We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience!”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful place, great for students to tour the day. perfect facilities, clean bathroom, comfortable beds, very friendly staff people, including breakfast, free coffee! pool tables. Tv room,

Jim knows ...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nino820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
There are newer reviews for 40 Berkeley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Close to Back Bay Amtrak Station (5 minute walk) this hostel is within walking distance to Downtown Boston (15 minute walk). Rooms are basic, but clean and exactly what you would expect for what you pay. Facilities around the hostel were excellent, such as vending machines, internet computers (there is also wi-fi), laundry, luggage lockers, and my favourite the rocking chairs! I would recommend this place if you are looking for a reasonably priced stay in Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first time in a hostel. Economical way to stay compared to hotel prices. Easy walk from Back Bay station making the stay convenient since I arrived via Amtrak. Truly is a 5 mins. walk. The ability to leave baggage before and after check in helpful. Great location, easy walk to Newbury Street/Copley Square. Walked downtown to harbor, walked to Charles River. Excellent choice to stay if you don't plan on staying in your room while in Boston and who would, so much to do and see. I paid approx. $250.00 for two nights stay with private full size bed and shared bathroom. Full breakfast included! Bed was comfortable and clean. This is not luxury it's a clean place to lay your head after spending your day out and about the great city of Boston. Looks like shown on line. Staff very nice, didn't access their knowledge about city, my son was my private tour guide.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTJanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is one of the cheapest places I could find to stay near downtown Boston, easily accessible from at least 2 subway stations, the hostel is near the theatre district (5 min walk) and downtown Boston (20 min walk). The place is clean and safe. Do not expect any kind of luxury here, the furniture is old and plain basic. If you are on a budget and plan to just stay the night this is the place for you. Yes you have to share the showers and bathrooms. Internet was down when I checked in but later on it came back and it was working without a hitch through out the hostel, even at the restaurant. Breakfast caught me by off guard (in a good way) I mean, eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit, juices, coffee, assorted breads, cereal you name it and ALL included in the price... WOW! Paula at the front desk.. she was FANTASTIC, I hope the managers will notice her.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NessyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was BY FAR the cheapest place to stay close to downtown Boston (by about $250 per night!). They advertise having wi-fi but, just as many other posts said, the service was virtually non-existent. Do NOT plan on having internet service there. Our room was mostly clean and they have some amenities you might like.

If you plan on doing a lot of touring around and not spending time at the hostel this is the place to go on a budget. I would stay there again....unless I made more money - ha!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My daughter & I stayed for 3 nights in July (2010). Even though pricey for a hostel, it saved us money compared to other places, was pretty convenient to the metro and not a bad neighborhood. The breakfast was very good for a hostel, well stocked & the servers were helpful. However, it was horribly hot when we were there and it hadn't been made clear to us that the place had NO AC in the rooms! Needless to say, we didn't get any good sleep. The beds were OK by hostel standards, but not very comfortable & coupled with stifling heat made our nights miserable. We paid a deposit to get a small fan to put in the window - but it sure didn't help much. The hallways were cooler, but felt it would've been dangerous to sleep with our door open. It was also noisier with the window open. On check-out, it was nice that we could leave our bags at the desk while we went sight-seeing before our evening flight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Considering this was the first time I had ever stayed in a hostel, I was pleasantly surprised at the service at 40 Berkeley. For roughly $115 a night, it can't be beat.

Of course, if you don't like the idea of sharing a bathroom then 40 Berkeley is not for you. I didn't think I would like that idea either, but it wasn't so bad. WiFi access was spotty, and, yes, the elevator is slow. However, there are stairs.

What I liked most was the *free* breakfast. These guys ain't serving up a continental breakfast; I'm talking pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, hash browns, cereal, OJ, etc. Try getting that at a Motel 6.

Another thing I liked about 40 Berkeley was the people. They get lots of visitors from Europe, in addition to the residents already there. I enjoyed chatting with some of the residents and travelers.

Yep, the rooms are small, too, but who goes to Boston to stay in their room all day? 40 Berkeley is a great place to get a hot breakfast and put your head down for a night's rest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
277 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#72 of 84 in Boston
1,136 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
515 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 84 in Boston
2,194 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range: $97 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing