We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for a Sunday night in late December. The location was perfect as we were meeting friends for dinner in the North End. We requested a quite room and were given one at the end of the hall. It was very quiet. The room was on the small side, but very clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the blanket was very warm, so we took the comforter out of the cover used the cover as a blanket. Found the staff friendly and helpful.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
There are newer reviews for Boston Marriott Long Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

As a platinum member of Marriott we usually stay at this hotel once or twice a year for a couple of nights each time. This December trip we stayed three nights using some of our points arriving early afternoon of December 27th. Upon pulling up in our car I asked the valet if there was anyone who could help us with our bags. After waiting five minutes and getting absolutely no help whatsoever we got a slip for our car and trucked our luggage and hangered clothes into the hotel. Once up the escalator to the registration level I asked another hotel employee who was standing at the top of the escalator, "there's no one who can help us with our luggage?" He said, "there are people who can help you," but he made no effort to get us any help nor did any come our way. We registered and headed up to the room. On the first night we had some noisy neighbors who kept slamming doors and making lots of noise. We called the front desk and filed a complaint. They sent up a security guard immediately who took care of the problem in a very efficient manner. Not only that but they slipped drink coupons under our door for Starbucks the next morning and the morning after that one as well - very well handled, indeed. Visited the bar one night - very average as was room service which we had for one meal as well. Room was average. Upon leaving went out to load up the car where the valet stood watching us put our bags into the car and hang our clothes on the hooks. Never once did the valet make any motion to help us. When I didn't tip him he looked at me incredulously. Really, you didn't help us in the least bit either coming or going yet you expected me to tip you. These were the laziest and least efficient valet/bellhops that I have ever seen at a major city hotel or perhaps they're just terribly understaffed but either way it was not good!. I wouldn't stay here if it weren't for our platinum status - many, many better options available in Boston and many equally close to Quincy Market and the Aquarium.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I pick up my sister at the air port for Christmas every year. This year we decided to spend a couple of nights in Boston. I chose this hotel because the location was great and the price was pretty reasonable(although they do charge $48/day to park your car) You can take your car out as many times as you like and leave it there until 6pm the day you checkout but we decided to use the MBTA rather than deal with holiday traffic.
The hotel was beautiful and clean, the staff helpful, the beds very comfortable. The view from our room was a park where locals brought their dogs to play every morning and evening, and the waterfront. The park was beautifully lit for the holidays.
The location really can't be beat. It is a short walk to Fanueil Hall, Haymarket Square and the North End and there is a T station right out front as well as a Legal Seafood and the Boston Aquarium basically a walk across a parking lot.

Room Tip: We loved our view of the park and waterfront but other views are probably great as well!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainediner040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night 2 days after Christmas after a Bruins game. Everything about this hotel was fantastic. The rooms are small but amazingly clean and very comfortable (and quiet...slept like a baby). The pool is also on the small side, but super clean and overlooks the harbor. The staff is on the ball and genuinely friendly. I was initially disgruntled when I booked the room and discovered it was $48 extra to park our car. I didn't realize this is pretty standard practice in Boston. It was well worth the money as we were able to come in before check-in and leave the car in valet services until 6pm the next day (check out is at noon). The hotel also held our bags for the day. Granted this is not a super inexpensive hotel, but if you research a little, a family of 4 can easily stay here for under $300/night including valet parking. It's such a treat and in a great location. Aquarium is across the street, Quincy Market is .3m, and its a 10-15 min walk to the Garden. I can't wait to stay here again!!

Room Tip: Express in advance any concerns you may have. The staff will definitely try to accommodate you.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Marriott before Christmas. Many hotels do not guarantee ajoining rooms,no problem at the Marriott long wharf. We have stayed now several times around Christmas and it is a great spot to enjoy what Boston has to offer. My son lost a very nice jacket which was found by hotel staff after we left. They were very gracious to send it to us express without charge That is good service.We will return

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neuroderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Arrive by boat, if you wish, as you can take the harbor water taxi from the airport directly to the hotel. This is great fun if you go both ways as you get to see the skyline of the city, and lights if at night!!
Hotel is well appointed and is as upscale as many of the J.W. Marriott locations. Rooms are spacious, clean, modern and most importantly-quiet when it comes time for sleep. Only time they are not quiet is when rambunctious partiers are roaming the halls but that can happen anywhere.
For those who like to walk this hotel is close (relatively) to all the tourist spots and the Freedom trail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a location ideally suited to exploring Boston. Little Italy, markets, downtown, catching the T and the trolleys were very convenient. Staff was exceptional- very friendly and professional. There is a Starbucks located in hotel, along with bar and restaurant. (We rented a car for a few days, however, and the parking rate was so expensive we elected to save $10 per day by walking across the street to a cheaper garage.) Will stay again and will ask for a room with a view (ours had a nice city lights view but was blocked by a large office building.) Oh, and it was VERY quiet! Slept great!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THELUCKYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,632 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,912 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#53 of 84 in Boston
1,473 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $268 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing