We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great host for Convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
“Great host for Convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited the Double Tree last weekend along with my friends to attend a convention. The facilities were very adequate, with the staff being accommodating and friendly. At one point specifically a small incident arose that may have tipped my perception of my stay towards being negative, but the bellhop, "Victor" handled the situation for me and those involved and took care of us. It was really helpful and convenient and made me really respect the quality of service and person-ability of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    576
    199
    78
    51
See reviews for
512
276
84
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree again this week. Was able to park right near the door, which was nice. The desk was crowded and uncharacteristically disorganized. It got sorted out and I was given a nice warm cookie and a room overlooking the river.

This room seemed a bit more tired than some of the ones in which I have stayed, so maybe they are redoing some and have not gotten to others. For example, the phone in the living room was old looking, had a frayed line and kept disconnecting. This did not prompt an offer to swap out a new phone, and since I just used the other one, did not push it. Before, though, it always has seemed to me that the staff was more proactive.

My room service came as promised and was good. Like all room service it was expensive. Aside from the hotel retaurants, you are fairly well isolated unless you want to take a shuttle or drive somewhere, and it was late, dark and cold.

The Honors continental breakfast was good. The servers were busy conversing, so I got my own mug, and then had to take a spoon off another table, too. This is not the norm. The food was good and I am always grateful for the free wifi and included breakfast.

While some of the little details were lacking, this is still a fine hotel, well-located off the Mass Pike and close to Cambridge and Boston.

Room Tip: River view is such a treat; the crews are practicing and it is pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Our suite was very comfortable. We could walk to the Harvard Stadium for the football game. It was nice that the hotel provided snacks and coffee service in the room and fresh, warm , chocolate chip cookies at the desk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Enjoyed a one night stay in Cambridge at the DoubleTree Suites. It's likely that this was once an Embassy Suites property, as the open atrium/glass elevator architecture look familiar. A little tricky to find our way into the parking lot - but that's typical Cambridge driving - GPS wasn't great help. Parking is pricey, but also typical Cambridge cost.

The room was great! Booked through the Hilton website, and took the option for a 'subject to availability' reduced rate upgrade for a corner, riverview suite for $30 more? WELL worth the extra cost! View of the Harvard boat house was terrific - and we watched the crews out working hard on Saturday morning.

Bar food was... Ok. Prices? Typical. Service was good, responsive and friendly, though. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet (which was included in our 'bed and breakfast' rate). Front desk staff members were friendly and fun!

There was a drumming convention of some sort the night we stayed - but we had no trouble with noise in the room (10th floor).

Overall - recommended if you're looking for value, comfortable lodgings near the universities. Shuttle is available to take you to Kendall Square, other venues in Cambridge.

Room Tip: If you use the Hilton website to book, you can have the option for a 'pre-purchased' lower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here twice during our tour of New England - at the beginning and at the end of the trip. This is a great place to stay in Boston. It is right on the Charles River so you can watch the crews rowing in the morning. It is in walking distance of MIT, Boston University and even Fenway (yes, we like to walk!). The hotel has a free shuttle that will get you to Harvard or to downtown Boston. This service is great so you don't need a hotel right in downtown Boston. The staff at the front desk is very helpful and room service is very responsive. The on-premise restaurant is a great place for breakfast. They have a continental breakfast buffet or a full breakfast buffet. While you can order off the menu, the buffets are the way to go. A good value for a great breakfast. I'd stay here the next time in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallagrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the DoubleTree Suites in Boston. It's kind of out of the way, yet close to everything in Boston as well. The rooms were nice, the staff was accommodating. They helped us with getting to Fenway Park for a Red Sox game. Plus the cost of the room was very reasonable for Boston. Would stay here in a heartbeat in the future!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a River view. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SearsPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here when visiting our Daughter at College. On the River, great views- easy walk across Bridge to everything. Beautiful rooms and very comfortable beds.
Loved the fact that it was reasonable with out being outside the city.
Hilton properties are always fantastic!

Room Tip: Choose a room high up overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#14 of 19 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Hotel Veritas
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing