We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Nearby Hotels
$348
$326
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$349
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
$359
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Parker House(Boston)
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$367
$328
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$284
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$288
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$402
$297
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,436)
Filter reviews
3,436 results
Traveler rating
1,137
1,540
518
165
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,137
1,540
518
165
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopley placechampions bargreat locationgrocery store across the streetthe concierge loungeprudential centerbusy hotellarge hotelcharles rivernewbury streethigh floorcorner roomduck tourgreat shoppingback bay stationbig cityattending a conference
Filter
Updating list...
1,597 - 1,602 of 3,436 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel fell below my expectations in several areas. Although the staff I encountered were always pleasant, the maintenance and overall operation of the hotel is lacking. there are basically two banks of elevators, local 1-27 and Express 1, 27 - top. It is not an exaggeration that waiting times were in excess of 20 minutes to go up or down on many occasions. The hotel posted an apology, but the problem was supposed to take up to two years to resolve! The air-conditioner in my room had a faulty relay. The maintenance person indicated this was a known problem. I was there a week. Why wasn't it replaced? The sanitation of the couch in my room was filthy from unidentified bodily fluids. I even turned the seat cushion over and it was worse! Come on, people! Really! As others have mentioned, WiFi in the rooms is not free. There are two tiers of service one can purchase, both of which are more per day than most people pay per month. Finally, the in-room safe was non-functional. I would not recommend this property for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Elevator service above the 27th floor may be faster
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BEWSaintLouis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena K, Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to file out the survey through Social Media
I would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you recently had at our hotel. Your comments concerning the overall maintenance and operation of the facility have been shared with the appropriate departments. I can assure you corrective action is being taken on all issues

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your patronage of Marriott Hotels and Resorts is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is situated in the center of all the action of the Back Bay area! Convenient to much shopping, restaurants and other tourist attractions. I especially liked the way it is connected to the Copley Place Shopping center. There's something for everyone here! The rooms are very nicely appointed. The staff very professional, courteous and helpful. The only issue was with the elevators. Seems as if it's a new computerized system and there are kinks that they're still working out. Hopefully they'll get it corrected soon! I would definitely stay here again regardless!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DelawareCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed three nights at this Marriott. The location was great! Within walking distance to Fenway and Boston Common with a great mall directly across from the hotel. The duck tours depart across the street and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and city-sized (bigger than NYC but smaller than a "regular" room). It's so huge that you feel like you're in a people warehouse. All-in-all a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view above the 22nd floor for a brilliant panorama of Boston.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here as part of the a conference with 800+ people. It was a very comfortable hotel in a very convenient location. The only real problem was the elevators. I waited for one to go from the 9th floor to the lobby for 15 minutes. Several of the other people waiting took the stairs down 9 floors because they had to be at meetings. It was like this almost all the time. On the positive side, the room itself was very comfortable. The staff was particularly helpful.

Room Tip: lower floor might help with the elevator situation
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a convenient position in Back Bay and has good facilities...BUT I resent being charged nearly $30 for s short phone call to the UK when my phone failed, and around $18 for "extra fast" broadband. But the worst thing was the no/slow of the lifts. We, and all other guests were fuming when having to wait up to six or seven minutes for a lift. On complaining - no apology, just a "Yes, they are being uprated!"

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnR3924YC, Front Office Manager at Boston Marriott Copley Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed its great location. I was at the same time disappointed that you feel that other aspects provided a negative impact.

As you correctly stated, we are currently involved in an elevator modernization project which may slow the pace of the elevators at times. It is a laborious process but once complete will provide the hotel with one of the most advanced system in the Boston area.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews