We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Husband and I stayed here for a short vacation. Although the area and lobby are very busy, the rooms are very quiet, comfortable and well appointed. We stayed in a king room on the conciere level. An excellent hot breakfast, afternoon tea and evening snacks, soft beverages and bar were available on this floor only. Ahhhh, the beds....if we weren't in such an interesting town, we could have slept in them 24/7! Incredibly comfortable. I have a bad back and they were not too soft, just right! Beautifully appointed rooms w/ appx. 42" flat screen t.v. w/ plenty of channels. We had a view of the Charles River (downside-costs $30 extra to face river). However, you can request view of the bay for no extra charge. Bathrooms clean but small for two people. Safes in room, good visible security ie: cameras, guards...good section of town.

Excellent large workout facility. Many cardo machines each had t.v.'s ie: incline ellipitals & treadmills, had everything you could want including free weights, fitness balls, mats, etc. We used it every day. Nice pool w/ separate lap lane. Large hot tub.

GREAT customer service everywhere in this hotel. Bar had dozens of large t.v. screens. Although very busy, it was a great place to watch your favorite sports games. Got this room on Priceline for $120- a steal! You just enter the different amenities/the area: Copley Square and you'll get this Marriott or the Boston Sheraton which also gets rave reviews. (We were upgraded to the conciere rm. because other wasn't available).

The Old Town Trolley -Hop on-Hop off, was great for seeing the city on the first sightseeing day. Guides were entertaining and informative. The second day is free which is perfect for going back to the places that interest you the next day. Stops just outside the door. Buy tickets on-line to save money. Duck tour is across the street-would recommend for families w/ young kids. However, it is a non-stop tour w/ no free second day. Kind of silly for adults only. The "T" subway is 2 or 3 blocks away. We took it from the airport ($2) and back to save the $30 cab fare each way. Very good for getting to Waterfront, Freedom trail, Cambridge, USS Constitution, North End (Little Italy-be sure and have dinner, pizza by the slice for lunch and Mike's Pastry's Cannoles here!) and other outlining areas. Busline is confusing for visitors.

Downsides: Internet in room $12 a day, 59 cents a min. in business center. However, there is a Kinkos in adjacent mall for about 26 cents a min. Must pay to park. We did not rent a car as Boston is too busy to navigate....parking almost impossible to find and then parking time very limited. Plenty of taxis and great public transportation. Besides, this hotel is centrally located, just a few blocks from Isabella Gardner Museum, Museum of Art, Fenway, Trinity Church, Newberry Street Shopping and public transportation. Best location for vacationers.

Oh, the AMAZING mall connected to this hotel by walkways... has hundreds of excellent stores for every taste. Plan a day for shopping here and on Newberry Street, a few blocks away. Ask the front hotel desk for a complimentary refrigerator brought to your room....there is a huge grocery store/deli across the street. Has everything imaginable. We got hot meals from the deli, snacks, water and wine/beer and brought back to the room. Be forwarned that alcohol in bars is very expensive! Glass of Beringer wine-half full= $8.00, beer $6.00 or more almost everywhere in Boston.

Only reason you may not like this hotel is if you prefer quaint, cozy boutique-like hotels. Or if you are traveling with small children and are primarily visiting the aquarium and other child oriented venues and need a hotel with complimentary breakfast. I would recommend you stay nearer to Freedom trail, child museum or the Aquarium in a chain hotel which offers complimentary breakfast. Military retirees and personnel can stay at The Constitution Inn for $99 per night. My military son-in-law/ daughter stay there and say it is great for the price. Otherwise, you cannot go wrong with this well-run Marriott.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,231)
There are newer reviews for Boston Marriott Copley Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,537 - 2,543 of 3,231 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

The rooms are yummy. The beds, pillows, blanquets, and so on... it was hard to want to leave. Also, it had an HDTV with HD channels!! The bathroom is nothing incredible, but it was clean and decent. The location: perfectly close to everything. The only thing that wasn't awesome was the parking: 44$ a day! Oh and it had internet, but no wireless (sad for iPad only travellers!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

If you want to stay in the Copley/Back Bay area, this is a great location . . . and even if you plan on seeing the historical sites, this is still a great base, convenient to mass transportation. But the hotel itself is just ok.

I had also spent a few nights at the nearby Back Bay Hotel and much preferred it. The Marriott is such a mega-hotel, sterile in appearance and just overly "corporate" looking. Your first greeting at the check-in is a huge picture of Marriott family members or executives (I didn't check to see who exactly was pictured). And it's just not an attractive lobby, whereas I really enjoyed the look of the Back Bay Hotel. That being said, check-in was quick and there were more than enough staff to ensure a quick check-in or check-out. And elevators were always available quickly, and were not crowded.

But more of the bad: another huge difference between the Back Bay Hotel and this Marriott was the bathroom. The bathroom at the Marriott looked really dated, with an awful shower curtain and poor water pressure (although there was plenty of hot water). The Back Bay hotel had a large bathroom, large shower, heated towel racks and upscale Kiehl's amenities.

As for the Marriott room, it was plenty large enough, and it's great if you like really soft beds, but the bed was way too soft for my liking. I was also disappointed that there was so much dust in the room - mainly noticeable on the alarm clock and the bed-side phone. I joked with my traveling companion that I could pull my finger through the dust to write a message. Finally, $13.95/day for internet is a joke - high speed internet was free at the Back Bay Hotel so keep that in mind when comparing prices.

Overall, it's an adequate place to stay but I'm sure you can do better in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I have been to Boston with my girlfriend several times and we tried many hotels in this area and the Marriott Copley Square didn't disappointed us at all. They upgraded us to a suite and the view was incredible!! The staff was nice and helpful.
The only bad point is that they don't have their own parking so we can't have a in and out pass.
The hotel is directly inside the shopping mall and there's plenty of restaurant surrounding the hotel.
If you have a chance to try that Hotel don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Impressive hotel. We had a super corner room on one of the upper floors with great views over the water at far as the Kennedy Library. Decent sized rooms, efficient staff, impressive gym and nice indoor pool (aimed at fitness rather than for the kids). Good supermarket across the road, they'll make you very nice pizzas to take back to your room.The trolley buses that stop outside the hotel are very touristy but worth the money- buy tickets from the concierge. and the Mapparium is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwlsTrentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Excellent location and amenities that were more than enough to meet my needs. I have nothing more to add to previous reviews, especially on the negative side, except that the carpet was somewhat damp and smelly and the pool was usually crowded with other families when I was there with my family. Fitness facilities were excellent. We were even offered free in-room internet, which usually cost +$12/night, through the conference that I attended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhkssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had stayed at this hotel last year. One year later we enjoyed our stay as much as the first time. Guest services are top notch and the rooms are very cleaned. Great location for shopping and plenty of good restaurants around the corner. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#50 of 84 in Boston
2,370 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,857 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Boston
#39 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $161 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing