We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Downtown Boston hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waltham, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Boston hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel is well situated in downtown Boston near the Prudential Center, the Hynes Convention Center, and a number of other hotels. I had a single room with a King sized bed on the 18th floor, with a nice view of one section of the downtown area (South Boston). I stayed at the hotel while attending a conference at the Hynes Convention Center, and one of the great aspects of the stay was that although a blizzard was raging outside for two days, I could walk to the convention center, to restaurants, and to nearby hotels through connecting indoor corridors, walkways, and bridges. I didn't even have to take my coat with me; I just watched the snow pile up from large picture windows in the various buildings and walkways and enjoyed the view of the city covered in snow without having to step outside and deal with it once.

The hotel was very clean, the room was nicely furnished, and small touches made me appreciate the room more than usual -- no cracked tiles in the bathroom, no dirt on the walls, a really clean, well-cared for room and hotel. Service was fine, and there was a large and well outfitted fitness room with elliptical machines, bikes, treadmills, and a small but lap-possible pool on the 5th floor. Only a few minor things keep me from rating the hotel five stars -- the bar downstairs was nice -- attractive, contemporary, busy, and urban, with a lighted backdrop behind the serving area, but the drinks were expensive (and for that money they weren't very strong). Also, the bottle of water left in the room was even more expensive than usual if you touched it (which I didn't). Finally, access to the Internet cost $12.95 a day, and although I understand this is standard for many downtown hotels, I really don't like being charged for Internet access when you're already paying good money for a room (I paid a conference rate for my room, and it was still about $250 a night after taxes, fees, and the Internet were added).

Besides those price-related details, this was a great, beautiful, clean, efficient hotel in a fantastic location. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view of the city and a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    1,377
    469
    144
    59
See reviews for
694
636
133
1,133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jlsheff
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for the World Irish Dance Championships. We used points and status to get placed on the concierge floors. The rooms have been updated and are decent sized. The bathroom is a bit small with a sliding door to save space.

We were on the 29th floor (there are 38 total). Elevators for the upper floors took twice as long to get as the ones dedicated to the lower floors. However, the view we had was so cool. We looked out on the Charles River and could see MIT and Cambridge with the surrounding areas. The rooms were well soundproofed as we could not here others in adjoining rooms although the hotel was at capacity.

The concierge lounge was nice. It served a breakfast that included scrambled eggs, fruits, assorted meats/cheeses, breads & muffins, yogurt, juice, and coffee/tea. Nothing fancy, but good to get your day started. Late afternoon, they put out appetizers and light desserts later. You can also grab a soda or bottle of water or two for the road as you head out on your day.

Service was excellent from the cleaning staff to the front desk. With all the frenetic activity going on, they seemed quite accustomed to the pace and treated everyone well. They have a pool area and work out facility that is very passable. However, with such a walkable city and so many sites to see, skip the workout and go see the sites.

The location is great for shoppers. If you like high end, this is your place. The Copley Place Mall has all the big name high end places and is adding more. Think of a high end place, Dior, Gucci, Bally, David Yurman, John Varvatos, Thomas Pink, Sur de la Table, Tiffany, it's there.
The bridge that connects to the Prudential Center and its mall for more high end shops is on Level 2. You can pick up the Duck Boat Tours outside and the Copley subway stop is a couple block walk.

We really enjoyed our time at this property and would welcome the opportunity to stay there again the next time I am in Boston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I was there for a large conference and thus have too little time to sightsee so the location is a BIG plus. Concierge level was great (ie outside normal marriott hours, if i remember correctly) though in a strange location on ground floor/lobby but it was being renovated so perhaps that's happened.

Honestly if it wasn't for our great conference room rate I'd stay somewhere more boutique-y. But if u like consistency without imagination - and great views on high levels then this is yr place. I could walk to shops-- walk -- that's such a bonus when u have only 15-20 minute breaks.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank entjohns51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here recently for a dance event. As a loyal Marriott customer this was our first choice for the venue. Straight away one of our electronics was stolen from our room, no in-room safe as listed on website and verified via phone call. You simply could NOT reach anyone at the "at your service" number for questions or to request extra towels, etc. and just try to reach the valet for parking...that number was constantly busy too. The rooms are tiny and the two double beds are simply unmanageable for a couple with two older teens. The heating system in the room is terrible and you cannot control the temperature. It would start up with a loud "whoosh" that was downright frightening and woke you up in the night. No real door on the bathroom....a slider and no fan in the bathroom. The hotel room walls are paper thin. Very hard to sleep as you hear everything in the hotel and everything happening on the street. The fitness room was okay, but the pool was simply overrun with children under the age of 10. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. When you finally did get someone to help you, everyone had their hand out for a tip. I would stay at a Courtyard Marriott over this location anytime or a Hampton Inn. Even at the "discounted rate", with the room and taxes, valet parking and two nights of internet (no food included) it was well over $600....what a rip-off. You must park in valet parking or you can't take your vehicle out without incurring an additional charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the moment you enter this hotel, you feel that you will be taken care of. The cab door is opened by a doorman who grabs your bags. You walk up to check in and the staff is very friendly. The elevators are lightning fast and the rooms are spacious with typically comfortable beds for a Marriott. The hotel is connected to a high end shopping mall with a variety of stores and if you travel through the mall, it ends at a subway stop which makes it ultra convenient. The restaraunt (Champions) has very good food and drink service with a plethora of TVs for sporting events. Forget something? No problem. My daughter wanted a shower cap and the front desk provided me with one. Need a cab? The doorman will whistle for one in a flash. The Concierge level is amazing. The views from that lounge on the 28th are awesome. Complimentary breakfast in that lounge as well. Great concierge staff as well. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: River view rooms are best for the obvious reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a dance event at the Hynes Conv Center. I've been here twice prior for business events & had the same issues! Try & get room service with a large event going on....impossible. As all calls were rolling to v-mail, I called At Your Service staff & was told they'd have in-room dining call us back....3 days later still no call! They just can't handle large groups! Parking at $47/night with NO discount for Gold level members or event participants. Elevators painfully slow. Nice location though, close to lots. The Concierge Lounge area was nicely stocked for breakfast; dessert time stock was painfully disappointing with just a few sickly looking cookies...& not at the end of posted times! I needed to find a restaurant in the North End for 3 of us. Again that area was rolling to v-mail (common at this locale!). Again, At Your Service personnel hand walked my request to the desk, telling me there were 7-8 in line & Mark at the concierge desk woud call us back. He did not long after & says he booked us a table for 3 that night....however, when we got to the restaurant they had no record of us! Luckily I had the little reservation card he gave us to take showing what was supposedly booked. They had 1 empty table, so we were seated promptly. Restaurant issue or concierge issue? I'd pick a Courtyard just outside of town or another hotel chain if I needed to be in the area again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Passport-Maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just got back from a three night stay at this hotel. We arrived very late at night and had a bit of trouble checking in because of the desk clerk being a little rude (in his defence it was my fault, but he was not nice and not helpful) but Barbara (another person at the check in desk) came to our rescue and was extremely kind and smoothed things out. After that we had a wonderful stay. This is an extremely large property attached to mall after mall and there are always a million people walking around at all hours of the day and night. But they have a lot of security all over so it was never any problem. We were on the 32nd floor and our room was very large and comfortable, clean, with a refridgerator. The view from the room was spectacular,looking over all of Boston. It is a very convenient location and in a nice neighborhood with lots of restaurants, stores and available tourist tours if that is what you are looking for. The King bed was comfortable and the maid service very good. We would highly recommend this Marriott hotel and would stay again the next time we come to Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and not near an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobswifecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Copley Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Copley Place

Property: Boston Marriott Copley Place
Address: 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#45 Business Hotel in Boston
#50 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boston Marriott Copley Place 4*
Number of rooms: 1144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standout among other hotels in Copley Square, the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place is centrally located in the Back Bay district of the city. Just minutes from historic Trinity Church and Boston Common, our downtown Boston hotel’s location is perfect for business, weekend and leisure travel. Local shopping destinations include the stylish boutiques of Newbury Street, Copley Place Mall, and the Shops at Prudential Center, while nearby sporting venues make it easy to cheer on favorite teams at Fenway Park or TD Bank Garden. Guests are pampered with upscale amenities and on-site services including Champions sports bar and restaurant, valet parking, car rental and tour desk. Featuring 70,000 square feet of flexible, high-tech event space, our hotel is ideal for Boston conventions, business meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Marriott Copley Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Copley Place Hotel Boston
Marriott Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing