We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby like many Marriotts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Shabby like many Marriotts”
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed with my wife for a conference. The building is shabby in details: leaking window pans, dents in the bathroom. Common problems for American "un-hospitality" industry. you can't get a real price of a room , taxes etc., they only give you some fantasy number. The more expensive the hotel, the worst is their greed. The two of us stayed in the room with two beds, but there was only one bag of coffee in the room. They save on shower caps. What a shame! Internet access? $12 a day. In every Hamptons we have complimentary bottled water. In Marriott - a small inviting bottle in the room for... $6. We haven't seen an average hotel in the US lately without a complimentary breakfast, and it's unheard of in Europe. Here - fat chance: have you $20 ready, or stay in a long line to Starbucks.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    1,424
    482
    151
    64
See reviews for
717
653
138
1,172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

This hotel seems to get a lot of traffic, with people checking in and out for various conferences given its connection and proximity to the conference center. Having said that, things were never so bad that elevators were crowded or check in lines were long. But the overall feel seemed hectic in the lobby area because there was a sports-bar-restaurant one floor above (that looked down over the lobby) and the walkway to the nearby mall area and convention center was on the 2nd floor.

Concierge seemed pleasant and helpful although I didn't need to ask them much. No problems getting a cab, and the airport was only around a 15 min drive away (~ $25).

The room itself was nice and clean with great views. no complaints there. Had a quick glimpse of the pool and gym areas - seemed to have nice equipment but with the sheer size of the hotel I wonder how crowded they would be in the mornings.

Easy access to Starbucks, a supermarket right across the street and nice walking areas and shopping nearby.

Overall would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacefrogdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis TN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

The Marriott Copley Place is a convention hotel. There is no reason to stay there unless you are attending a meeting. It is a warehouse for people. The most pedestrian decor I have seen in a major chain hotel in a while - not even a whiff of style.

The lobby is dominated by a huge "open air" sports bar with multiple massive screens. The hotel entrance is also the mall entrance so there was a huge crowd coming and going all the time. The front desk and bell staff seemed frazzled and inattentive. Other than the sports bar, there is no restaurant so we had to go out even for breakfast.

Apparently they also have a rat problem. I was early for a meeting in one of the ballrooms on the 4th floor and arrived while the room was still being set up and found the back corner of the room was filled with baited mouse traps. When I returned later, a folding door had been closed blocking off the corner and obscuring any pest control activities from view.

Since there was a convention in town when I was there and space was tight, the rates were high. The "discounted" conference rate I paid was $342.20 after taxes. For this princely rate, I had a plain room with a tiny bath. The one really nice feature in the room was the bed - very comfortable, lots of pillows, and you didn't even have to ask to get the sheets changed daily.

The location is great but at the other end of the same block (via the interior mall) is the Westin - so for the about the same price in nearly the same location you can have a much more upscale experience and better service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed 3 night at this hotel and were very pleased. We really liked the location as it was close to the subway, attached to a mall with high-end stores, and across the street from a grocery store. It also has a great sports bar attached. The room was very big with a great view of the water. It was clean and the staff were great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It also had an outstanding gym and pool/hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAGSRULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed here for a recent conference. The hotel is busier than Grand Central Station, and the service is horrible. Waited 20 minutes to checkin. Room service arrived cold and order was incorrect. Screwed up my receipt. Forgot toothpaste and called for two hours to have them deliver it - the giftshop was out and they told me to walk across the street the the supermarket.

I travel on business every week and have never written a review on a business trip - but this place was bad. I stay in Marriotts almost exclusively so I know what to expect - this one missed the mark by a long shot.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMB12065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Nothing really criticizable in this hotel, just nothing really significant. Absolutelly impersonal in every single detail. Once in the room you could basically be elsewhere in the world. Since the lobby is connected to the shoping arcade it is even more impersonal. Prices are high and do not include free wireless.

I was at a congress and the food at the congress was ABSOLUTELLY SUPERB.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Loved it. Comfortable, Convienent, Clean. All you need while in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1pamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,233 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,761 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing