We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 15, 2009

This hotel has an old-style feel to it, but the room sizes are amazing, with 2 king sized beds in them. Staff were extremly polite and friendly. Food was fantastic. Can't praise this hotel enough. Locate is in the centre of Boston and ideally placed for getting about. Lots of retail shopping nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casmir_the_Furball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,852)
There are newer reviews for Copley Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,681 - 1,687 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

This hotel was clean and nice. However, we would have been much better off to just stay on the edge of Boston and ride the T for our exploring. As with many downtown hotels in major cities, the rooms were definitely small. The bed was very comfortable. The TV appeared to be a 36 or 40 inch flat screen. The bathroom was VERY small but nice. The hotel was located near good shopping and restaurants, but not much else of interest in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HavePlaneWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley_Square_Hotel, General Manager at Copley Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2009

Dear HavePlaneWillTravel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. While it may not be what we want to hear, we do appreciate you recognizing some opportunities for improvement and will take your comments constructively.

While I believe your comments regarding the intimacy of our property are fair, I am very surprised at the very low ratings for value and service. The size of our product is not something we hide as we are one of the very few hotels locally that actually posts the average square feet of our room types on our website. We believe the consumer should have a clear understanding of what they have purchased and we do believe we communicate this. Recognizing that we are priced competively with some of the other independant hotels locally, it is our belief that we add value to our guests stay that no hotel in the Copley Square area can compete with. Some of the 'value adds' that all of our guests can enjoy, all of which are complimentary-Wine Down (wine pour in our lobby every night from 5p - 6p), wi-fi throughout the hotel, coffee 24 hours, water and granola bars every morning in the lobby, water at turndown, postage on select items and faxing and photo copies for smaller 'jobs' amongst other items. Some hotels promote club floors or Executive lounges...we attempt to offer that experience to all of our guests and my most sincere apologies to you if we failed to do so. I am very anxious to hear what we could do to alter the perception that we do not offer value as I am sure if you believe that to be the case, others do to.

As for service, we do take pride in our offering but certainly understand if it was not to your liking. Again, while your comments are fair, there is no mention as to how we could improve or how we did not meet or exceed your expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to hear from you as we promote our intamacy and personalized sevrice to our advantage over the many much larger hotels in our neighborhood. You obviously did not experience this and that is a major concern for us. I would welcome your feedback on how we can improve and correct any deficiencies so others do not experience what you may have encountered.

Mr. HavePlaneWillTravel, thank you again for sharing your experience. I can be reached at john.maibach@copleysquarehotel.com and look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
John Maibach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Copley Square hotel in Boston.

We flew into Boston Logan with Aer Lingus and caught the "T" public transport train, great value, cost $2 each from airport, you need to catch the "33" bus accross the street from international arrivals at logan which takes you to "Airport" train station, no fare to be paid on the bus. When you arrive at Airport "T" station buy your ticket and catch the blue line to Government Center, the change to any green "T" to copley, catch any green line train except Lechmere and get off at copley. I would only advise travelling on the "T" with small luggage, when you arrive at copley and get up to street level you will be on Boylston St, cross the street at the traffic lights, you will see the Boston Public Library on your right, The hotel is located on the right past the library, You will see a big green highway sign for New York, if you walk along the foothpath to the right of this you will be at the hotel in a few minutes.

The Hotel has recently been modernized, the reception and staff are lovely very welcoming, we were checked in straight away and made our way to the room. The public areas are spotless clean, the elevator is old fashioned and quite small but charming.

The capret in the hallways is spotless clean and very plush my feet were sinking into it.
The room and bathroom is exactly as pictured, very modern and nice with lovely furnishing but quite small, i found the bed very hard to sleep in and woke up each morning feeling tired after 2 restless nights sleep. Blackout curtins in the room were fantastic!

A nice touch was the housekeeping staff came around each evening between 8-9 pm with 2 mini bottled water and a programme of events in boston and the weather forcast, if you have the do not disturb sign on your door you wont receive either!

The location of the hotel is excellent for exploring boston, the "T" is a great way to get around if you dont like walking, but honestly its nicer to walk everywhere. Boston Common is lovely for a picnic and to sit and watch to world go by, dont forget to take a ride on the swan boats $2.75 for adults and less than $2.00 for kids. Once you walk through boston common there is great shopping at Downtown crossing, or you can follow the freedom trail, a walking tour of historical boston, Fenieul Hall is also great for shopping and eating out and just past that by 2 mins walk or "t" stop aquarium is Long Wharf, right on the water, you will have wonderful views of boston harbour and oppurtunities to have a picnic or lunch right on the water, if you have been to Sydney Australia, this area reminds me of the Rocks area in Sydney Harbour.

Boat trips leave from here for harbour tours and the "T" ferry leaves for many destinations in boston harbour see the mbta website for a map.

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a great location, its very near the prudential center which has 100's of shops and a food court if you have fussy eaters, with a paradise cafe, panda express and approx 10 other counters, Also a legal seafoods and a cheesecake factory.

For those of you who like to stock on bottled water, fruit, snacks etc, there is a shaws supermarket less than 2 blocks from the hotel, when you exit the hotel go right and walk in the direction of the Boston Duck tour stop and the prudential Center, Shaws is on the right, Its open 24 hours, and has a dunkin donuts inside for those of you when want your coffee and tosted bagel fix.

Have a great trip, Boston is a lovely city!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel has been refurbished recently. And they have done a great job. We really liked the look and feel of our room, although it was a bit tiny. Staff was very friendly. Only downside was that breakfast was not included in our package.
I think this is the only trendy hotel in Boston with rooms that are not too expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel over the fouth of July weekend and I had an incredible time. The staff is absolutely wonderful, outgoing and proactive. Every experience was great, from the greeting at check in by the general manager to the quality of the room service, restaurant and lounge. The rooms were beautifully appointed and provided a relaxing and enjoyable environment for the holiday weekend.

I truly wonderful hotel and I cannot wait to return to visit Boston again and stay here. The hotel in located in the heart of the city and we were able to walk everywhere. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed this hotel. I recommend this property to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelTravelerfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We enjoyed it greatly, it is not a cookie cutter hotel, While the rooms are small --- the helpful & friendy staff make it one of the most pleasant hotels we ever staye in Boston!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMorrisCentralMA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We also scored one of the birthday special rooms and stayed for two nights at $18 a night in a queen boutique room. Our room was pretty small but nice - now the bathroom was kind of ridiculously small and you couldn't quite close the door behind you unless you pressed yourself up against the toilet and then attempted to close it. We also requested a mini-fridge in our room but we never got it. The gym was good for a hotel gym with free weights and machines and even a ball! This is also a good location to stay at if you are a runner - you can easily run over to the esplanade and run along the river. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

Wine hour from 5-6 PM was a winner for me - the wine servers were very nice and told us about the wine which changes from night to night. We tried to check out the bar - minibar downstairs next to the hotel but it was super crowded and there was a strange leaky light fixture and so we just left right away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biograd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $178 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing