doors slamming, people talking in the halls, etc. The room was very comfortable (see comment about the beds below), and housekeeping did a great job in providing a perfectly clean room.

Add friendly staff to those three things and the hotel hit a home run.

The room set up is a little weird, but it's large and quite usable. Walking in the door, you have a large living room with sofa and chair, a small round dining table, and a TV. Then comes a hallway with the bathroom off to the side and then a bedroom in the back. A door separates the hallway from the bedroom.

Complaints? Very minor, but if you are sitting in the living area and you open the drapes to the outside hallway, you get plenty of light in the room but everyone can see in. With the drapes closed, the living room is on the dark side.

DoubleTree only offers two bed configurations - king or two twins. I opted for the twins since a room was available when I arrived at 11 am, and I have to say, it's weird and a bit uncomfortable sleeping in a twin bed after all these years.

I did not eat at the DoubleTree. But across the river, two minutes away walking, is a Dunkin' Donuts for breakfast and about 3 minutes farther on is a Starbucks and a Trader Joe's.

If you are crossing the bridge, do be careful of cars making right turns on red.

Great hotel. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your terrific response and feedback for our hotel.
We can't wait to have you come back for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The property is in a FANTASTIC location for attending graduations at Boston University or Boston College, and the rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. I had a corner room facing east overlooking the Charles River and it was very nice. There is SUBSTANTIAL renovation going on, so the lobby and common areas are not what they should be. There was no noticeable noise from the construction that disturbed us. Also, the trek from the garage to the lobby is tricky with the remodel. This is all acceptable because remodel is temporary.
We went down for continental breakfast at 10:40am on Monday but were turned away by the host (breakfast stops at 10:30, lunch starts at 11:30). Unfortunately this was not communicated in the various literature provided to us when we checked in (breakfast the day before - a Sunday - is until 11:30). There are no coffee shops or restaurants in walking distance other than Dunkin Donuts across the river.
Here are my two main challenges with this property:
#1. Self-parking is $35 a night! Seriously?
#2. Difficult parking and crowded lobby/challenging atmosphere in entrance on Saturday night due to jazz club. I LOVE a good jazz club (visited BeeHive while in Boston...loved it), and I would've patronized the jazz club Scullers at Doubletree if we didn't already have plans. However, when we arrived at Doubletree at 8:30pm on Saturday we couldn't find a parking spot in the garage, due to guests AND jazz club patrons. When we returned to the hotel around 1:15am, there were several police cars at entrance and crowds from jazz club...not a welcoming experience.

I would consider staying here again on a week day, and MAYBE on a weekend if I was going to enjoy Scullers (they get some prominent performers). Otherwise, I would avoid this hotel on a weekend night.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the Charles River...do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide great feedback.
I certainly do apologize for the miscommunication regarding our restaurant hours - I have brought this to the attention of the food and beverage staff.
While I can understand your frustration with the parking charges, we do comparison reviews on a frequent basis of our competitive hotels to make sure that our parking charges are in line with everyone in the area.
I hope you are able to revisit us and check out not only Scullers, but our renovations - we look forward to having you here once again.

Katie.Allen@hilton.com
Catering Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Doubletree in Cambridge and it worked out great! Everyone was friendly, and the room was very comfortable and clean. We had easy access to the area and hotel staff was very knowledgeable on getting around the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback - we look forward to hosting you and your family on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the DoubleTree Suites over the weekend to catch a Red Sox game. First of all, Bryan was very welcoming and instantly accommodating. Being in the hospitality industry makes me annoyingly aware of all the nuances and he nailed the first impression, which then reflected on our stay. We were also able to check-in early and that made the rest of the day easier for us as we could park and arrive to our rain-delayed game on time. Whitney was helpful with instructions to the T as well.

The room was not too shabby: clean and presentable. The hotel has an interior that looks as if an old apartment complex was swallowed by a modern exterior. If nothing else, it's interesting to walk the halls and wonder the why behind the design. They are undergoing renovation as well and as a previous review said, it had no impact on the quality of my stay.

The check-out process was quick and mostly painless as I validated my parking ticket. $35 is steep, but understandable for the location.

Be sure to take in the spectacular painting behind the front desk!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeauHMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for such an awesome review! I can't wait to share the positive feedback with Bryan and Whitney. Hope the Red Sox won that day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Although this hotel is not immediately inside the city, that minor inconvenience is worth it for excellent service and value. The extra space awarded by the suite style accomodations adds to comfort and relaxation. Bathrooms are spacious, modern, and immaculate. We had a river view this time, which was a treat because the weather was beautiful and we could watch the crew teams on the river.

Room Tip: Have never had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Arrived mid-day and we were able to get into our suite without hesitation. The lobby area is currently under construction but it is not a distraction. The property was a Embassy Suites at one time, Hilton has done a nice job with the conversion
The shuttle service is a nice option for going to town, their is no need for a car. Parking is $35 per day typical of an urban location. Great view, clean and efficient property.
Well equipped workout area with views
I did not give a top rating for a front desk agent which is efficient but had difficulties with after answering a question just hanging up. Not once but twice, I am sure the property knows who the individual is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopman_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree B, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback - I'll be sure to share with our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Harvard Square Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing