We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

My family and I travelled to Boston for spring break, this hotel was a great choice. Step outside and the Boston waterfront, Fanueil Hall and much more is right there. They are doing construction on the lobby areas which did not affect us at all and will be done soon. Lovely pool and hot tub, great views from our room and super nice staff. The price was more than I'd hoped to pay for this trip but all in all, it was worth it and the kids LOVED it (ages 8 and 12).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingMom41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    701
    211
    82
    37
See reviews for
687
560
48
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eastern US
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in March 2011. I travel to Boston several times a year, and decided to give this place a try. But other than the location, there is not much I can recommend about this place.

This hotel is not inexpensive, and you should expect to pay for everything, including internet and parking. The location is OK if you want to be by the water.

The hotel is undergoing a renovation, and there is no lobby to speak of. Unfortunately, they did not mention that on their website. Seems a bit deceptive to me.

My room was in the rear of the hotel. The door of my room faced inward to a large open atrium. A couple of floors below was a dining area. The first night I was there, the dining area was hosting a banquet. With a large group of people, and a large open area with solid walls, and with the usual conversation level and clanging of dishes and silverware, it was quite noisy at night. Furthermore, the door to my room had a gap between the bottom of the door and the floor, which made for a lot noise at night when I was trying to get to sleep. Finally, I called the front desk about this situation, and was treated rudely and aggressively. Excuse me, but I was just trying to get some sleep, which I think is reasonable request and shouldn't cause such an unpleasant reaction on their part. Eventually I got up and rolled up a towel and put this in the crack of the door, which helped reduce the noise somewhat. The noise from the dining area was there in the morning during breakfast and again in the evening for dinner, but fortunately it wasn't as loud as it was that first night. Nevertheless, the abysmal attitude of their employees was something I won't forget. I'll be back in Boston a couple of weeks, but I won't be staying at the Marriott Long Wharf again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

I love this hotel, best ever!! I would highly recommend this to families who have children, and highly to others!! Except the location is not the best for car travel, although if you are going to travel by subway then you picked the perfect place. The Aquarium station is literally right outside( T or subway). The food is top notch. There is a buffet breakfast. Other amenities include huge lobby with Starbucks coffee and central stairs, grand ballroom, arcade, pool with amazing city view, health and fitness center, Buisness rooms, over 400 rooms, over 10 suites, and many many more amenities but if you are going to Boston STAY HERE

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elderbrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

The hotel was clean and the people were really nice.
We arrived early and were able to check into our room.
The room was clean and cozy.
The location was perfect, across the street is the Aquarium and then on the other side of the Hotel you have Faneuil Hall.
The breakfast in the hotel restauran was amazing!
Over all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times inthe past. The location next to Quincy Marketplace is great,but I have learned the rents have gone up and many of the quaint stores are gone with empty storefronts and high priced restaurant left.
This hotel is going through major renovations. The escalator as you enter is nothing but plater board and the views from the restaurant are of balcony repairs yet the hostess insists on seating folks in the ugliest locations. Worst of all it seems call girls fill the rooms and all night long we heard the sounds of knocking on doors in the wee hours and other not so pleasant noises.
Many guests were heard complaing they were not told of the repairs when booking.
The one high point is the wondeful staff that do try their best to be pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missymom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We took the subway ("T") from the airport and it couldn't have been easier. When you step out of the subway (at the aquarium stop) you are right in front of the hotel. Also you are very convenient to the aquarium (across the street) and 2 blocks to the Quincy Market with about 50 restaurants and pubs. Also is an easy walk to the North End/little Italy where Paul Revere's house is. It had snowed the day before we arrived but all the sidewalks were cleared and we walked everywhere with no problem. This hotel is in a perfect location for a first sightseeing trip to Boston. Yes it was cold but we bundled up and got out there. I was very surprised at the large number of tourists out doing the same thing. The hotel is very nice; public areas are undergoing renovation but it's no problem. Very comfortable beds! The thing that got me mad though was the $12.95 charge for wireless internet access in the room!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nancybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is a really nice hotel in an excellent location right by the Harbour and near to the historic City centre.

We got this one night stay for free by cashing in frequent user points, and as such were delighted by the nice room, which included flat-screen TV, iPod dock, nice furniture etc. We walked into the City for our evening meal. It is a shame we didn't have more time to explore this impressive and historic town.

If you are a Brit like myself or European, be prepared for the "Classic" US Hotel experience at this place. By that I mean, when you park your car the valet wants a tip, when you try and pick up your bags you are intercepted by a porter, who wants a tip, then he summons another guy to take your stuff to your room, and he wants to prattle on about Florida and generally get in the way and then get a tip.

When leaving, if you try and grab a luggage trolley yourself the girl on reception will try and tell you you aren't allowed to. If you ignore her reasoning that you are the customer and can do what you like, you will garner the hate-filled stares of the crowd of uniformed tip-vampires loitering around the entrance. And then you will still have to tip the valet to get your car back.

I must say the tone and body language of the porting staff were generally condescending, and I feel cheated by effectively having to pay them to go away.

To say again, this is a very smart hotel in a very good location. But you will be shelling out a constant stream of green-backs before you get any peace.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garnicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#49 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Property: Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Address: 296 State Street, Boston, MA 02109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Boston
#19 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Long Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boston Marriott Long Wharf, located on Boston Harbor at the historic Long Wharf in downtown Boston. Our Boston, Massachusetts hotel features 400 hotel rooms, 11 hotel suites, a concierge lounge with harbor views, and Oceana Restaurant that serves fresh seafood cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Boston Marriott Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Long Wharf Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing