We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great price”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is my second time of visiting Boston and also the second time staying at 40 Berkeley. You can never find a cheaper place with such nice location, environment and service. The common place has lots of convenient facilities, coffee, popcorn, and movie room. And there is nice breakfast for free every morning. I would like to recommend this hotel to every traveler with limited budget but seeking for a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxin_Shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
There are newer reviews for 40 Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

The staff is very kind and nice, the helped us in everything they could. Our room was very comfortable and we didn't had any problems at all. Prices are great and the location was superb! Definitely coming back when visiting Boston again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The staff is very nice and friendly. The location is great and for the price you can't beat it. The best part is the breakfast (even though it only opens at 8am on the weekend). If you are on a tight budget and don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a hotel room, this is a great option!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We really enjoyed staying there. The staff at the reception was incredibly nice and helpful. They made phone calls for us and provided us with all the information we needed. The rooms were clean, but as we were there during Blizzard Nemo, they were rather cold. But the WiFi reception works very well even up to the 7th floor. The common room is awesome, also the small movie room and the rocking chairs were really cool! Our overall impression was absolutely positive!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff at this hostel are awesome! Especially Paula Roderick and Isabel. They will do anything in their power to make your stay more comfortable. I stayed here during the blizzard in the beginning of February. The room was private and clean, it had a nice view, and more than I expected from a hostel. Not to mention it was a third to half the cost of hotels in the area. Its within walking distance to Bostons public transit system. I met some really cool guests staying here as well. There is plenty of comfy lounge space to relax on and socialize with other guests. I have never been treated so well by a hotel staff before. Definitely exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: Private rooms are the way to go. You still have to share a bathroom but for the value this place is...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. I must admit, I was completely naive about hotel prices in Boston -- they're appallingly high. I'm not that fussy about accommodations, as I spend more time out of the room than in it, but the noise level was really too high. Management tries to keep it quiet, including instructions on closing the room doors quietly. Evidently no one reads the brochure, though. It felt like being in a college dorm -- people coming in at 2:30, 3 a.m. after the bars have closed, talking loudly, and slamming their doors.

I also couldn't believe there was only one women's bathroom with one toilet, one shower, and one bathtub for an entire floor, but it seemed to work OK; I saw very few others on the floor and I guess the other women got up earlier in the morning than I!

Aside from that... The location in the South End near Back Bay is ideal for getting to downtown Boston, the Fenway, many colleges, the art museums, Symphony Hall, etc. It's a 5-minute walk to the Back Bay T station and a $7 cab ride to South Station, thus an easy commute to the airport via the Silver Line T.

Everyone working the desk was courteous and fast. Discounts on some local attractions were available; I saved $3 on the (outrageous) $25 admission to the Museum of Fine Arts. The public areas of the hostel on the main floor were lovely -- rocking chairs with a view of the outdoors, 2 spacious lounge areas, huge windows, free popcorn in the afternoon, and areas for viewing DVDs and brewing tea.

It's too bad the floors where guests are supposed to sleep aren't this nice. It was a deal-killer for me, and I won't return.

Room Tip: Maybe there's a floor quieter than the 3rd.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked it because of the price, went in mid December 2012.
It's basics, old furniture and building in general, but in good nick and very clean! Bathrooms are well looked after and gleaming (chrome soap dispensers were spotless despite their metallic reflective surface). Heating was well regulated, (apart from downstairs bathroom near reception, that one was boiling!)
Room had a chair and desk, and chest of draws, curtains only decorative, but that didn't bother me, one thing I wish I could do, was to roll up the blinds, as the view was fantastic, but alas, they were fixed in place.
Reception was welcoming & helpful, gave me map and cookies:) Also kept my suitcase on the last day as my flight was in the evening.
Loved free Starbucks in the lobby!
Breakfast was far better than most of pricy hotels I stayed before. Not just dry out of the pack, but freshly cooked! Good choice too. Had sausages, bacon, eggs, potatoes, fruit, yoghurt, OJ and coffee. Bliss!
Canteen is crowded, but I found a place no problem and it has nice view to the yard.
Also worth mentioning is the shop/cafe across the street, opened late, full of snacks, drinks, food, 100 types of hot coffee & tea, magazines, papers, postcards and every sweet imaginable:)
Bought nice chicken salad, V8 and some snacks for my dinner there.
Overall, liked the hostel and its location and will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I_am_She_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
277 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#71 of 84 in Boston
1,134 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
511 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 84 in Boston
2,183 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 84 in Boston
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range: $122 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing