We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

The hotel has a great location. Walking distance to shopping/restaurants. Easy access to the T and Tour stops. Rooms were nice. Beds were very comfortable. Not sure if it was the Sam Adams but I slept great every night. Bathrooms a little small and no mini-bar in rooms, but the "Mini-Bar" lounge downstairs was open late for nightcaps.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpateAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    548
    150
    42
    23
See reviews for
297
645
132
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Copley Square Hotel recently and was immediately taken by the warm, cozy lobby area. It felt more like a peaceful, relaxing and ultra modern lounge than a hotel lobby. The rooms were beautifully decorated, inviting and comfortable. The staff and service were top notch too. As a business traveler, this boutique hotel was a welcome relief to the standard chain hotels. If you're traveling to Boston, try the Copley, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripod85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

My room had plenty of room. The bedroom was well appointed and quiet and I had no problem with the size of the bathroom. The location is perfect and Copley Square has become my new fav in Boston.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

I travelled to Boston with my husband and two teenage children. The hotel was contemporary and impressive. We were greeted by two wonderful staff who checked us in earlier than expected and booked a tour of the city for us. They were cheerful and friendly and extrememely helpful with suggestions of where to eat for lunch and offering to make a reservation for dinner in North Boston for us. We booked a Premire Family Suite with two bedrooms. The rooms were just beautiful and decorated with total class. Each bedroom was huge with a hallway between the two with the bathroom door located in the middle. The bathroom was small, but it did the job. Obviously you won't be spending most of your time in there so what's the difference really!

Everything was clean and well maintained. I can't attest to how big the regular rooms are, but although it was expensive (what hotel in Boston isn't?) I would get the same room again. A must if you are staying with older kids. Free WiFi for all and the kids were thrilled.

There is a very busy nightclub in the lobby that seemed to be filled with very fashionable upscale college aged crowd.

Loved the place and would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoorheesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie pa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Had the opportunity to stay for several nights recently. Hotel is really phenomenal, contemporary, and a GREAT location. Our room however was the size of a closet with a basic furniture in the room making it nearly impossible for people to pass each other navigating the room. To enter the bathroom you had to pass by the door, open it, then enter depending upon which side of the bed you were approaching from. The bathroom could be defined as an excellent use of space, provided you were 4' tall. Sitting on the commode, my knees actually touched the wall immediately in front of me.

When I addressed my displeasure with the accommodations with the manager on duty, he quickly spouted of a square footage requirement of the room with a pompous snooty attitude like it was a daily practice. There were NO free options to correct the situation other than a paid upgrade on top of the significant parking fees.

Significant street noise around 2AM ... but it is the city. Also a lot of hallway noise penetrating the door.

What can I say, for that kind money and environment, the staff attitude was a real turn off! Considering the glut of rooms in the city right now, I would elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacksEriePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

On a business trip I stayed at this hotel. Admittedly I thought I was staying at one of the better known hotels in the area. Note that I am a business traveller coming to Boston from Europe and I am on the road over 200 days a year so my experience base is pretty rich. This is the worse value for money I have experiences. I paid $326 per night. Lobby was very trendy as would be expected from a recently renovated hotel.....but nobody was there to check me in (and by the way nobody was there to check me out the next day either). Room was okay (not execeptional which this price would justify) but I had to turn sideways to get into the bathroom shower!!! I would expect this in Europe but not the US. As an overseas traveller I woke at 4 am and wanted to order coffee but guess what room service only works from 6h30 to 23h00. Once I did get my small pot of coffee with a glass of low fat milk it was $20!!!! Are you kidding me!!! In short what happens when you try to be and think you are trendy but are just an overpriced badly managed hotel???????? hopefully you do not get guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Canadian_Nomad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

My husband and 3 kids traveled to Boston for the first time and we stayed at the Copley Square Hotel. The staff was wonderful, very helpful, polite and very accomodating. The rooms were very spacious and clean, the beds were totally comfy. The hotel itself is in a great location, right near the Prudential Center and Newberry Street. Lots of shopping! There are some sight seeing hot spots within walking distance as well as the subway, which we ended up using because of the kids. Otherwise, we would have walked the freedom trail easily. If you want to go for a fun getaway with friends, romantic getaway with your spouse or go with the whole family, I would definetely recommend this hotel in all 3 cases.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing