We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better way to see Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I should start by saying - I live in Boston... and yes, I stay here. Whenever I can.
- When we come into town with the kids - we stay here.
- When we have friends visiting for the weekend - they stay here.
- When I have clients in town - I put them up here.
There is simply no other place to stay in Boston that provides a family friendly atmosphere, flawless business amenities, great dining options (on site!), a phenomenal location (access to EVERYTHING via the T) and super friendly service.
The front desk and concierge staff will exceed your expectations and the rooms are twice the size of any other brand-name downtown hotel.
If the fact that the entire hotel is shaped like a ship doesn't impress you, its copious amenities surely will. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room - if you can't get one when booking you can usually sweet-talk the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontknowhowshedoesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

Access to freedom trail and T-station for transportation was excellent. You are only 2 stops on the T from the airport. Very easy to get to. My only complaint is that the guy at the front desk talked me into eating at the Marriott restaurant when I said I wanted clam chowder and I was going to go to Legal Seafood. The Marriott clam chowder was not that good. But otherwise I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySeaBiscuit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at the Boston Marriott Long Whart for a couple of nights for a work/leisure trip - one of us worked while the other one played tourist ;)

The hotel is located right by the water and close to Fanueil Hall Marketplace. There are a LOT of shops and restaurants within walking distance. It is close to Northend and, trust me, you are going to want to go back to that area especially for the cannolis at Mike's Pastry (yum!) Note about Mike's Pastry: the shop is crowded but do not be intimidated; it is well worth it but I guess I should write a separate review about this place.....

Since the lobby is located on the second level, it had a rather odd "sense of entry" into the hotel. There was some construction going on during our stay and it can get loud in the daytime. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffets at the Waterline restaurant located on the lobby floor were good - not great but good if you want the convenience of a decent breakfast.

Our special thanks to Alex from security for administering first aid due to a sprained ankle and for the cannolis!!! You made us feel most welcome during our stay at the Marriot Long Wharf.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeanderingCows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Lovely location within walking distance of many attractions and one of the Trolley bus companies. It was an "impersonal" hotel, with little sense of customer intimacy but very comfortable rooms, restaurant and helpful concierge and reception. Gym and pool also nice and views over the harbour very pleasant. However........if you are a Marriott Gold Card holder don't raise your hopes that you can enjoy the lounge and complimentary breakfast......it was like a rugby scrum and staff members in this lounge were rude and uncaring.....lots of kids when we were there too. Instead, just pay a lotta dollars for a vey nice buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order by a wonderful, mature and elegant Chinese female chef in the normal restuarant.

Room Tip: ask for harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JannJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Thanks for the note, depending on the number of Gold and Platinum Guests in-house, the concierge lounge could see some high volume as you have described. Our new breakfast buffet in our Waterline Restaurant is a great option for breakfast. We have upgraded our offerings and now the daily buffet has over 50 items including our signature Lobster Omelet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A nice conversion job here of what I guess was an old warehouse. A bit industrial but that is due to its size and maybe felt that way because it was a busy night we stayed. Nice fairly spacious rooms but not so great bathroom products. Liked the bar, the man did a mean vodka martini. Helpful service from all concierge to barman. No complaints and would stay again. Plenty going on in the area.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have a good view - one side over harbour, the other the Aquarium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor A, General Manager at Boston Marriott Long Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

You are correct, our location is the best in Boston. If you like the regular vodka martini at the bar, you would enjoy some of our new infused vodka martinis that we create and change weekly. Currently working on a caramel and apple infusion, it's delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is located right on the Wharf. We were on the concierge floor and the concierge lounge has huge picture windows that look onto the water. The views from both the lounge and our room were beautiful.

The hotel is located next to the Boston Acquarium and the IMAX theatre, is a close walk to Boston North area and is near the Freedom Trail. Location is great.

The check in for the hotel is located on the second level.

Rooms had the typical great Marriott bedding with very comfortable beds. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. I always think Marriott could improve the quality of its toiletries, and this hotel was no exception.

Serve was excellent. We were allowed both an early check in and a late check out, as we were at the hotel during Hurricane Irene. This accommodation was very beneficial in light of canceled fligths and inclement weather.

The appetizers, drinks and desserts in the concierge lounge were plentiful and of good quality. One of the reasons I prefer Marriott's with a concierge lounge is I love being able to go in and obtain a diet coke, a bottle of water, a piece of fruit etc., throughout the day without spending $5 from a mini bar for a diet coke.

Would definitely return if in Boston again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Beautiful property undergoing renovation, but don't let that stop you from experiencing it. The concierge lounge far, far exceeded our expectations. The concierge with the "keys" on his lapel was world-class. Even the housekeeping staff was pleasant and attentive to details. They even have an employee at the bottom of the escalator acting as a concierge-at-large. WHAT SERVICE! I cannot wait to stay at this property once the renovations are complete. LOVE this Marriott property. Plus, the trolley and the T station are both right at the property's edge, so location is prime. $$$ but worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LightAndjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,716 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#51 of 84 in Boston
7,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,961 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $192 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston, Massachusetts. Our beautiful Boston hotel features 400 rooms, 11 suites and a concierge lounge with harbor views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing