We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for first time Boston trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for first time Boston trip”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location for first time to Boston. Easy walking access to Boston Harbor, Faneuil Hall, Downtown, and the North End. Right on the subway and location of multiple shuttle and harbor tours. Hotel was well kept. Rooms a little small. Staff was fantastic. Always personable and helpful. A little pricey but well worth it if easy access is important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapperdanman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    715
    217
    86
    38
See reviews for
695
570
49
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family stayed here on our New England vacation. It was our Boston hotel. From a logistical standpoint it was wonderful. You can walk across the street to Faneuil Hall and Quincy Marketplace. The city tour buses are accessible in front of the hotel and the classic boat tour of Boston Harbor is right outside the side entrance. The North End is a short walk.
The hotel itself is quite large and relatively non-descript. The rooms are adequate and clean. I thought the workout facility was the highlight of the hotel. Prices are fairly high for a hotel of this caliber but then again you are in Boston.
If this is your first trip to Boston you should at least consider this Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and surrounding location. I appreciate your feedback and happy to see you had an enjoyable visit to Boston. I hope you too will consider a return trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camiran, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very good location in north end boston, very Nice hotel, with great amenities such as very Nice pool with beautifull view, fitness center, business center. Staff very friendly, room very clean, everything was perfect. I would come back for sure

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. Not only is it the best location in Boston, I was also impressed with the customer service of this hotel. After we checked out I realized we left behind some items in our room. I called the hotel and was told that they would attempt to locate the items and get back to me on my cell. I really never expected a call back, but they did call back to say they located the missing items and they Fed Ex'd them to me free of charge. This was one of many examples of excellent customer service by the hotel staff. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERISALAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Bad
- 13 bucks for internet - why do some hotels insist on annoying customers by extorting money for internet access - a lot of people rely on internet even more than at home when they travel to organise and plan the trip. Just add the cost into the room charges and give it for free (Laptop access in the loby seemed to be free but access on android phone in the lobby - this kind of nicle and diming comes across as cheap and tight fisted.

- there was some sort of machine making a noise all night somewhere near my room - it was late when I arrived and I was just too tired to get a room change and I was only staying one night. I think it was in the hotel itself - possibly ice machine which was nearby (room 636) or air con. What ever it was, it was a pain.

- view from the room not great on higher floors because of the sloping building design - the window is recessed far back into the building - which is a shame as the view over the water could be nice.

Good
- the location and setting is fantastic - by the water, close to the centre and blue line T literally outside the door (10 mins to airport on the T)

- nice lobby areas and breakfast was not spectacular but still one of the better hotel breakfast experiences I've had.

- the usual clean, nice room - Marriott certainly know how to do reliable consistency - you know what to expect and get what you expect

Because of the good points I would love to try it another time - but the internet charges are a big turn off and I would be very careful on room selection if I did go again - the noise thing was a real problem.

Room Tip: 5th floor and below looks down into the lobby which would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmhpbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry about the noise you described on the 6th floor, I have shared this with my engineer with hopes of identifying the issue. As for internet, I am sure it is only a matter of time before all brands make it free, in the meantime we do offer complimentary internet in our lobby, restaurant and business center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

During a recent stay with family at the Marriott Boston Long Wharf - we were delighted to find that we were in the center of activity at this beautiful hotel. With the New England Aquarium right across the street this location was ideal. A short walk to Boston's North End and even shorter walk to Quincey Market/Faneuil Hall. Legal Sea Food Restaurant right across the street and the T-line stop right outside the door. The staff was very nice and accommodating we arrived early from Logan and they allowed us to check into our room upon arrival at 10:00 a.m.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank var6444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sounds like you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Glad to see we could check-in at 10am as well. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed4 nights at the Boston Long Wharf Marriott. Great location right near the aquarium and lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Clean room, friendly service and a concierge level.

Perfect hotel if you want near the water and good options for food/drinks nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#50 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing