We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moscow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the location - near the train station as we planned to go to New York next by train. So the location turned out superb. Everything you need is near - shops, restaurants, mall, grocery store. We really liked dinning out in the neighborhood of Newbury Street or running in the Public Garden via Commonwealth Avenue.
The rooms are small, we had a tiny one with a small bathroom. But it was okay for sleep. It was especially good when we arrived from California early in the morning and got our room right away! The hotel offers free coffee in the lobby in the morning and they have wine tasting hour everyday. Nice tradition! Also they give you free water bottle and a newspaper everyday. The hotel also has a bar with a separate entrance and this place is popular in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happiest_girl_carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    555
    152
    42
    23
See reviews for
307
650
138
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is in the shopping district (Prudential Center) near Copley Square and the Public Library. We were a bit disappointed in the rooms (very small not a lot of room to navigate). The decor is dark and not a lot of lighting. Beds could be more comfortable. The staff, while pleasant, was not well trained. We did not learn about the wine available in the lobby until we checked out and overheard another guest being told.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marienjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've stayed in the Boston area man times but this was my first stay at this hotel - It wont be the last !

It's nice not to feel like you are NOT in a big chain and even better to see service delivered by staff that really care (not just giving the false "have a nice day sir"...). This is a great place to stay for one or two nights on business or even more if you are on a shopping trip !!

My room was small and the bathroom was tiny (even compared to London hotels) but at the same time it all worked and was very comfortable - the bed was outstanding...

I used the bar in the evening which was lively without being over the top and the breakfast was excellent.

All in all a good all round stay made better by great staff - I will defo be back..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was very clean, modern and cozy with all the amenities you need plus free high speed internet. Free coffee in the lobby every morning and free wine hour everyday!!! Great location and great price!

Room Tip: Had a boutique queen room. It was not a large room but perfect for one person or a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Was booked at this hotel for a conference, and had an excellent stay. The hotel is comfortably located very close to The Prudential Center, various eateries, shopping centers, and Northeastern University. Stayed in a room with a king bed. The room was very well appointed with a very nice bathroom. The front desk was very helpful, and the checkin process was a breeze. The room, bathroom, and lobby were all very clean.

The only complaint is that when I booked a hotel shuttle to the airport, the time was messed up and no car was available for the time that I had scheduled. A minor inconvenience that was remedied by the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. One of the elevators is very old and makes quite a racket wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coryb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Got a great rate so decided to stay here for 5 nights. The room was small but comfortable. The bed was awesome. No view, but really didn't care. Ate in the restaurant and used room service, both good. Best part was location. Near lots of food places, the train station, the mall and a grocery store. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenitypug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Well located for shopping. Minute bathroom that shows the age. Helpfull staff. Expensive and not the best value for money. Good sleep quality.size of the room is reasonable. The staff at the entrance to the hotel was most helpfull. I would have liked to have been to open a window for fresh air

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franzdorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing