We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base for a visit to Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An excellent base for a visit to Boston”
Reviewed September 17, 2009

The hotel was what you would expect from a good quality Marriott style hotel. The rooms were large and clean. Our room was on the 26th floor and the views over Boston were great.

The hotel is attached to a shopping centre with loads of eating options so on the days we were feeling a bit jet lagged you could just grab something to eat really fast.

The Duck Tours also go from right oposite the entrance to the hotel and I think that the Trolley tours call at the hotel as well (though we didn't use them).

The buffett style breakfast in the hotel was not too unreasonably priced and the quality of the food was very good.

But the best thing about this hotel was its central location, very well placed for accessing all the sights and also near to an underground station which made trips around Boston and to Cambridge very easy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki2007England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    1,413
    475
    149
    62
See reviews for
707
650
137
1,159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
280 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We spent 4 nights at this Marriott. The hotel is just an average Marriott property. It was clean. We only encountered staff members at check-in and she was friendly. The hotel's location is great for shopping and dinning. It is also an easy walk to Beacon Hill and The Commons. Backbay subway stop is about a block from the hotel's lobby, making the hotel very accessible to all areas of Boston.
Although we didn't encounter any problems during our stay, I'm not sure that I would stay here again. There are many other hotels in Boston in the same price range that are not only nicer, but have staff that go out of their way to welcome you. Plus it's location, between two shopping malls, does feel a little odd when you are in the lobby area and elevators.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This hotel was pretty much what I expected for a Marriott in the middle of Boston. Nice location -- shopping center right across the street. It's a very large hotel, and the elevators can take some time. My view from the 30th floor was very nice.

Main complaint would be the very high cost of internet access (I think it was $15 for wired internet from the room).

Other than that, everything was as expected.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed here on business with a corporate rate of $170/night which seems very reasonable for a big city like Boston.

Hotel is generally filled with business travelers. It is located across the street from the train station and has direct access to a large shopping center.

The room was large with a nice city view of Boston.
The bathrooms are small and awkardly configured. The toilet is too close to the door.
They need to be remodeled completely!
Also, housecleaning needs to do a better job. My bathroom had significant amounts of hair in the sink and some in the tub.

Currently, they are doing construction in the lobby area, so its dusty and messy. Also, they were checking the elevators and they were not functioning at certain times of the day for fire alarm inspections. All of it was very annoying.

Took a taxi to eat near the sights and every cab ride was on average about $12-15/one way

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The hotel is located in a great area between the Prudential Center and Copley Square..Its within a mall that includes a starbucks and connection to the rest of the mall. I paid $ 100 per night on priceline - for a room on the 22nd floor with a great view of Boston Harbor, I asked upon check in for a high floor. I found the staff to be nice and helpful. Parking 42 BUT with in and out priveledges..room service YES very expensive but again you have options very nearby...Internet about 14 bucks..One area of concern I ran into a wheelchair guest and the elevators go from the 2nd floor and up..then escalator to 1st floor..they had to get a service elevator to bring her down to the 1st floor..this location could be a bit more handicap accessible friendly...

I would stay here again and found the experience to be great..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreTravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I stayed at the Copley Marriott for almost a week. There are no services offered despite the high charges. NO internet services unless one pays extra in this day and age !! Even the smaller hotels and hostels in Boston apparently were offering Internet services.
The front desk was very rude to say the least...appalling for any kind of hospitality services not to speak of a hotel of this scale. They laugh off your queries almost making fun of you ! and the final icing on the cake was a sudden appearance of a security Guard at your hotel room at about 9 PM asking you to report to the front desk immediately for they had some weird problem with the Credit card. We were told that we had to go with him immediately or else he would stay at the door till we comply ...sounded like being at the Police station !! Afterwards on reaching dowstairs (27 floors) we were told that all was well and that they had some initial problem with the card !! This I thought was a very rude behaviour from the staff overall when facilities were available to call us on the phone or even sort it out at a more suitable time !!
The swimming pool/GYM / Jacuzzi faicilities for a big hotel of this size looked to be of a miniature size !!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrijitJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stay in Marriott hotels almost exclusively, and I find this hotel to be inferior in almost every regard. Granted, the location is excellent and the Champion restaurant and sports bar is very good, but there are many aspects of this hotel that are unacceptable for such a costly property. There are extra fees for everything. If you arrive at night, the valet parking ($40.00) will most likely be filled and you will be forced to park in the Copley Place mall parking. There is an hourly rate for that parking structure and can cost well in excess of $50.00 per day if you take your car out even once. The hotel fails to tell you that you can get a validation in the mall that will reduce the cost (albeit slightly). The internet charge is $12.95/day and if you want to use your computer in the restaurant or other areas of the hotel, you have to pay an additional charge or go to the Sheraton where it is free (according to Marriott personnel).
We took a red eye flight from California and they could not accommodate an early check-in, but assured us that they would call us as soon as a room became available...let me say that the call never came.
I didn't find most of the concierge staff to be friendly although they were, in general, competent. In addition, the hotel is in need of renovation. The carpet was stained, the furniture nicked and the "grips" in the bathtub were dark and in general looked unclean. The furnishings are very plain and the room was not particularly attractive.
In general, this hotel is neither typical of the quality I expect from Marriott nor worth the cost. I don't understand why this hotel has received such high ratings...this hotel has only one thing going for it...location, location, location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,158 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,712 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing