We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, but very tired and tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2014

You can't beat the location--it's 5 star. Right near Prudential Mall, Newbury Street, Beacon Street, Bay Bay station...so much going on, so easy to get around. Room was so small that I just had space to get around the bed. Putting it another way, when I had a moment of healthy ambition, and wanted to do some pushups, forget about it...no room for that! The door to the bathroom was off its hinges, the tv didn't work for 3 nights of my visit, the elevator is a looooong wait, the car parking is a valet service that seems to never be there and take a 1/2 hour to get your car at $42/night--ridiculous. The front desk staff are extraordinarily nice. But, for $450/night after a big sale discount (down from over $700), this place is not a good value.

Room Tip: Perhaps don't settle for the first one you get...keep looking until satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrFordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great, convenient location
Close to restaurants
Cool vibe
Rooms are small
Shower head is odd and lacks force
Gym is bad, really bad
No wired internet, only low signal WiFi
Need a cab? Cross over to the Westin


Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Copley Square Hotel is in an awesome location. The proximity to both the Orange and Green T lines make this the best choice in getting around Boston. So many shops and dining options nearby make it convenient as well. Our stay was for four nights. The first night our room was located above the bar and dance club. After requesting a switch due to the noise, the staff moved our items to the new room and had provided a comparable room while we were out being tourists! The rooms are smaller than most other hotels but they have everything you need. The beds are comfortable and bedding and pillows were perfect. We ordered room service and it was timely and hot. We tried light appetizers from the hotel bar one night as our dinner and the food was delicious. The front desk staff are incredibly helpful and greeted us each time we were in the lobby. Evening turn down service is a nice touch as well. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again next time I am in Boston!

Room Tip: Second floor above the bar can be loud on weekends. Sixth floor was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacySun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The location is convenient; however, their showers are terrible. The water pressure was so strong that it was painful and unusable. When I told reception at check out they were not willing to listen to the issue and said that the water pressure was great in their showers. I like strong water pressure, but this was ridiculous and their handling of the issue didn't help either. There was also a scratching noise coming from the vent in my bathroom all night, so they seem to have a bird or rodent problem as well. I will stay somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Copley. I booked my reservation with airline but when I arrived at the hotel they did not have my reservation. However, after a few minutes the mgr,Kevin, upgraded my room. Excellent customer service!

Pros-extremely friendly staff. The absolute friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Wine tasting, hot choc, tea daily in lobby. Modern and beautiful decor. Perfect location to everything. Grocery directly beside hotel. Twice daily maid service.

Con-our room needed dusting but nothing major. The bed skirt had a few stains. The food I ordered from the restaurant, Minibar, was great quality but a bit cold.

Overall, this is the best value in Copley! I will definitely return. I love the staff!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Bennett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great location. Check in was smooth and easy and I was given the corner King room once the hotel staff realized I had two ladies in my room and we would need more space getting dressed for a night out. I booked my room via hotel tonight and stayed for one night. The price was good for hotel tonight, but was almost double booking directly with the hotel. Not sure if I would've loved it as much for that price. The bed was so comfortable. My ipod deck didn't work and they came and replaced it immediately. My friend had a bit of a different experience where the valet almost had her car towed, but other than that the hotel experience and wine hour, was great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kashay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed her for our 1st night away since having kids, which was in March 2011...so 3 years later! The staff was amazing and made our stay so warm and welcoming. They even had a complimentary wine tasting in the afternoon, which was a fun bonus. We really enjoyed this hotel, so centrally located, walking distance to all the great restaurants and shops. We can't wait to go about again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,425 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $138 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing