We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copley Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good value and good service!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Arrived the morning after the marathon bombings, while the hotel was at the limit of the cordoned off area. Despite heighten security (military police and US marines at the door, and armored vehicles parked all around the building), the hotel staff made us feel like "business as usual" and open the bar the day after the bombings. The concierge and security staff had to search all bags due to recent events and were always apologetic for doing so.

Upon departure, while the street was still closed to traffic in front of hotel, the bell boy took our luggage and carried it to the Marriott across the street to speed up the process of getting a cab to make sure we don't miss our flight. Above and beyond service!

Didn't have time to use the gym but look great and modern.

There is a large 24/7 grocery store across the street for all your needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    594
    161
    45
    25
See reviews for
340
693
147
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We made a last minute decision to travel to Boston (could not pass up great seats to Boston Red Sox). I tried finding a hotel but quickly realized this was Boston Marathon Weekend. The hotel rates in town were outrageous. I took a gamble and tried Priceline for a 4 star hotel. We were traveling as a family of four so I knew this would be risky since they don't guarantee doubles. I wasn't even sure if there was a double room to be found in town. So I bid and bid and was given the Copley Square Hotel for a fair price for the weekend (note: fair not cheap). All the way to Boston, I'm nervous there will not be a room for us. We arrive and sure enough, no double rooms. Now, the wonderful man at Reservations offers us a King room with sofabed for $50 extra. Great, we'll take it. But wait, the woman at Reservations whispers something to ours and now we are back to a regular King room. I think she just promised the same room to her customers. Maybe they paid more - who knows? He then says he'll send up a rollaway (that's one rollaway and one bed for four people). Ok given the weekend, that is fine with us - I planned ahead and had a sleeping bag in the car just to be safe. We head up to our room on the 7th floor, corner room and were very pleasantly surprised. It was tastefully decorated, nice size bathroom and a super comfy bed. So back to our sleeping arrangements, I guess we were expected to sleep three in a bed and one on the rollaway. I know for some that would be a great inconvenience. For us it was fine, we came prepared and my kids were fine with it. Although the rollaway was in rough shape and the loveseat is only good for smaller kids.
Back to review, this hotel was a joy after doing way too many kid-friendly Suite type hotels. I love these old boutique hotels and this one was absolutely lovely with all the wood finishes, artwork and wonderful decor. We used the workout room, small but fine for us. The greatest advantage to this hotel was the convenience to everything. Quick walk to the "T" and you are off to Quincy Market, North End or Fenway in a few stops. There is shopping galore across the street and many fine restaurants. There is a Supermarket next door (came in handy). The Finish Line for the Boston Marathon was literally out the front door. This made for a fun and interesting weekend. The Boston Public Library is very close by. The Hotel offers turndown service. Our bathroom was a little warmer than the rest of the room but no problem. You have to expect such things at older hotels. Yes we heard doors close just like any other hotel but for the most part we had a very quiet room. Our room was not small at all. There was a bench, loveseat, desk, large TV and plenty of closet space. We had more than enough space for four people and that one rollaway. This Hotel does not have a pool. But then again who has time with so much to do in Boston? Maybe that was also the reason why we did not see any other kids. My kids didn't even miss it, they enjoyed the hotel. Wish we could have tried the bar downstairs for cocktails, looked fun. We enjoyed our two nights at the Copley Square Hotel and would like to return. The outside of the building is beautiful - old Boston at it's best.

Room Tip: Higher, corner King room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

O.K so it was St Patricks Day and my husband did book the room with our airfare through US Airways, but still, the room was smaller than a college dorm single and the bed was...wait for it....a full. Not a queen, a full for 2 adults. It was one of the most unhappy hotel experiences I have ever had. We did ask for a different room and they said the hotel was completely booked, but really what hotel would want a guest to have that as their first experience, we will never go back when there are so many other wonderful hotels to choose from in Boston.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daretodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Boston and the Copley Square hotel! As usual, here are my pros and cons and I'm happy to say the pros outweigh the cons.

Pros:
(1) Staff were friendly and helpful
(2) Supermarket is across the street along the Prudential Center Mall
(3) Great spot for restaurants and food trucks.
(4) If you are interested in the Duck tours they are located across the street
(5) Hotel is cozy with refreshment stations throughout the day - from hot chocolate to the complimentary wine tastings
(6) Rooms are cozy and clean. The coziness of the rooms may actually be a con for some people as they are small
(7) Central location to most places

Cons
(1) The rooms and bathrooms are compact
(2) Book early if you need a room with two beds at a good rate. This applies to most of the hotels we were checking
(3) Sometimes the heater was quite noisy

Overall the stay was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet floor as the lower floors might be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller-Bajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We entered the room and the bellhop behind us said: "and let me show you your closet" - we thought he was jokingly referring to the room! It was so small that the little safe under the TV could only be opened if you pushed on the mattress to make room. With that being said, the room was clean and the hotel is well located. The beds were good quality but they were not double beds as advertised on the reservation service we used, but smaller (full?). We have enjoyed rooms with two double beds when traveling with our kids, but my wife and I were a little crowded sharing the bed here. There was no in-room coffee maker, but they did provide coffee in the lobby and there was a wine reception each evening (for only one hour, though). The hotel is well located if you need to be in this part of the city. Shopping, including groceries, is nearby. Some decent restaurants are nearby. Service was good, although when the water main broke down the street we were out of water for about 6-7 hours. The staff had no idea how long it might take to have water again - they could have made an effort to find a supply of water for flushing toilets, etc. We felt for a few hours like we were on a Carnival Cruise! But that was not their fault, and we would consider returning to this hotel again if we were not traveling with kids and could just get a King bed..

Room Tip: Just be aware that they do not have rooms with two double beds - they are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of the oldest hotels in Boston, dating back to the 1890's. It has been tastefully modernized and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was smallish but well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The location is very good, about a block from the Prudential Center and a block to Copley Square, with T stops a few blocks away. Several issues detracted from the overall experience: First, the shower head sent out about 20 high-pressure jets, concentrated in a small area, which was almost painful to be under. There was no way to modify the flow. Second, the room was too warm at night for us, even though the outside temperature was around 30F. Dialing the thermostat down to 66 did nothing. The only way to cool off was to open the window, which made it too cold. The culprit seemed to be a hotel-wide circulation system that sent warm air from the hallways into the room and out the bathroom vent.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before checking in to make sure it's not too small for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been staying intermittently at the Copley Square Hotel since the early 80's. She is aging well.

First the location cannot be beat. It is literally steps from the Prudential Mall and Newberry St if shopping is your thing. A block from the T. Surrounded by both fancy and value restaurants. Withing walking distance of the theater district. Close to the Mass Turnpike (although a bit tricky to navigate).

I am not sure when the old girl got a face lift but it worked. The lobby is intimate but does what a lobby needs to do. The halls and rooms are smartly furnished. Who knew that you could read "The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere" from the wallpaper while sitting on the toilet and not be offended esthetically? And they offer decent complimentary wine from 5-6 pm many evenings. I did not try the restaurant.

Our room (queen bed) was on the top floor and small but very workable. (I remember when I stayed up there as a poor student with a cell-like room and the toilet down the hall.) Now the bathrooms are large, nice and en suite. The view out the window was of other walls but the smart window dressings hid the fact well.

But the best was that we got the room during a very busy weekend at a very good price through HotWire. (Back Bay, boutique hotel,4 stars) When we checked in they offered a room with a king for $10 more. We might have taken it if we had planned on being in the room more.

Staff was always professional and pleasant.

I will DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Square Hotel

Property: Copley Square Hotel
Address: 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#38 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#41 Family Hotel in Boston
#42 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copley Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming travelers since 1891, Copley Square Hotel is an iconic boutique hotel with a blend of historic charm and contemporary urban luxury. Nestled in Boston's historic Back Bay, our downtown Boston hotel offers an individualized, intuitive experience. Elegantly designed rooms boast the comforts of home with the indulgence of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Copley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copley Square
Copley Square Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing