We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Marriott long wharf is nice located next to Boston Harbor. A "T" station is located right next to the hotel which will take you everywhere. Faneuil Hall Market is right across the street as well a the NE aquarium. within walking distance of shopping and all the sight of Boston. We where there for Thanksgiving and the put our son's family is the adjoining room which was extremely nice of them to do. The only draw back was it seemed that they did not have enough cleaning people on for the Holiday week, our room on some days wasn't cleaned until after 3 PM.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Sorry if the housekeeping staff did not clean your room until after 3pm each day, we will be happy to make arrangements to clean your room earlier in the day next time you come! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the Marriott Long Wharf while attending various events at the TD Garden and the location was perfect. The high quality was what we have become accustomed to when staying at Marriott hotels whenever we travel. And, most importantly, from the moment we checked in, it was obvious that good, friendly service was a priority for all staff (from the parking attendant to the receptionist to the cleaning staff). Would recommend this hotel for all travel needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnutsenNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

I am very happy to see that you had an enjoyable time while staying with us. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was a good rate and near the aquarium. We had to take an early train to Boston, as we arrived at the Marriott (before checking in) the front desk person was very nice. She told us where to take our bags. We then wanted to get aquarium tickets, the concierge desk is all the way across the lobby, that does not seem very efficient. The did send us all over the lobby and never asked our name. After the aquarium we checked in a little early. The front desk lady was very nice and had no trouble finding a room that met our criteria and worked with my moms allergies. The room was large for a city room and was very nice and clean. We got a desert at waterline and Brittany the hostess was very nice and talkative. The next morning an employee told my dad that the Starbucks in the lobby is cheaper, that was very helpful. I felt like the hotel is designed like a cruise ship. It is so large! The pool is nice, at the front of the hotel looking at the harbor. But it was FREEZING! At check out Shannon was very nice and friendly and made sure we had a good stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but gets VERY expensive in the summer.

Room Tip: Floors 5 and up are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Brittany and Shannon, I will be sure to pass along your praise. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My mother and I travelled to Boston for the National Figure Skating Championships and stayed at the Marriott Long Wharf for six nights. Every staff member that we interacted with, which included the bell men, the restaurant wait staff (Mike was particularly nice), the front desk, the concierge (Julie was extremely helpful) and the housekeepers, went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay in Boston. The room, which had two queen size beds, was good sized and very comfortable.

The only thing that should be changed is the ridiculously expensive in-room wifi charge. While I was lucky that the promotional rate that I had included the wifi, the Marriott should join the ever growing trend of not charging for in room wifi or if it can't stomach no charge then make the charge reasonable as everyone knows that $14.95 per day is not what the hotel is being charged.

Other than the wifi issue, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Marriott Long Wharf and hope to return in 2016 when the World Figure Skating Championships will be held in Boston.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your great review. I will be sure to thank Mike and Julie for making a lasting impression. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the property several times but it has been many years since our last stay. We went this time with our granddaughter in order to visit the aquarium across the street, plus do a little shopping. While the weather wasn't the best it was perfect for our needs.

The thing that really stuck out on this overnight trip was the fast check in and check out. Official check in time isn't until 4, but we arrived at 1 and got in very very quickly. Our key ready at the check in desk and after giving out the credit card and proper id we were in the room. Granddaughter thought the room was great

We keep to all our plans except for setting in the North End. Just to sloppy to walk over to so we instead at across the street Legal Sea Food which was terrific.

Check out was equally as speedy as the car was there before you knew it

A good location and great service!! We'll be back.

JDP.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDP112456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding speed of service and quality of the hotel. Sounds like the weather was not great, but you made the best of it with all that our location ahs to offer. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed in Boston many times, this hotel was clean and modern. We loved the location and the staff. Everyone was very helpful and kind. Breakfast was amazing. With two young children, it can be hard to make them happy but the buffet had everything they could want. The location is wonderful. We spent the day at the aquarium and Quincy Market. I would stay here again. I have also stayed at the Boston Harbor Hotel and think for the price this is a much better option.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jrcuse1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Sounds like you and the family had a great time in Boston. I am happy that you and your children enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well as the other amenities of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We've previously stayed at the Copley Square Marriott and were delighted to find the large rooms, and how well situated this is to lots of great locations! Staff were friendly and helpful, The hotel is an easy walking distance from Fanueil Hall, next door to the Aquarium, and the TD Garden. Legal Seafoods is across the street.

We had a glorious harbour view, and my friends were equally pleased with their city view. The only problem...we were on the 3rd floor right off the atrium, overlooking it in fact. Noise carries, and Saturday and Sunday night parties prevented us from much sleep. (Things quieted down at about 2:30 am Saturday, about 1:00 am Sunday.) Staff were sympathetic but ineffective at addressing the problem, and I am not sure what they could do, they did discount the room.

I would definitely return, but only in a room that was well away from the atrium. The other two couples we were with were much further down the hall, but had no noise issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view room, away from the Atrium. Sadly, sound travels. Our third floor room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your feedback regarding the location of your room. The way our hotel is situated, all rooms (except for a select few)have a view of the harbor, glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,681 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,932 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#53 of 84 in Boston
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $213 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing