We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
318
Reviewed February 25, 2006

We just returned from a weekend at the Marriott Long Wharf and we were very pleasantly surprised. The location, of course, is wonderful (adjacent to the aquarium and within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and Faneuil Hall). What we were not expecting is that the rooms would be as nice as they were. The views of the harbor are terrific, and the rooms are quite plush - wonderful beds with fluffy duvets and down pillows, nicely appointed bathrooms (a bit small) with granite countertops, and very attentive service from the staff. Any request was dealt with immediately, and the staff was very warm and friendly while still being professional. The restaurant, Oceana, was terrific - we ate in the bar area for lighter fare but their dining room is lovely with windows overlooking the harbor. Room service arrived perfectly on time, and they weren't looking for an extra tip above the service charge (many hotels leave you wondering if you've done enough). A small complaint is that because the interior of the hotel is an atrium, noise can carry and sometimes young children playing in the lobby in the morning can disturb you. If you leave the heat/ac fan on in the room that tends to muffle any noise. One more great feature of the hotel is that there is a pay-per-movie system on the television that features first run movies that are yet to be released on DVD - I've never seen that before in any hotel. We really loved the hotel - it was a wonderful, comfy and cozy way to spend a weekend in New England!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
There are newer reviews for Boston Marriott Long Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,017 - 2,023 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2006

Within easy walking distance to great restaurants, (Legal's, Sel de la Terre) Fanueil Hall, Aquarium, and all the best Boston has to offer. Great views of waterfront from rooms and restaurant. Found rooms clean, bright, attractive and comfortable. Front desk, housekeeping and valet all were very accommodating and friendly. Great fitness center. Small indoor pool but with great view of Boston Harbor. Lobby is a bit dated and not very welcoming. Nice Starbucks cafe on 1st level. Lounge is spacious and very busy. Only major downfall is Oceania Restaurant which had very bad service and food. We were also the only ones in the huge dining room for dinner which made it a bit depressing and slow service not understandable. Too bad as it's a beautiful room with great view of Boston Harbor. Breakfast was more crowded with better food and service. Have stayed here a few times and always seems full with families and tourists which may not appeal to some business travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KurtBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2005

We were very disappointed in our two night stay at the Marriott Long Wharf. Besides the fact that the room was small (certainly for two adults and one child), both nights we had to call the front desk because of the noise in adjoining rooms which made it impossible to go to sleep. Both nights the front desk sent up security. The experience of being this aggravated on our vacation made the view from the window and the convenience of the location pale in comparison.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PageturnerInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Meriden, CT
212
Reviewed December 18, 2005

We just returned from our one night stay at the Long Wharf Marriott. After spending much time searching for the right hotel the Long Wharf was a good choice. The hotel was very nice and the location couldn't have been better. The only thing that was negative was that months in advance I had requested a high floor and got a first floor room, but other than that the hotel was great.

Stayed: December 2005
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2005

Our stay at the Long Wharf was a good one! We definitely paid a pretty penny for the room (359 a night), but the location really was ideal especially for seeing the city with kids (3.5 yrs and 6 mos). If you're staying with kids, we had a room with a king, rollaway bed and a pack n play, and we all slept well! It's do-able ;-) As for the construction on their roof, I was very nervous about noise etc, but after reading the letter to guests when we checked in, the construction hours are from 10am-6 pm, so no big deal for us early risers with kids.

PROS: great door staff, so friendly, helpful and approachable; helpful guest services book in room with info on Boston; Starbucks on site; minute walk to the aquarium and steps away from the Aquarium T stop; walking distance to the fun Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market area with lots of restaurant and shop choices; great park next to hotel with benches etc; internet access in-room if you brought your laptop, office area next to the gift shop to buy time on the internet if you didn't; empty mini-fridge for your snacks and drinks; GREAT beds and bedding!

CONS: elevator access from the rooms to the lobby level only, then you need to head to the other elevator to get down to the entrance or use the escalator (just one more thing when you're with the kids and stroller ;-)

Stayed: October 2005
11  Thank bouldermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank sigmagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lorimisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,911 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#53 of 84 in Boston
1,473 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $268 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing