We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay-Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Stayed one night-accomodations on the concierge floor....quiet room at the end of a long hallway...snacks, desserts and drinks aplenty on this floor-the concierge room overlooked Boston Harbor and was a beautiful view....rooms were nice-carpet could use a cleaning and the bathroom did not have a separate mirror/make up area-all in one so that made things a little tight for 4 people. Hotel had a very nice fitness center, Starbucks and restaurant/bar-7 floors in all. The location couldnt be better-right next to the Aquarium and within quick walking distance to the North End, Phanuiel Hall and the financial district. We ate breakfast at the hotel-they only serve a breakfast buffet for close to $20 per person-food was ok-omelette station available as well as a varied selection of buffet items...enjoyed our stay and would stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2sitec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,967 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2009

Decent amenities, but not a warm or romantic place two weeks before before Christmas. Lack of holiday decor, lack of ambiance - and a cold draft everywhere in the hotel, from the 3rd-floor guest room to the bar to the only restaurant.

According to the desk clerk, the hotel was less than a third full for the weekend, and yet there were no water view rooms available without paying a significant "upgrade" fee.

The staff was as helpful as one would expect from a decent hotel, but did not in any way go out of their way to be helpful. No concierge on duty - again, this was two weekends before Christmas. No recommendations for shopping, restaurants, a night on the town, etc.

The value would have been very similar at the Courtyard, for much less money spent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayStateBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

My wife and I were just in Boston for one night only and chose to stay at the Marriott Long Wharf. I had stayed there as a kid over 20 years ago and had fond memories. The hotel is looking a little tired and the architecture inside and out looks dated, but it is clean, priced well and perfectly located for our needs. Oddly enough, this hotel must be one of the few hotels in the world that is directly on the water but has no water views from the rooms... STUPID! Valet parking was $44 for the night which seems like a rip off even to a New Yorker. You can find cheaper parking nearby but not much cheaper. The staff was super friendly and professional, constantly hugging and welcoming back regular guests by name. I am sure you could find quieter hotels as well as this is cheaper, close to TD Garden and appeared to be having some kind of young person function like maybe a gymnastics event or something as there were many young high school or college aged women arounds. Within steps of the hotel are many entertainment options from my favorite, the Boston Aquarium to the duck boats, Quincy Market, TD Banknorth Garden and within a short cab ride of Beacon Hill, Newbury Street, the Boston Common and the museums. Boston is a relatively compact city that is fairly easy to get around. Cabs are harder to find than in my hometown of NYC so I recommend standing in front of a hotel to get one. The room we were in, room 662, was a corner room, fairly quiet and had an angled view of just a touch of the harbor. The layout is strange and the double doors on the bathroom awkward for privacy, but overall clean and comfortable. The bathroom was more than acceptable and the bed quite comfortable. The flat, wall mounted TV was of good quality. There was a nice iPod doc and the bedside lamps were even kind of nice with the option to dime them. We opted for the breakfast deal, included in the price of the room, and it was worth the money. Waffle and omlet bar, fresh fruit and juices, cereals and muffins, bacon and sausage, coffee and tea, etc. The restaurant itself looked recently renovated and was actually nicely decorated with a tasteful nautical theme. If money is not tight, you have many better, pricier hotels to choose from. If value is important, the Marriott Long Wharf is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklynmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott Long Wharf for four nights because my husband had business in Boston. Although his convention was at the Westin, we wanted something close to the waterfront and the markets. While the hotel location is fabulous, the hotel itself is a bit "tired" looking and is in desperate need of updating. The carpets, the painting, the decorations, all look like they've been around for awhile and the hotel would dramatically improve with a more contemporary style. As it is now, I would opt for a hotel with more style.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZRHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Our family of four stayed at the Marriott Long Warf over a long weekend. The location is fantastic, especially since this was our first time in the city. So much within walking distance and the T right outside the front door. Our room was clean and comfortable. Housekeeping did a nice job cleaning the room everyday. There is an electric “cooler” in the room. I didn’t think it was working because I thought it was a fridge. When I called the front desk they said it was a cooler and would only keep things cool, not chill things down. But, if I wanted a fridge they would provide one free of charge. Sure enough it was set-up and running when we got back from sightseeing. It was also very quiet in the room, couldn't hear the neighbors at all.

The view from the pool is really magnificent- panoramic view of the harbor. You can watch the sailboats and sightseeing boats go by- they dock right outside. Friday and Saturday the farmers market is right across the street – great fun and really nice produce. For breakfast everyday we ate fruit from the farmers market and pastry from the north end bakeries (a 5 minute walk) stored neatly in our fridge.

The Hotel staff was especially accommodating with any requests.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This hotel was spectacular! We live outside of NYC and drove here on a Friday night...we expected traffic and a difficult time getting to the hotel---we were surprised how easy we got into Boston, however I digress. We arrived around 7:45 Friday night and were instantly approached by the valet (we expected there to be a bit of a back up or line..). The valet took the car (44$ a night for parking, a bit steep, but not surprising since you are in the middle of the city). Check in was a breeze, complemented by the free cookies. Our room overlooked Christopher Columbus room and was very nice, the flat screen TV and coffee/tea maker are wonderful to have in the room. The hotel is steps away from Quincy Market, the North End etc. We walked to Quincy Market for a quick bite and wandered a small bit in the area. We were VERY happy with the location of the hotel. Saturday morning we walked the Freedom Trail and explored the city. I cannot stress the WONDERFUL location of this hotel. Our stay was wonderful.....we are planning on going back in the near future!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teachertraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stay at the Long Wharf Marriott every year on our passage to Maine to visit with family. We have two young ones under 5, so leisure travel is not typically taken "so leisurely". However, with the aid of the exceptionally helpful staff at the Long Wharf Marriott our stays are always successful and pleasant memories.

Last year we were due to fly out during the largest storm of the year. I phoned ahead and asked the desk clerk if we could check into our room early. She understood that we had little ones with us and might need some extra help. After a short hold, she promised an upgraded room with early check-in approx. 6 hours before normal check-in time. Upon arrival our car was quickly ushered into covered parking and our little one's noses never had to touch the blizzard's frozen bite. Our 5th level room had a fantastic view of the harbor & some city life overlooking a small park - which beautifully lights up at night giving off a mixture of blue saphire color.

The location is perfect for runs to the nearby famous Quincy Market for any type of food (a range which spans the globe) - our favorite is the Sri-Lankan. We made the most of our time by visiting the Boston Aquarium which is also just next door.

Our experience with our last visit was exceptional, our experiences in the past 3 years of visiting are no less fantastic. We plan to continue our stays with each year, and hope you and yours experience the same greatness we have..

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeafriendlyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 85 in Boston
1,765 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 85 in Boston
1,987 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $201 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston, Massachusetts. Our beautiful Boston hotel features 400 rooms, 11 suites and a concierge lounge with harbor views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing