We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I want to start with my only complaint about this hotel. We arrived early around 10:30am hoping for early check in and being Marriott Elite, we have never had a problem. We were told the only room available was on the 2nd floor but hopefully within an hour they would have our room ready. So we left our bags with the bellman and parked across the street at the harbor garage. It is $35/day vs $50. We walked around the harbor and went and grabbed some lunch. They did call is within an hour and a half and when we checked in, our room was on the 3rd floor! As Marriott Elite why were we not put on a higher floor? And why did they make us wait to move us up 1 level. The hotel is on the harbor so the views are amazing, unless you get a room facing the street. That was extremely disappointing because it is not cheap to stay here and when you are loyal to Marriott you expect to be treated a little better. We did not complain, but we should have.

The hotel is in a great location. It is right on the harbor, so the view from the end of the hall balconies is amazing. Little Italy, Fanueil Hall and Quincy market are all right there. The tour buses stop is right outside the hotel as well. Which the tour pass is good for 2 days so we took it to go shopping and see the sights. We did not eat at the hotel, except for the concierge breakfast which was very good. def a great location and of all the Marriott for us, the location was perfect. I would def stay here again.

Make sure you eat at Neptune Oyster and get the lobster roll hot and go to Cafeteria on Newbury Street and get the fig pizza and sangria.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OnTheGoGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location, clean.... Wait staff in restaurant let something g to be desired. We Sked for red sox game to be put on our tv at our table several times and she never bothered. But I live the location of this hotel, walk across street to everything. Right on water. Love Boston!

Room Tip: Wanna be on water side of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaxBosRdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Long Wharf. The hotel is clean, well decorated and has a great location. You have to go up an esculator to get to the lobby which is unusual. We stayed in the back bay the last time in Boston and we like this location a lot better. It is closer to the things we enjoy including the North End restaurants and Faneuil Hall.

Our room was on the small side but we weren't spending much time in our room so it didn't matter too much. I didn't care for the small french door on the bathroom, it was awkward.

The concierge was helpful and the wait isn't long. We enjoyed taking the ferry to the U.S.S. constitution which leaves right across the street from the hotel.

Be sure to eat at Legal Seafoods, it really does live up to the hype. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaLuna61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very good location, close to the center of town and some touristic places. Very good restaurant closed to the hotel (Legal Sea Food). Service is efficient and professional. Great rooms, nice view, but expensive. Careful of the final bill if you don't pay attention to your little extras...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel couldn'' have a better location for visiting Boston, Across from Fanuel Hall, in the North End, right on the water near the Aquarium..just perfect. And the service is even better. I was there for a conference and the staff was so accomodating. This is a great place to stay on a visit...even a better place to plan an event. And it has had a recent facelift, so the decor is very pleasant.

Room Tip: You will want to be on the concierge level, because the view from the concierge lounge is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights during July, and it was a great choice for our family. The location is perfect. It’s close to so many attractions, including Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall, the Freedom Trail, the New England Aquarium, the North End, Christopher Columbus Park and the harbor. The Inner Harbor Ferry goes from Long Wharf to Charlestown Navy Yard and makes visiting to the U.S.S. Constitution easy, and the ride over is great. The ferry to Salem also leaves near there. We didn’t have a room with a view, but we enjoyed the view of the harbor from the swimming pool area. It’s also close to several restaurants, including Legal Sea Foods and Joe’s American Grill. Walking around in that area is pleasant, especially in the evening, and you can sit on benches and watch the harbor. Alamo Car Rental is also located about a block away, which made returning our rental car from Maine in very convenient.

Service was mostly good, except for one day when the maids didn’t come until about 5 or 6 pm. Our room was great - very comfortable, modern, clean, and spacious. There is a small refrigerator, coffee maker, large flat screen TV, an ipod dock, and a fairly large safe in the room. It also has a desk with plenty of electrical outlets for recharging all those electronic devices of today and a chair with an ottoman. The bathroom was nice as well. I used the computers at the business center by the lobby to print some information out on several occasions, and I never had to wait for a computer or printer. Despite the fact that this hotel is an atrium type, it wasn’t noisy like some atrium hotels can be. We found it quiet and relaxing.

We didn’t eat breakfast at their restaurant because the price was pretty steep, and they didn’t have any packages available that included breakfast for the time we were there. The lines at the Starbucks there can get very long and be slow. We also went to a Dunkin Donuts around the corner one morning.

I would definitely choose to stay at this hotel again if I return to Boston.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j'smomTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a great place to stay while in Boston. You are in the heart of the city with everythig a short walk away. Don't forget to visit Mike's Pastry Shop!!! We will definitely stay here again. The service was professional and prompt, with great rooms. We walked everywhere, and there are tons of great sights and eats close by.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,716 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#51 of 84 in Boston
7,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,961 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $192 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston, Massachusetts. Our beautiful Boston hotel features 400 rooms, 11 suites and a concierge lounge with harbor views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing