We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful rooms, but expensive”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very convenient location to the Aquarium and iMax theater, so I paid the high price, and our large family got great adjoining rooms without having to ask! The price of staying there ended up being worth the location! Concierges were helpful getting tickets and info to attractions, and lobby has so many places to lounge while planning.

Room Tip: beautiful views available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    729
    220
    88
    40
See reviews for
712
589
50
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Classy place through and through. Great location for kids close walking distance to everything! Staff was accommodating, breakfast buffet was fresh and good. Even with three young children perfect location

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainechristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
As we say in Boston, thank you for the "Wicked Awesome" review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location is ideal for tourists, being right next to the Aquarium, trolley companies and T station. A grand lobby... very professional, friendly and helpful staff... the bed was amazingly comfortable with tons of pillows. Room was classy and clean. The concierge made a reservation at the Chart House (right next door) and we were treated like VIP's! Enjoyed a complimentary dessert thanks to the Marriott. We booked on Priceline and got the room for $150/night... not too shabby on Thursday/Friday before marathon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeMelloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful remarks regarding staff service, hotel and location. I am pleased to share these great comments with my associates. I am glad you found a deal on Priceline. It does not happen very often since our hotel is typically fiiled to capacity on most nights. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here firstly on personal location followed by a work conference. The staff were very professional and friendly. The hotel was beautiful decorated/furnished and the rooms were also to a very high standard. The hotel had excellent facilities, particularly the gym. The location was right on the waterfront and adjacent to Aquarium metro stop and Quincy's market. My only gripe was an extortionate price for wireless intent (12.95) and it wasn't clear that you would be charged

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It is refreshing to hear such positive feedback regarding staff service and quality of our hotel. Hope you will have the opportunity to return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mertztown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I planned to visit our daughter who attends college in Boston a few weeks ago. Little did we know the events that struck the Boston Marathon would escalate once we made it to Boston early Friday morning. Our flight arrived on time and we knew the mass transit was shut down but grabbed a cab to the hotel. Once there, the hotel was prepared to keep their hotel guests safe. Our bags were checked before we entered the hotel lobby. While we were hours early for check in we called ahead to see if our bags could be stored til check in time. Considering the situation they quickly went to work to get our room ready early. Kudos to Leticia a the front desk. At this point the entire city was on lockdown. We decided to grab a bite to eat at the hotel restaurant. At the time breakfast was being served. Our waiter Rob apologized for the delay and suggested we try the buffet since some of the staff wasn't able to get into work and the individual orders were taking longer than normal. We were game and glad we decided to enjoy the buffet. Great, hot food, nothing much out of the ordinary, but the items were always refilled and hot. Rob wore a smile on his face the entire time as the restaurant filled up. It was great to see the management help out as well. Our room was ready within no time after we were done eating. We had room 446 with a king size bed. I definitely slept well in the comfy bed. The bathroom was spotless and had a large vanity and mirror. Awesome showerhead, a huge one that I want in my own bathroom. When our daughter was finally able to join us, we asked if she could stay with us in our room. They quickly brought up a roll away bed for her. The only complaint was the family next door who had kids running up and down the hall at all hours and the constant slamming of the door.

Room Tip: Room 446 had a view of the Christopher Columbus park and the streets surrounding it. Not a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALRuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. Close to a hop on hop off spot for the old town trolley, the harbor and the airport. The hotel decor was excellent. The check in check out service was easy. They offered luggage storage on our check out day and that was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. The rooms were very nice. I was surprised there was no make up mirror. This hotel had a well equipped work out area. The pool had warm water which I like. This hotel would of gotten 5 stars for me but the cost for Internet access was a disappointment. Free wifi at these hotel prices should be a must. The other negative was the ridiculous price for on site parking. $46 a day for a car sitting in the garage. I do not see why that as to be so costly. The car was parked and not moved for three days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robben4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in March and had a family room overlooking the park side of the hotel. The hotel is not cheap but is in a good location - easy to walk out to everything so no need for the car and also only a few minutes easy access to the airport. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the exercise room is not bad either. Nice room but we thought that the bathroom was a bit on the small side when four are sharing the room.

Kids were very happy with the Starbucks concession in the lobby - great start to the day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolphinEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 83 in Boston
1,577 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#50 of 83 in Boston
1,455 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing