We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston Marriott Long Wharf is THE BEST hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I must say I am impressed with the Marriott Long Wharf once again.

It is located right next to an entrance for the train. It is also located right next to the Aquarium and Legal Seafoods and is a short walking distance from other great Boston spots. And, best of all, they offer just about the best service I have experienced this side of the Mississippi! Maybe even the country. Yeah, I am referring to Marriott brands only, since that is my preferred brand. Marriott has been good to me for over six years of business travel.

Yesterday, Mark, one the of the building security employees, was extremely helpful in my trying to locate a phone charger, since I forgot mine at home.

Secondly, I am always impressed with the Long Wharf’s Concierge Lounge, but today I was blown away by the chocolate covered strawberry chocolate cake. It is definitely the BEST cake I have had this fall. I wish my mouth had been bigger, and my clothes were not so tight already. It was simply delicious and I must compliment those who made it. Wow!

Everyone at the Long Wharf “gets” customer service. As critical as I can be sometimes when I rate customer service at hotels, I can tell you that everyone at this hotel is simply stellar. Plain and simple, some other Marriott hotels, like some full-service Marriotts in New York City, can stand to learn from the way they do business at the Long Wharf. It goes to show that you can indeed be a nice hotel even if you are in the mean (east) coast. Really, New York City full-service Marriotts have no excuse. Send the management to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf to learn. Kuddos to the Long Wharf because they are doing it right!

Even the lady delivering little square chocolates at about 4:30 PM was delightful! Also, the housekeeping employee said hi to me with a big smile when she first saw me this morning. I mean, everyone was amazing. Some might take it from granted, but I try hard not to. I am very impressed.

The Long Wharf Marriott in Boston will be my preferred hotel every time I come to Boston, period!

Room Tip: Ask for a great view. Pay extra for the "concierge lounge" level rooms so that you can exp...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bechego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
There are newer reviews for Boston Marriott Long Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,765 - 1,771 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was my third visit to this Marriott and it was even more enjoyable than the prior two. Our room was ready for an early arrival, including a cot in the room and we had an excellent view of the harbor and North End of Boston. We were also afforded a late check-out. All accommodations were great and the updates to the hotel since our last visit were most pleasing. We enjoyed the pool and spa as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room when facing the aquarium side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bal1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Room was decent, with a great view of the park and harbor. Room was clean, quiet and roomy. Internet connection was fine, tv big. Conference rooms were really good, big but comfortable. The aquarium was close, enjoyed the tour. Close to the airport. Gym was adequate, with new equipment. Staff were fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomspottiswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott Boston Long Wharf on the way to visit family for 2 days/1 night at the end of September. They have a bit of construction at the front entrance but other than that, it's a lovely hotel. The lobby, hallways and rooms are very nice and clean with pleasing decor. It has a light contemporary feel to the place with a degree of classiness. We had a partial view of the wharf which was great. Staff we interacted with were very polite and friendly; from the maid to the front desk to the concierge. (He had fabulous recommendations for eating establishments and we followed them all to our satisfaction.) This location is close to EVERYTHING first time travelers to Boston would like to visit. And Starbucks is in the first floor lobby (if this is important to you...and it is to me!) We will stay here again when we travel to Boston. Can't wait to visit Boston again!

Room Tip: Ask for a wharf view....high enough to see all of the wharf.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DachsieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have been to this location before children a number of times. However, did not realize how unsafe the inner balcony design was until my 22 months old son tried to climb. We almost lost him, I just turned around for 2 seconds to open the hotel door when I saw him half way up on the balcony. There is no safety measure built under, so it's a straight drop to a few floor down. It was a scary experience. Tried to write and talk to someone in the hotel regarding this matter but no one seemed to notice or care. Also, there were a lot of drunken people being very loud outside the corridor in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coleus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Excellent location and even better staff. But we do have to say, lack luster beds (not up to normal Marriott standards we have come to expect) and beefy priced. We did take advantage of accumulated points and promotions - but were less then impressed w/ property appointments. We were warned of "under construction" status - but our concerns were outside of construction. upon our next visit to Boston, we will consider alternative location for our stay.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank BryceFarmView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel is perfect for a visit to Boston, close to so much. There is a lovely park next to the hotel and you can take a water taxi from the airport for only $10 - it drops you off at Long Wharf. My only complaints about this hotel is that the bathrooms are incredibly small. The first room they put us in was in the open hallway near the elevator and it was terribly loud all night long. They were kind enough to upgrade us to a better and more quiet room. I would ask for a room away from the open atrium area. The concierge could use some guidance - they gave only a small amount of information rather than filling in some of the details most tourists would need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the open atrium area, it gets quite noisy there.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,632 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,912 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#53 of 84 in Boston
1,473 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $268 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing