We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston Marriott Wharf - place to stay for business and families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Boston Marriott Wharf - place to stay for business and families”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

In June, we rented two rooms at the Boston Marriott Wharf hotel for a trip that included my 2 adult sisters, 2 teens, and my senior aged dad. This hotel is in a perfect location and the service was awesome. Since I am a member of the Marriott Rewards program, we had access to the concierge floor which provided complimentary breakfast, late afternoon and late evening snacks. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the views were incredible. The hotel is right by the Aquarium, boat tour docks, QUincy Market, Fenuiel Hall, and a short walk to Little Italy. There is also a subway station right outside the hotel which also made travel in the city easy. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcalianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    720
    217
    87
    40
See reviews for
702
576
49
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

It was late at night , I was a woman traveling alone . My reservation at another hotel was mysteriously given away . Upon arriving at the hotel I was greeted graciously and every attempt to make me feel comfortable and safe was made. Even though I had no reservation they took me in . It was first trip as a solo traveler ,but I knew because of past wonderful stays at other Marriotts ;I would be fine. My stay was beyond belief and now all the other hotels I stay at will have to measure up to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostonbound2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Using Marriott points, I had a hard time deciding whether to stay at the Marriott Copley, Tremont or the Long-Wharf. We chose the Long Wharf property and was soooo pleased we did! We had a beautiful room with two double beds & granite bathroom, and a view of the city on the seventh floor. The tram is the easiest and least expensive way to see Boston ($15 for the week!), AND it is located directly out of the door of the hotel. If you have status at the Marriott, you will love the Concierge Lounge which overlooks the harbor on the 7th floor. Delicious breakfast & happy hour horderves. I highly recommend doing the Freedom Trail "Run" (freedomtrailrun.com), that was the highlight of our trip! After the running tour, you take a ferry back which lets off directly at the hotel harbor! I also suggest dining in the Italian District – there so many fabulous restaurants to choose from. My favorite place was Nico’s, small & elegant, and fun! Taxi to Italian District is $6. You can print your boarding passes right in the lobby for your return trip home. Highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again next time in Boston!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destinhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
443 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Must admit that I selected this hotel by default. Had no idea just how convenient and spectacular this hotel is. Friendly service, very clean, quiet rooms and terrific location. Steps from the north end, T station right out the door, major water events within a 9 iron and awesome views, this is a magnificent hotel for visitng Boston. We were with our grandson and everything was perfection. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We went to Boston to tour the city and stayed here. Overall, this is a nice hotel with a great location. Very close to Quincy Market, NE Aquarium, the waterfront and the Italian section of Boston. Rooms were clean and the pool and gym are excellent. Only complaints are relatively minor...we expect that for the price you would get queen beds instead of twins. Also, service by the bartenders in the restaurant and one of the bellhops did not meet my expectations for a hotel of this calibre. Otherwise, would definitely stay there again due to location and cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylamon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

stayed recently at the Boston Marriott Long Wharf with my teenage children and husband. Loved the location, you can not beat it. Right out of your doorsteps was the harbor for boat rides, whale watching boat rides, ferry to Providence RI. Also right there is the Aquarium. Literally across the street is Quincy market, which we had a couple of dinners there and lunch in the very large food court with all kinds of fun foods!..

The Rooms in the hotel were clean and comfortable. My only problem is I felt that the entranceway and lobby in the hotel was not clean. The windows( and there are many) always had many fingerprints all over and was never cleaned. The lobby also seemed in need of a refurbishment. This would not happen in a more expensive hotel. Not that this hotel is cheap but you are paying for the location. Location, Location, Location!!! We would go back to this hotel because of the fabulous location. Great for younger or older kids! My children were 16 and 17 and they loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over the Globe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We walked all over Boston with four teenagers on a family vacation and the Boston Marriott Long Wharf was a great location as our home base. But the rooms were smallish/dark and EXPENSIVE. We had two rooms (interconnecting doors) and frankly you can't call those "double" beds fit for two people. Room service was very efficient and delivered an extra roll away bed that we tried to squeeze into one room, but at that point there was no floor space to walk! Internet connection was ok but we had to pay, which given the cost of the room seemed a bit much. Lots of families so plenty of kid-noise in the hallways and early bird diners. The rooms felt even smaller thanks to the half-moon windows which kept out the light and partially obscured the great view of the harbor. We opted for the Marriott special rate that included breakfast and found the breakfast buffet to be good value for money with teenagers, The restaurant service was slow (understaffed and a bit stressed) but the food was filling. The hotel gets a steady stream of visitors and is clean enough, but for the price of a room - could have been cleaner. The concierge at the hotel was super helpful with all our questions and helped us make good use of our short time in Boston. The front desk was very efficient, if a bit brisk in their manner (they clearly are accustomed to processing large volumes/bus loads of guests). There was a small hitch in our bill and they corrected it quickly and with an apology. The doormen were very good with advice about airport transfers, but a bit aggressive in grabbing our luggage before we were ready to move and would not let us handle our own bags....trolling for tips. Our teens loved the pool/spa/workout room on their down time, but the bathrooms were so small that it was hard to find space for all the towels and wet swimsuits (a common challenge if traveling with four teenagers but probably not a big deal for most visitors). The teens also liked the Starbucks downstairs and used it as a meeting place. The adults found it a bit dirty and depressing albeit very convenient. But the Marriott Long Wharf location was perfect. We took the trolley tour that departs just out front. We walked ALL OVER the waterfront and into the market area. We wandered up to the Italian quarter and hung out watching the street performers. We WALKED to both Cirque du Soleil and the Blue Man Group shows. We met friends and had no problem connecting whether by subway or car thanks to the central location. Bottom line: for a 4 day "visit Boston" holiday we loved the location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#52 of 83 in Boston
1,443 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing