We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This is a fine little hotel in a terrific location. We stayed three nights in July 2010. The room was a bit small, the TV reception was lousy and the bathroom was cramped (also, the toilet paper holder was busted). But the room was very comfortable, the bed and linens were excellent, everything was clean and the staff was terrific. The hotel offers room service for breakfast and dinner only, but when we wanted a club sandwich for lunch, the staff got one for us. Also, when we had an emergency after leaving -- we had left our passports in the room safe and were headed for Canada -- the staff got them and helped us get them by FedEx the next day. It's a great place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptrounstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Copley Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,602 - 1,608 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Copley Square Hotel is our "go to" hotel every time we visit Boston. As a MA native, I know there are tons of options for staying in the city, but the Copley Square is second to none. The very-well trained staff are extremely attentive from the moment you walk in the door. Easy check-in process and very trendy space...The rooms are very modern but keep the old school charm of the hotel before the renovations. The "wine down" in the lobby is a great bonus and the entire hotel has free wi-fi! Minibar on the lobby level is a great pre-dinner place for drinks in an awesome setting. Being a New Yorker now, it's hard to find a bar that compares to all of the trendy spots in Manhattan, but the Copley Square has it down! The valet here also has it down - we needed a taxi and he actually sprinted down the street to another hotel to get a taxi for us in a hurry -- talk about customer service!! We will be back to the Copley Square Hotel soon...our only choice for accommodations in Boston!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cboyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Not your fancy big, spacious modern hotel, but a modern version of the original Copley Square Hotel. Superb service and very comfortable, especially considering the old hotel had smaller rooms than we may be used to today. Very good food and a very much "In" nightlife at the in-house Mini Bar & Lounge. Convenient to everything. All-in-all a neat place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highpoint6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for four nights at the start of July. We had booked a standard Botique queen but paid an extra $10 per night for an upgrade. The room was very small but cosy. Our room was located to the front of the Hotel and we found it to be quite noisey with passing traffick during the night. The decor was very modern and the housekeeping service seemed on the ball.Breakfast in the Hotel was good but a bit pricey.The location was great, within walking distance of most attractions. Mini bar was quiet but could have had better opening times.We had a bad experience with one member of staff in the mini bar. My pregnant wife was told to finish a bottle of water she had with her or bin it, even though we were still ordering other drinks in the bar.This could have been handled better , and the particular member of staff seemed to have an attitude problem.Overall front house staff were helpful, overall our stay was good but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowglobetrotter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I usually don.t write reviews on hotels. But I feel I must on this hotel. They did a great job on the renovation! My room was spacious the bed was extremely comfortable, I would like the name of the mattress. The bathroom lighting was great for makeup application. I enjoyed the restaurant, great service and food. The staff, what can I say, from the doorman to management, they were extremely helpful. I look forward to my next trip to Boston and the Copley Square Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

OK, so the room was teeny-weeny - we had a boutique queen room for 1 night, not much bigger than our bedroom at home for $143 w/AAA rate. Great for 1 night, but would have felt really cramped and constricted for more than another night or so.

Very comfy bed w/4 pillows and a down comforter. Hallways to get to the rooms were curved and the elevator was really small too, but it kind of added to the charm of the place. Our bathroom was wallpapered with excerpts from "Paul Revere's Ride". Staff was also very helpful.

In the heart of downtown, close to the mall and library and not too far from a T-stop.

Had trouble getting to the front of the building for valet due to Boston's confusing streets! Missed it the first time, and it took over 20 minutes to navigate back there!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is an excellent choice for us. The historical decoration with a modern feel was done with excellent taste. The room was very cozy and clean. Service was top-notch and equal from top management all the way down to the front line employees.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $175 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing