We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Marriott Platinum - This is the Worst Marriott I've Ever Stayed In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I'm Marriott Platinum - This is the Worst Marriott I've Ever Stayed In”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed here for a recent conference. The hotel is busier than Grand Central Station, and the service is horrible. Waited 20 minutes to checkin. Room service arrived cold and order was incorrect. Screwed up my receipt. Forgot toothpaste and called for two hours to have them deliver it - the giftshop was out and they told me to walk across the street the the supermarket.

I travel on business every week and have never written a review on a business trip - but this place was bad. I stay in Marriotts almost exclusively so I know what to expect - this one missed the mark by a long shot.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMB12065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    1,424
    482
    151
    64
See reviews for
717
653
138
1,172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Nothing really criticizable in this hotel, just nothing really significant. Absolutelly impersonal in every single detail. Once in the room you could basically be elsewhere in the world. Since the lobby is connected to the shoping arcade it is even more impersonal. Prices are high and do not include free wireless.

I was at a congress and the food at the congress was ABSOLUTELLY SUPERB.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Loved it. Comfortable, Convienent, Clean. All you need while in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1pamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Being my first trip to Boston, I was very nervous about choosing this hotel because it was not decidedly positioned in the very heart of the tourist area. As a matter of fact, I am completely glad I choose the Marriott, both, because of its location (which proved to be ideal and more upscale than I expected,) as well as, its appealing appointments and amenities. We enjoyed not having the heavy foot traffice out front, while being only a few minutes from the major attractions and EXTREMELY easy and efficient train system. I would definately stay at this hotel again for several reasons. One, I love having the Galleria mall attached. Its a great, free distraction; and I loved have a full service grocery right across the street (I must have my water, etc for the room without paying high hotel premiums for it.) Finally, this is the tallest building in the area so its very easy to find after dark and the views could not be beat!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I took my girlfriends to Marriott Copley Thursday night for my best friends birthday to surprise her... and I was the one who wound up surprised! I work in hospitality in the area and was amazed with our stay here. Paula at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and welcoming. After telling her it was a birthday stay, she put us on the 36th floor in a corner room with a view of everything!!! The beds were like sleeping on clouds and it was awesome to watch the planes take off from bed in the morning! Bellmen/valets could be a bit friendlier though- since I wasn't valet parking with them because I have a garage pass for the area, they weren't too interested in helping us out. Sad.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL7869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights while attending a conference. The price was quite high ($249 conference rate) for the value of room. I had stayed at a Hilton Hotel two weeks ago in a small city and the quality, comfort and size of the room was far better than this room at one half of the price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgray9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stayed for Labor Day weekend with 2 teenage kids. Booked as part of an American Airlines Vacation Package, with the incremental room cost around $120 a night.
Quick check-in and was upgraded to Concierge Floor when I flashed my Marriott Gold card, as well as offered $20 in Starbucks vouchers.

Room was a good size across from the Concierge Lounge which we used on the Sunday Night and again for breakfast on Monday.

Even with the large size of teh hotel, never had to wait for the lifts and found all the staff very helpful.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fly-1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,232 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,761 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing