We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hostel is in a good location, queit and very close to the underground. The staff is extremely friendly and always ready to give you any useful information about the city. The bathroom are not very clean because of the big amount of guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannuzzo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hostell is in perfect location and the customer service was very good. Thank you. The place was quiet and you can enjoy your rest and the fun with your friends. Because the hostell offers different entertainments like pool, tv room and comfortable places for rest or book reading. The rooms are clean and neat. All the employee's are friendly and all the time are ready to help you with what they can.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanimirMarinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the minute we checked in at Berkeley 40 we were blown away. The beauty of the place itself to the kindness and efficiency of the staff. We had everything at our fingertips, information, free breakfast, lovely hot showers with good water pressure( you'd be surprised how many hotels this is a disappointment). Anyway, I will recommend this place hands down to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Boston. By the way, so clean - we seemed to alway run into staff cleaning!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runeloiserun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The location is fantastic. Staff friendly and very helpful. Things are
in generally clean, a bit like a student dorm - nothing unexpected
here. The price is about right for its purpose.
However, there were several aspects of my room that were rather poor.
Some are more acceptable than others.
1. I was probably unlucky that my room absolutely sucked. It stank of
either a wood polisher (to the cupboard) or overused of freshener
sprays. My guess is the former since I tried to air the room with no
affect.
2. The heater pipe made really noisy sound periodically in the middle
of the night and early morning (like before dawn).
3. I had a utility room between my room and toilet, you can hear
toilet flushing but this isn't so bad for me since I don't get woken
up by it.
I reported 1. to the reception and they were very helpful in saying
they would accommodate by moving me, but since they are fully booked,
once I move out I cannot move back in. That is fair enough. Since I
was staying for just one more night, I decided to not bother; in case
it's the same in every room, the amount of room airing I attempted
might have gone to waste if it was at all helping. I was not affected
by 2. on the first night, just the second (and last) night. The
banging noise (I think the technical term is 'hammering') of the
heater pipe is not acceptable either.
To me, the only fault is the problem with the exceptionally poor
quality of probably that particular room. Service, on the other hand,
was good and no fault there. I probably would have been full of
praises if I get a 'regular' room that problems are not created within
the room itself. My room was 426, please drop by to see if there is
still a smell when you enter.

Room Tip: Try to ask for different room if you suspect something is not right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Berkeley, General Manager at 40 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Kelvin,

I received this same message at my direct email address, and wanted to make sure you had received the response I sent directly back to you. If there's anything else you need, please don't hesitate to email me again.

"My apologies you did not get a response sooner, although I do respond to all inquiries by the end of the next business day the latest. This gives us time to look into the issues and respond in a timely manner with what actions we have taken if needed.

We did not smell any type of cleaner scent in room 426, although it has been occupied until this morning since your departure. My guess is, like yours, that we need to address the overuse of the scent spray in the closet.

As for the heat, we have turned on the boilers readying for winter. The hammering was caused by air in the line. We have "bled out" the air out of the line in room 426, as well as a few others, to prevent this from occurring.

Although you enjoyed the staff at 40 Berkeley, I am sorry you had a less than fun stay.
Please know we never want to add to anyone's stress nor want anyone to have to pay for an experience like the one you had.

We have refunded your stay. You should see the credit on your account in 7 to 10 business days. $xxx.xx on the Amex and $xxx.xx on the V/M.

We are in the process of renovating our rooms and I hope you will give us another try the next time you're in Boston.


Cheers,

Anthony"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel itself is really nice. There is a big lobby there are rocking chairs and nice cosy couches.
There are even two billard tables.
Here you will find a big flat tv set and 18 chairs with cup holders just like you'll dind in a cinema.
The hotel is very clean even the bathrooms.
The only downside for me is that in my room the windows couldn't be closed which is a problem because od the traffic noise. And there's plenty.
It is a very simple room with one old bed two desks and a big wardrobe. To me it smelled funny, very funny. It was a smell candle of some sort.

There is a really fast wireless internet connection available.

Here you will have the chance to meet some very nice people from all over the world.
The hotel is also in a very nice neighborhood with a lot of nice bars and restaurants around it.

I will never come back because I like comfortable, expensive four to five star hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked one night for a quick weekend trip to Boston. The hostel was clean and well maintained though the building is old and the rooms very basic. We ended up on the noisy side of the building so our first night was interrupted many times by street noise and the noise of people coming into their rooms very late. We decided to extend our stay and we were able to secure another room in the morning. The staff at the desk was terrific and they even discounted our second night, I assume, because of the noise the first night. We were moved to the quiet side of the building and we had a much better night! The quality of the hot breakfast was a nice surprise! Free coffee, popcorn, and the t.v. room were really nice extras too.

If all you're looking for is a basic place to sleep that is walking distance from most of the main sights of Boston - this is a great place to stay. If you're looking for luxury, pay the big bucks and stay some where else. You can't beat the location of this hostel for the price. Parking at a nearby garage for 36 hours cost us $35.00 with the voucher the hostel gives.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the "quiet side" of the building. Bring an extra towel if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We used 40 Berkeley for a quick overnight and the hostel delivered pretty much what we expected; an inexpensive place to stay in Boston. We reserved a private room and found it clean and close to the bathrooms in the hall. There was some noise from the street below but it wasn't too bad. After we checked out, they let us keep our luggage in the office while we walked the Freedom Trail, and let us take a shower when we returned. The breakfast is something you'd find in a college dorm, but would fill you up if you weren't too picky. The fresh fruit and coffee were good. We enjoyed the nearby Picco Restaurant on Tremont - excellent pizza.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghoulwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#73 of 84 in Boston
1,142 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
283 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
534 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,744 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 84 in Boston
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range: $30 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing