We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel with Character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked this hotel on line, never quite know what you're getting but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean and well pointed, the rooms very comfortable bathrooms clean with everything necessary. The rooms were always made up beatifully and in the evening the lights were put on low and the radio on low to make it welcoming.
The location was perfect, walked the Freedom Trail, had lunch in the beautiful park. Close to very good restaurants.
The staff exceptionally helpful with information on sightseeing, reservations for trips and/or dining arranging taxis etc.
The hotel also has an adjoinng bar very popular with guests and professionals from neighbouring businesses which is fun. hey also had "wine down" which is complimentary wine for guests and friends from 5pm - 6pm, nice touch after a day of sightseeing.
Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Plenty to love about this hotel. It's a boutique makeover of an historic property, but they have fun things like a booklet of short essays by a local disadvantaged youth writing program. What a nice touch! The stories were fun to read, and it was good to know the hotel is supporting local efforts.

I have to admit I am biased about my feelings towards the rooms because I got upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. That being said, I have to agree with other reviewers that the bathrooms are incredibly small. I would have traded much of my bedroom square footage for a little bit more bath-room.

Good food too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pretends to be a boutique hotel, lobby looks nice, but rather fake design, rooms are quite boring decorated. Bathroom are ridiculously small, not even close to what one would expect. Outside was being renovated, but that was not mentioned when booked. The bar connected to the hotel is crowdy, but not very classy, rather tacky, staff not spectacular. All in all not ver impressive and therefore overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LVDB-0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_B955578, General Manager at Copley Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write review about Copley Square Hotel. We value our guest’s feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The Hotel was undergoing an exterior facade and window renovation last summer that was just completed in March 2013. This has created a much quieter guest room experience; however, it does not excuse us from leaving out these details when you made your reservation. Please accept my sincere apologies.

Our goal is to create individual memorable experiences for all of our guests and I am sorry that the memory created was not a positive one. If there is any additional feedback that would make your future visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to reach out to me or any member of the Copley Square Hotel family.

Again, thank you for your business and constructive feedback. We hope that you will reconsider joining us on your next trip to Boston.

Best Regards,

John Burnham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked this,hotel through Priceline- under $130'per room. When we got to the hotel they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom king suite. It was 2 adults and 2 15 year old girls. The room were beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom was small but perfectly fine. We had breakfast downstairs and the food was outstanding!! The service was impeccable. People went out of their way to get us cabs, retrieve things from our car, and help us navigate the city. Just amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horlernm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel has a great mix of modern amenities and historic charm, classy and homey at the sametime. The staff is very attentive and knowledgeable about the area. The location is great for walking arround Boston or close to transit and tour company stops. This is a great hotel to experience the "Old & New" that is so special about Boston. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent some nights here during the Marathon race. The location is optimal in normal cirsumstances. Short distances everywhere. Allthough the fatal action dring the race this year, and the evacuation of the hotel, we were taken good care. The rooms are big enough and the personel service minded.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Boston is one of my favorite cities; it's an easy place to fall in love with. This hotel is a great mix of the rich culture and history of the city with all its modernity and amenities. It's beautiful, comfortable and has all the benefits of a Marriott chain. It's located in such a great part of the city; a mall is connected to the hotel and lots of restaurants and sites within walking distance. It's expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The skyline is impressive at any time of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aschreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,387 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,341 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $153 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing