We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Insider's secret gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
474 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Insider's secret gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We're locals who live north of Boston, so we stay in the city from time to time and have stayed at many of the hotels downtown. This is by far one of our favorites! You can't beat the location...right in the heart of the city. The hotel is hooked onto two major shopping centers, the Prudential and Copley, and you don't have to go outside to get to either, especially nice in bad weather! There are tons of shops and restaurants in both centers, as well as on Boylston Street and Newbury Street, which are within walking distance. There are also several "T" stations close by that will take you anywhere in the city and the Duck Tours leave from right across the street. Some places like Fenway, the Public Garden, and the Common are even walking distance if you don't mind a little longer walk. Another bonus...a Shaw's full service market right across the street from the hotel. The rooms have small refrigerators, so perfect to stock up on snacks & drinks. There's also a little gift shop in the lobby.

The room was spacious and bright with a nice view of the South End neighborhood. The bathroom was smaller but adequate and the bed was very comfortable with down pillows. We were delighted to find a really nice gym on the 5th floor. Pretty large by hotel standards with everything from free weights, treadmills, to fit balls. Some of the equipment has a city view and is nice, up to date stuff. There is also a big pool area connected, complete with full service locker rooms (lockers, showers, etc). This gym/pool area was a great bonus by our standards and something you don't come across very often except at big resorts. Just wish we had more time to use the facilities.

If you have a sweet tooth or need a fun gift to take home, head over to Burdick's chocolates on Clarendon St. Try the hot or iced chocolate and one of their delectable pastries. Max Brenner's on Boylston also has fun chocolates/gifts and also has a full service restaurant...both are walking distance. Champions sports bar is in the hotel if you don't want to leave. Basic pub food and big screen TVs everywhere, even one the size of a movie screen. Ladies, leave your husbands there and head for the shops! The Boston Marathon Memorial is in walking distance from this hotel, right in Copley Square and definitely worth a visit. We had just stayed at the Ritz not long ago and decided that we liked the Marriott better...and was a much better value. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have great views, so just a matter of what you want to see. Be sure to ask at che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,392
    472
    148
    61
See reviews for
696
641
136
1,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 8:30PM, to find that our room wasnt ready. They couldn't apologise enough, and offered to store our bags if we wanted dinner in the restaurant. They then gave us a voucher for dinner, so that was fantastic (particulary as it was raining and we didnt really feel like searching for somewhere to eat.) It wasn't a problem for us as we needed dinner, but it could have been inconvienient for someone else. (Especially as at 8:30 you expect to be able to check in). We requested a high room, and that was provided, we were on floor 33!

The room was decent size and I LOVED the king size bed! Very comfy. The bathroom door was on a slider and didnt lock, we didnt care and didnt report it, but again some may have an issue with that.

We had a problem with the safe (someone had left it locked) and security were sent up immediately to deal with it, so the response to that was great too.

Overall a good hotel as expected, the staff were friendly and responsive.

Helpful?
Thank johannalf88
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at the Hynes Convention Center in December 2012. It is definitely walkable from the hotel to the convention center and is inside which helps with Boston winters..... but it's a long walk, through a mall a busy, crowded mall. We had some trouble moving our conference booth materials from the hotel to our booth because of the mall route, but I guess it was better than being outside. Like others have said, the elevators are a problem here. We waited a very long time most days to get back upstairs!

Also, our room shared a wall with the "service" area on our floor. This meant we heard the staff, housekeepers, clanging glasses, phone calls, etc all day and all night!

The location was great and we walked to most meals and activities. Overall, would probably stay here again but would make sure it was a quiet room!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from service area on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afs8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This the BEST location in Boston! Right next to several T lines and in walking distance to EVERYTHING! We took Amtrak from NYC and simply walked through the shopping center indoors to get to the hotel check in. This was especially perfect this past weekend when it was freezing and rainy. Checking in was a challenge because our weekend overlapped with an anime convention (also provided great people watching..the costumes were awesome!) Concierge helped us with a few restaurants but we pretty much mapped out our own adventures while in Boston. Rooms were clean and housekeeping service was great. They gave us extra tea and frequently asked how our stay was. The work out and pool area was very nice. The convenience of being between 2 different shopping areas was great since the weather was so horrible..we were able to do a lot of window shopping in the evening when it was too rainy to explore outside. We would DEFINITELY stay here on our next visit to Boston. Couldn't be more perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'harbor view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWBW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is your typical downtown Marriott - within walking distance to many attractions, such as Quincy market and the Aquarium. There are also lots of dining options within walking distance, and Champions is also a great dining option. Room service is good but expensive. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are relatively quiet. The pool is big by indoor pool standards and was never too crowded while we were there, though the hot tub was closed down.
So far so good --- but the elevators are infuriating. There are at least 6 elevators that go between floors 1 - 27, and 10 elevators if you're going to 1 - 5 or above 27, but they are so slow and always crowded. From level 5, where the gym and pool is located, it is not unusual to wait at least 15 minutes before settling for an elevator going in the opposite direction just so you know you're finally going to get to your floor. I do not believe that all of the elevators were in operation - and if they were, they need to get more. It was ridiculous!!
Also, Internet costs $12.95 - $16.95, depending on the speed. And valet parking was $47 a night.
Probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the lowest floor you can get - then maybe you won't need to deal with the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First of all you cannot beat the location. Right in the heart of Copley Place. Centrally located by two shopping malls that you can get to from the inside of the hotel. close to multiple subway stations and middle of the city. I went with my three friends we are from New York and just loved it. Everyone that worked there was SO helpful and friendly. The concierge was AMAZING! They really helped us out so much. They even gave us free Charlie Pass Tickets for the subway. They really knew their stuff. Room was clean and updated. Very comfortable beds and great views of Boston. Clean and updated bathroom as well. The pool and workout room were an awesome plus. I legit had not one complaint about the hotel. 5 stars from me!! Stay here can't go wrong!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a banquet. The hotel itself is in a great location- easy to get to using public transportation from Logan Airport, attached to two malls and within walking distance of tons of tourist spots. The rooms were very clean and the beds were super comfortable! We were on the 23rd floor with a great view overlooking Boston. The concierge was very helpful and answered our few questions. Check-in was quick and easy. The food in the Champions restaurant was decent and reasonably priced, although the service was a bit slow. The lobby is a bit loud as the bar/lounge is open to the lobby. This wasn't an issue for us, but I can see how it could pose a problem to some, as the lobby is the only area with free wifi. (The loud bar isn't conducive to a quiet work area in the lobby.) The pool was really nice with a hot tub. The pool did get crowded and they could've used a few more chairs to sit on. I didn't use the fitness center but it looked really nice.
The few drawbacks for us:
1. The elevators were very slow and crowded. Everyone would crowd together on the elevator when it showed up because if you missed that one, there would be a long wait for the next one to come along. A hotel with that many rooms should have more elevators- maybe a couple different locations with elevators so everyone doesn't crowd in one spot. The elevator doors also stuck twice (opened easily with a push) and the elevators "bounced" up and down at the floors.
2. Breakfast. The cost of breakfast in this hotel is extremely high. I refuse to spend $16 per person on a continental breakfast that most hotels give for free. I guess a lot of other people felt this way because the line at the hotel Starbucks was ridiculously long. (Kudos to the starbucks employees for moving the line along).
3. Rooms are a bit noisy. Every noise in the hall was heard very clearly. Luckily we didn't have any rowdy people on our floor.

Room Tip: Get a room high up- the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kycoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing