We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Instead of aircon you get bugs and terrible food”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time writing a review, never thought I ever would, but simply 40 Berkeley is that bad I feel I owe it to society to warn you. I'll start with the good- the little older receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming, the reception itself is modern and clean with a cute popcorn machine and movie room. The bad- no aircon in the rooms, they are so hot and humid, almost unbearable. The value for money is also terrible, box room, literally just a dorm bed and a creaky old wardrobe. They say breakfast is included, but what they don't warn you off is that it is basically prison food, standard breakfast slop, rubber eggs, bacon and sausages that could be used as a blunt object to harm someone they were that hard. I stayed for two nights and on both occasions I used the shared bathrooms there was ants and Beatles crawling around the showers and toilets. overall 1/10, I'll sleep rough before I stay here again but like I said if you like salted popcorn, wobbly pool tables and a movie room then reception is the place for you, I wouldnt let my dog sleep in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cd4291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Berkeley, Front Office Manager at 40 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback as we value all guest reviews. We are in the process of renovating and one of our goals is to have the room’s equipped with A/C. We do have ceiling fans and a desk fan in each room and available at our front desk are extra desk fans for your convenience. We have added industrial fans in the hallways on each floor to help with cooling down. It’s very disappointing that we did not meet your expectations and our standards. As we hope that our guests get to enjoy all that we offer and the sights of Boston. Our housekeeping staff cleans all common areas, including bathrooms and hallways throughout the day and our reception is open 24 hours, where we will gladly take care of any issues reported. We hope that you will give 40 Berkeley a chance in the future and If there is anything we can do to assist you please feel free to contact me directly at sbetty@40berkeley.com.
Sophia Betty
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

There was no a/c nor any kind of air cooling in the bedroom. We just spent four days in a 7th floor bedroom and it was almost impossible to sleep. More than 90º F for sure even in the middle of the night! No one in the hostel seemed to pay attention on the matter!
The breakfast was included but so greasy that it is not healthy at all. The only good point is the location, close to the orange metro line.
So, this place could be a good option, especially if you intent to sleep elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location. WiFi. Wonderful socializing areas. Gorgeous garden patio. Great value for meal plan. Awesome breakfast included! Terrific discounts on different things to do in Boston. Super friendly and accomodating staff. Real international flavour! I'm definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanciJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The price is less than half of what you pay elsewhere and considering that, it's good value. The hot breakfast is included and the common areas are pretty good. BUT we were there in a heat wave and there is no aircon. The rooms are basic and some other features are missing from a hostel - common kitchen and fridges. Coffee and tea making is only available from about 8am to 5pm. Why??? The location doesn't have many bars and restaurants nearby but we had no trouble walking to Back Bay in about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during a 90+ degree heat wave. Even though our room didn't have Air conditioning, the receptionist, Paula, was very helpful and got us an extra fan. Rooms, hallways, and shared bathrooms were generally clean. Breakfast had a surprising amount of choices (eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast, english muffins, hot/cold cereal, etc) but wasn't spectacular - we only went once. Because the location was so good, we ended up spending little time at the hostel anyway. Easy access to parking, back bay station, and there's even a 7-11 across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwood966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I loved our 6 night stay at 40 Berkeley. The hotel/hostel is a previous YWCA located in a lovely area of Boston called South End. It's just a 5min walk from Back Bay station which was great for us as we were travelling via Amtrak.

We fell in love with Boston which was made all the easier by our experience with 40 Berkeley, located in the heart of the city. Nestled amongst traditional red brick buildings, the hostel is approx 7 stories and houses a garden patio, vending machines, a movie room, pool tables, a big laundry room amongst the bedrooms and bathrooms. We were staying in a private double room with a shared bathroom and the facilities were basic but more than accommodated us. The only issue that I had was the lack of air conditioning in the room, meaning that the room was very humid during our stay. However, we asked for a fan at the reception and we were given one straight away!

Every person we encountered at the front desk was brilliant. They were always happy and very helpful, including their advice for places to visit around the city and prices relating. Kudos for that!

Breakfast is quite a basic buffet style but there was plenty to keep you happy - eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, pancakes, toast, cereal and so on. The dining room is clinical looking but at least you know it's clean!

The bathrooms are always a vital stranglehold for me whenever I stay somewhere so I was initially hesitant about the shower stalls etc but, actually, the facilities were brilliant. The showers were always very clean and hot and I never had to wait!!

Our particular highlights at 40 Berkeley were the free popcorn available in the afternoon, a free but huge BBQ on our first day and the relaxed nature of the hostel. It is these little details that make the price all the more worthwhile!

Perhaps my only criticisms would be the air con issue and the very slow elevators but they really are minor concerns in the grand scheme of things. I wanted to give the place a 4.5 but couldn't so this is the truest reflection.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in Boston over night here and we where very disappointed. We had booked through hostel.com a double bed room with an ensuite and when we arrived we had a room with two single beds and a communal bath room! When we went and spoke to the people at the front desk they informed us that they have over booked and because we where only there for one night they moved us. They never offered a refund, or and compensation. Don't think that I will be going back again!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Davehickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#73 of 84 in Boston
1,142 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
282 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
533 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,744 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 84 in Boston
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range: $30 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing