We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but a great location”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is a typical, full-service Marriott in many ways: a great fitness center, comfortable rooms with no surprises, very good concierge lounge, acceptable bar and restaurant, and a Starbucks (that unfortunately gets too busy in the mornings, particularly if there is a conference at the hotel -- expect a very long line). It is located right on the Wharf, as the name suggests. You couldn't ask for a better base for visiting the sites of downtown Boston.

The layout of the hotel is also typical of big city properties: the lobby is not on the ground floor. If you get to the hotel late at night, figuring out where to go for check-in might be a problem. It's not entirely clear upon entering the building at the main doors.

I also found that the breakfast selections at the concierge lounge were not as good as other Marriotts at which I've stayed. I would have liked some form of breakfast meats (bacon, sausage or even cold cuts would have been very welcome). There were the usual scrambled eggs, but they were only luke warm. Ick.

It may be the location on the harbor with it's views and convenience to sites, but I found the price to be a bit high for late November, after Thanksgiving (almost $300/night + tax). A check of the price for an upcoming stay, however, found the AAA rate to be just above $200 per night, plus tax, which is very affordable for a hotel of this quality and location. Your mileage may vary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MI_TravelFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    722
    217
    87
    40
See reviews for
703
579
49
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Awesome hotel with many great places within walking distance! You can see many of the historical buildings downtown or walk along the wharf all the way up to the Boston Tea Party ships. The Aquarium and Legal Seafood is nearby. Starbuck's in the lobby stays pretty busy.

Room Tip: Plan on doing alot of walking on Boston. It is a walking city..... Bring an umbrella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sure, We expect to be price gouged on New Years Eve, but we expect value. Paid $429 for a 10 x 15 room. Add 24.45 State Tax, 25.74 Local Tax and 11.80 for ccf tax (whatever that is). Add another $46 for parking. Breakfast was $57.11. Plus, tips for the vallet, bell, waiter. That's for two people. All-in-all overpriced.

The good: location is great. Right downtown in the heart of Boston. Close to the aquarium, Quincy Market, Common, etc. Could walk to everything.

Lots of kids.

Noisy. We were right over the hotel enterance.

Staff was very nice. Room was clean. Lots of kids in the pool. Workout room was big, lots of equipment and nobody working out. Breakfast was a buffett; very good.

We go Boston a couple of times a year. This was our first time at this hotel. We probably won't stay here again. There are lots of great hotels in Boston. We chose this to see the Harbor fireworks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments. Our location certainly is ideal for visitors coming into Boston for all the reasons you mentioned. It was great to see your remarks regarding staff service, room cleanliness and our breakfast buffet, I will be sure to share that with the associates of the hotel. I am sorry that you had a room over the front entrance that may have generated some noise, I would be happy to offer you a larger room that is in a more quiet location for a future stay. Feel free to give me a ring when planning your trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is ideally located across the street from Faneuil Hall, and next to the dock where you can catch harbor tours. There is a subway stop just outside the front door which was very convenient and many things to do within close walking distance such as the still-developing walking path along the water, and Paul Revere's home on the Freedom Trail. Inside, the hotel is very nice, modern and spacious. The rooms are clean and comfortable with excellent service. However, on the weekend we were there (3nights), the hotel was overrun with small children. This could be because it is next to the aquarium or perhaps because the hotel ran a special for families with small children. It did not have any amenities that clearly attracts families with small children, so it is not clear to me why so many were there. Kids were running down the halls, in the elevators by themselves, on the hotel's computers, and there were strollers everywhere. Because my kids are teens, we prefer quieter, less chaotic, accommodations. When making my reservation, I would have liked to be alerted to the fact that there would be more kids there than a Great Wolf Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annch740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went there at Christmas and the location could not have been better. Right across from Quincy Market that was beautifully decorated and a 5 minute walk from the North End and it's fine restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in December of 2012. The hotel was huge. They have valet parking and you can pay 46.00 a day here or you can park across the street at Harbor Park for 35.00 a day which we did. It was a very short walk from the two. They have a Starbucks in the downstairs lobby. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Faneuil Hall is across the street in walking distance. The T is located right next to the hotel which made it very easy to get around. The waterfront is beautiful!! Great place in to stay in the warmer months when there is more going on outside on the wharf- but it was very nice even in the winter!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Long Wharf for the night the night my husband and I got married. We arrived a little earlier thanc heck-in, but our room was available with no problems. The room was exactly as I booked: king bed at a reasonable rate. Everything was clean, comfortable and updated. Bathroom is a little small, but perfectly adequate and stocked with lots of towels and great toiletries. We left for the afternoon, and when we came back, the hotel left us champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries with a nice card for "The Newlyweds". It was a fantastic surprise on to round out an excellent evening. We had drinks and appetizers at the in-house restaurant. Our server, Mike, was attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. The restaurant is updated and cool, with large high-tops, lounge areas and cozy booths. Drinks were on par with Boston standards (expensive), but tasty. The pool and hot tub are on the smaller side, but also totally adequate with a great view. Something funny is that they played the best music. We stayed during Christmas, but thank goodness they stayed away from the tired Christmas music. It was upbeat, not obnoxious, and different in all the different common areas.

Parking is outrageously expensive. We were coming from the south shore, so we utilized the commuter boat. If you have to drive, park across the street for half the price.

Staff couldn't have been nicer. Amenities are plentiful. Location can't be beat. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Booking on Marriot.com is the same as the cheaper discount sites and they treat you better! Park acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elevendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,562 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,852 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#52 of 83 in Boston
1,444 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing