We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jazz hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were here mid August for a week. Generally had a Lovely stay, good breakfast selection. My kids loved having to make their own waffles, and if a group performs at the in house jazz club, icing on the cake.

I did not like the fact I had to pay so much for parking.

There is also a regular shuttle to Copley place and Havard square. Pretty much every where you need to go in Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solo40Nigeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is excellent!!!! We stayed Sept 7-11 and booked through Priceline to go to two Red Sox games. When we arrived, they had us booked into 2 twins, which wasn't what we we were hoping for, but when you book through Priceline, you are taking your chances, which some people maybe don't understand and get fussy about. I knew there were rooms still available, and mentioned this, and pushed gently for at least a double... but the front desk gal explained politely that there WERE rooms still open, but they were all the twin rooms. But she offered to have housekeeping come right up and put the beds together, which they did. and actually, it was surprisingly comfortable as they put a puffy feather thing over the whole bed to cover the seam. The air conditioner was also not working as it had frozen and the carpet in front of it was soaked, so they sent a technician right away, which was ok as we were heading out for something to eat.

When we returned, I was collecting a package I had delivered to the hotel and the front desk manager, Vely, said our name was familiar and are we the couple from the room with the air conditioner problem? I said yes as I assumed the package was delivered there, and she immediately said there was a cancellation, she remembered our name, and would we want a king suite? Well of course we would! We moved right away and the hotel was more than excellent the whole 4 nights we were there.

I think all the rooms are suites and they are really spacious, and the little fridge and microwave are very handy.

I really don't know what the other people who are writing reviews are expecting from a 3 or 3.5 star hotel that they need to complain about the smallest things. if you want 5 star service, maybe stay in a 5 star hotel, and pay 5 star prices?

The hotel shuttle was a huge bonus as it goes either north to Harvard Square, or right to Copley. Both have subway access right there and the subways in Boston are excellent, fast, cheap and easy to use. it runs from about 9:00 am to about 8:30 or so at night, except Sundays when it stops around 5:00pm. People can't expect the shuttle to run 24 hours, and a taxi from the subway to the hotel is less than $10 so it's not a hardship. They give a printed schedule when you arrive and we rode it a lot over 4 days and it was never more than 2 minutes off. A GREAT bonus service!! For those people complaining about paying to park, it seems to be typical of Boston, and maybe those people should travel more widely, as many cities charge huge fees to park. The San Diego downtown Westin was $40/night. It is what it is.

Also, I don't know what the issue is with "no coffee nearby"... right across the river, less than 5 minutes walk, is a Dunkin Donuts and the Starbucks is one block east of that. Boston is a walking/running town, so a 5 minute walk should be no big deal for most people. Also the Whole Foods is one block north of the Dunkin Donuts and has no end to yummy snacks and goodies to take back to your room. For a little cheaper store, go to Trader Joe's behind the Starbucks.

I will admit there's not the wealth of restaurant choices you get in Copley or other locations, but you're paying a lot less for a room, so take the shuttle in... it's free and takes 10 minutes. However, we did go to a GREAT little trattoria called Basta Pasta less than 10 minutes walk north into Cambridge. It has excellent pasta, huge portions, and you can eat in (a cute little cafe...clean and bright) or call ahead, take out, and walk back to your room. We did both and loved it so much we went back before flying home to pick up paninis for the plane. the mozzarrella/tomato one I got for $6.95 was massive (10" by 8" oval) and was more than enough for 2 people. PLus if you see the local police in there every day, you know it's good, and cheap!

I recommend being a Hilton Honors member before you go... it's free to join and you get a few more perks like late checkout, little snacks on arrival, etc.

They also have free Wifi, a free business centre with free printing, a great front desk "concierge". The service was prompt and more than friendly for everything we needed...which wasn't much as they took care of everything... the wonderful manager, Vely, remembered us and asked us every time we walked by how our day was, and was so genuinely nice I almost want to make the long journey from western Canada back to Boston next month to stay at this hotel again!

All in all, you can't find a better value for the money and what you get for the not-as-central location is more than made up for with the extras. With a $10 taxi direct to Fenway, or free shuttle to Copley for a bite and then the subway to the game, this hotel can't be beat.

Very highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: We had a view of the Charles River and could se the crews rowing in the morning. Better view than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I visited Boston by myself and had wonderful experience with this hotel. The front desk lady was very helpful and nice, greeting me with two pieces of cookies, even though I just took one:) The cookie was still warm and yummy!

I had the riverview king room. THe view was so breathtaking, no matter in the morning or after the storm. I love siting along the window and looked the rain outside. The skyline was gradually blocked by the heavy storm, making me wonder those building were out of power? En~~ One second later, the view was clear and bright again. The boats along the charles river are decorative and so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLiu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

stayed w family (4 adults 1 kid) in a suite over labor day weekend, a little cramped, but overall comfortable and very affordable (easily half the price of other hotels). clean, not fancy. front desk was very friendly at check in, gave us free internet wifi and free breakfast for half of stay. i complained a little about noise from a party lasting after midnight. they were very apologetic and sent up sparking wine and cheese plate. will definitely consider staying there again, but will probably pick a higher floor due to noise issue

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank travellerfr0mNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The DoubleTree was a nice hotel to stay in if you want to be just outside of the city. The look of the hotel was average but the people were nice and you can't beat the price. If you are looking to eat dinner without having to go into the city the hotel is close to Harvard Square where you can find some very nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner suites on the river have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a great hotel. It looks good and modern. You'll have a nice view on the city and on Harverd. There is a shuttel which brings you to harvard and down town. On a 5 minutes walk there was a Woolworth and another supermarket. Rooms are very big and clean. Staff was very friendly and extra helpfull. We had a great time in this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Although the front desk and housekeeping service was perfect, there were so many other problems that will assure that we will not be back.
We chose The Doubletree because it seemed to be convenient enough to the BU campus. It's not.
That, however, wasn't the problem.
The rooms are 2 room suites, extremely spacious but the front room is adjacent to the corridor that is open to the lobby
The hotel is built around an interior atrium overlooking the lobby,ballroom entrances and lounge.
Because we were so tired, we had decided to have dinner in the hotel. The front desk recommended the Fusion lounge. Each booth has a TV set, which is an interesting touch for a "sports bar". We waited a short while for a table and were seated at a booth where the TV did not work. We were only told that after we played around with TV for a while and asked. We asked for some bread- it took 25 minutes. We ordered dinner- that took over 30 minutes for a chicken sandwich, grilled portobello mushroom and baked chicken. When we ordered, We told the waitress that we were very hungry and she assured us that the baked chicken would not hold up our order. After asking several times as to the status of our dinner it finally arriver- the chicken sandwich was supposed to be on marble rye (according to the menu)- it was on white bread, we asked for honey mustard on the side- that wasn't there and it took 10 minutes to be brought dijon, not honey mustard. The grilled portobello mushroom was ice cold- as was the mashed potatoes and veggie sides that came with the tasty chicken. at least part of the dinner was edible. The service was as bad as the food.
As a result of the atrium setup, the noise level permeates into the front room of our suite, where our daughter was trying to sleep after a very long day moving her stuff into her dorm room. The noise continued until well after 1 AM. we called to see what time the bar closed, and although we were told 11 PM, the noise from the cleanup was as loud as the noise from the bar itself, and a party in the ballroom continued much later and then carried out to the lobby.
The view from our room was lovely- overlooking the Charles. the beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was only slightly better than dinner the night before.
The garage is small and difficult to park in - its very narrow and has blind turns on each level.
we will be in Boston often our the next 4 years and will never even consider returning to the Doubletree.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $109 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, all-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of the Charles River, just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, refrigerators, and flat screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing