We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff was unfriendly, the cleanliness was poor, the rooms are small (when you're paying nearly $ 400 per night) but not uncomfortable. The telephone didn't work, somebody of the staff left a used glass with a fork in it. I complained but nobody cared. The breakfast (not included) is expensive. The worst of all is that they have a nightclub with live music and you can't sleep due to the high volume of music. Again, I complained but nobody care either. I called the police and they told me that they couldn't help me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had a brief visit overnight at Copley Square Hotel and it was faultless. I got an incredible deal from Hotwire which made it even nicer. The only two complaints were that the room was a little on the small side, and that the valet parking at $45 for overnight seemed excessive to someone not used to Boston parking prices.
Otherwise, the furnishings and the room ambiance was very nice, the location very central to some very nice Boston shopping and restaurants and overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check room size with the hotel before booking if possible. Some can be on the small side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel years ago and it was a terrible experience. Found it again on Hotels.com. reviews were great and so was the price. Sooooo glad we went back! Very welcoming staff.......nothing was a problem. Checked in early without some of the other hotels attitudes..."check in is at 3 pm!" Forgot toothbrushes...not a problem...complimentary replacement, Wine reception from 5-6....made us feel like "guests" at this hotel and not "paying customers" . Room and bathroom very small but spic and span clean and bed was soooooooooo comfortable. Only complaint was the restaurant .....only customers there....took over 30" for a burger and a salad...spinach was not real fresh...burger ended up being ok but long wait for fair to poor food. Would go back but not eat there!

Room Tip: On the third floor...was very quiet!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank sterryteve79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Copley Square Hotel was very nice. It was very clean and the people at the hotel were very accommodating. I read reviews about this hotel and was worried about being to close to the hotel night club, so i left nothing to chance by asking for a room no where near it. The hotel was close to the main street of boyleston and a very short walk from Fenway. All in all it was a great stay. A little tip for future stayers...shop around for a parking lot with a better rate. The hotel offers valet for $43 every 24 Hours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have no complaint about the accommodations. The room, though very small, was comfortable and well appointed, and the staff was generally helpful and friendly.

The 'business center' amounts to two Apple Computers and a printer directly inside the Xhale restaurant. There's absolutely no privacy when using it. Worse, the computers are on continuously, with no log-in and log-out. When I closed the browser for a minute, re-opened it, and went to Gmail, my Inbox popped up without my entering username and password! A record of previous users downloads popped up when I downloaded a document. In other words, there is not only no privacy, there's no security!

I made sure to clear the browser's history before I closed it again. You would be well advised to do likewise, if the hotel hasn't fixed this problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first of my 5 night stay was in a room with a bathroom so small that my knees pressed against the opposite wall when 'ahem' sitting. And I'm average height! That being said, upon request I was moved to a much roomier room for the rest of my stay (the hotel was fully booked the first night so that remained a little cramped) My other small issue was with the lobby restaurant. Great burgers, but mediocre breakfasts....and I like a good breakfast when I'm travelling. Bland hollandaise, crappy bacon, boring fruit, uninspiring breads. Given that Boston has some great food options, I would recommend breakfast elsewhere unless you're just a coffee and cereal person.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in '04 are bigger: 204, 304 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveruniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this hotel is perfect in term of location.
I would stay here next time if I visit Boston again.
Hotel staff are friendly and very informational.
very close to T station. next door for Boston Duck Tour starting point

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyoungjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,453 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 86 in Boston
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#37 of 86 in Boston
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $128 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing