We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had 3 day stay at this hotel in August and it was in a great location for first time visitors to Boston Very convenient for transport and walking. Our room was at the back but it suited us as it was very quiet Loved the free coffee and wine reception in the evening Staff all friendly and helpful with free water delivery each evening. it was all the small touches that make for an extra special stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dippydaisy800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    556
    152
    42
    23
See reviews for
308
651
138
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend and loved this hotel! The character of the hotel mixed with modern upgrades and amenities were great. The staff were always eager to help with giving directions, offering ideas on places to go, and other information. The bar was great, and despite the very long line to get in, since we were guests we jumped it.
Altogether a great place to stay in the city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarhBeth9883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

i spent 4 days in this hotel - the stuff is super as well as the location, rooms and bar.
Great location, very central. Rooms are good, but the main plus points are free coffee in the morning and a civilised hour of free wine in the evening, both served in the area just away off reception

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revital E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great location, very central. Rooms are good, but the main plus points are free coffee in the morning and a civilised hour of free wine in the evening, both served in the area just away off reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
319 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I run an event here every year and LOVE the junior suites - they are spacious and have among the best views in Back Bay. If you can request a view, ask for the "13" rooms (rooms that end in 13) as they have a 180 (or even 240) degree view of the Charles River and also the harbour towards the airport. Bathrooms are lovely, the amenities fantastic and the gym is very clean and usable. You can't beat the location - every morning I'd get up and run along the Charles (just follow Dartmouth street to the bridge) and have a coffee at Starbucks on Newbury Street. My only minor complaint are: a slight moldy/mildew smell in the room. I'm thinking it's either the carpets or the HVAC system - I've noticed this every year. The other is that for some reason the elevators tend to run slow and often during busy times there is a huge line in the lobby to get up to the rooms. Other than that, I enjoy the convenience of having Turner Fisheries under the same roof and tunnel access to the Copley shops and the Prudential. Plus, you are short walking distance from Newbury Street, the South end, two major malls - one of the nicest areas of Boston and a convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for view of the Charles and the library - the corner rooms with "13" endings are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

10 mins walk from subway (backbay station), within 5-10 mins walking can reach grocery stores, bolyston st (Marshall, Nordstrom Sack, if u r after the bargain), Sak 5th Ave etc. And lots nice cafe on Newbury st such as pavement coffee.

I booked a queen size room. Nice, clean and in decent size.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, excellent, friendly staff (including house keeping, the rooms were spotless and the turn-down service was really nice). The rooms were of a comparable size to what I have experienced in NYC/ San Francisco/London and Paris - not large, but well laid out. Some are larger than others, we started in room 218, a room with 2 double beds (they seemed like true doubles to us - 2 adults and 2 teens) and it was a rectangle room with an alcove with a desk which would have held a cot. The washroom was very large with an adjustable shower head that could be hand held. We switched to room 221-right next room for the next 3 nights and it was a larger square room with a smaller washroom with a fixed shower head. The showers should be standardized - that was annoying. Each nite we received 2 bottles of water ( for 4 people?) and a newsletter on a tray. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were crisp and soft. The duvets were warm and the decor was nice. The curtains blacked out all light, and the windows did a good job of keeping street noise to a minimum. You could hear other doors closing in the hallways as you can in ever single hotel I have been in that has self closing doors. The restaurant in the hotel only serves breakfast and dinner, but we had no interest in eating there, there was so much to choose from in Boston! The parking is pricey but in line with all the other hotels. If you are not going to use your car there is less expensive parking across the street. The T - subway is around the corner as is Boylston street (Newbury is 2 blocks away) with tons of shops and restos). There is a mall next door, as well as a grocery store. There is free coffee and tea in the morning and free wine from 5-6 in the late afternoon - bonus! Some have niggled over chipped trim or scuffed paint but really you can find that in any hotel if you want to be picky, this hotel is warm, comfortable, chic, convenient, we would return!

Room Tip: There are rooms on the second floor that are over a night club that operates on weekends, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmontrealgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing