We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff were fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greene, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel staff were fabulous!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel years ago and it was a terrible experience. Found it again on Hotels.com. reviews were great and so was the price. Sooooo glad we went back! Very welcoming staff.......nothing was a problem. Checked in early without some of the other hotels attitudes..."check in is at 3 pm!" Forgot toothbrushes...not a problem...complimentary replacement, Wine reception from 5-6....made us feel like "guests" at this hotel and not "paying customers" . Room and bathroom very small but spic and span clean and bed was soooooooooo comfortable. Only complaint was the restaurant .....only customers there....took over 30" for a burger and a salad...spinach was not real fresh...burger ended up being ok but long wait for fair to poor food. Would go back but not eat there!

Room Tip: On the third floor...was very quiet!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sterryteve79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    560
    155
    42
    25
See reviews for
312
659
139
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
long island, Ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Copley Square Hotel was very nice. It was very clean and the people at the hotel were very accommodating. I read reviews about this hotel and was worried about being to close to the hotel night club, so i left nothing to chance by asking for a room no where near it. The hotel was close to the main street of boyleston and a very short walk from Fenway. All in all it was a great stay. A little tip for future stayers...shop around for a parking lot with a better rate. The hotel offers valet for $43 every 24 Hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have no complaint about the accommodations. The room, though very small, was comfortable and well appointed, and the staff was generally helpful and friendly.

The 'business center' amounts to two Apple Computers and a printer directly inside the Xhale restaurant. There's absolutely no privacy when using it. Worse, the computers are on continuously, with no log-in and log-out. When I closed the browser for a minute, re-opened it, and went to Gmail, my Inbox popped up without my entering username and password! A record of previous users downloads popped up when I downloaded a document. In other words, there is not only no privacy, there's no security!

I made sure to clear the browser's history before I closed it again. You would be well advised to do likewise, if the hotel hasn't fixed this problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first of my 5 night stay was in a room with a bathroom so small that my knees pressed against the opposite wall when 'ahem' sitting. And I'm average height! That being said, upon request I was moved to a much roomier room for the rest of my stay (the hotel was fully booked the first night so that remained a little cramped) My other small issue was with the lobby restaurant. Great burgers, but mediocre breakfasts....and I like a good breakfast when I'm travelling. Bland hollandaise, crappy bacon, boring fruit, uninspiring breads. Given that Boston has some great food options, I would recommend breakfast elsewhere unless you're just a coffee and cereal person.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in '04 are bigger: 204, 304 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveruniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this hotel is perfect in term of location.
I would stay here next time if I visit Boston again.
Hotel staff are friendly and very informational.
very close to T station. next door for Boston Duck Tour starting point

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyoungjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Newly renovated "boutique hotel"' great location, nice rooms, evening wine reception, free wifi, very friendly and helpful receptionist. Easy to get around Boston by foot or train, parking for a car is very expensive

Room Tip: No pool or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 411Slacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Copley Square Hotel, using Priceline. For a smaller, boutique-y hotel, it was perfectly fine. The staff downstairs were very helpful and courteous. No complaints about the room - we had a king. I asked in advance if they could remove down bedding, and they did an ace job of it. That's very important to me.

One thing on the downside, but not their fault I assume. We did pop into the "mini-bar" in the building, thinking it was would be nice to have a drink in the hotel before turning in. However, its not your basic hotel bar - its a trendy spot, and oddly enough, when we sat at the bar, I guess we weren't trendy enough and were actually ignored! So we went around the corner to Shaw's and bought a bottle of wine!

PS - there is a club nearby that you could hear the music in the lobby, but the sound did not travel up to the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing