We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth seeing old ironsides” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlestown Navy Yard

Charlestown Navy Yard
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.09*
and up
Boston USS Constitution Cruise
Ranked #75 of 380 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1800 as one of the country's original naval maintenance centers, the Navy Yard is now the home of the USS Constitution.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
475 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“worth seeing old ironsides”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited on a sunny late summer afternoon and liked our tour of USS Constitution. The security line is a bit absurd but the ship is beautifully maintained. There are guided tours that include trip below deck. Try to catch one if you can. In self guided tour the ship could have used a bit more explanation / placards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    65
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
636 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“WW2 Battleship. USS Constituion. Great for a Saturday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was a lot of fun to walk around the Navy Yard. The dry dock is an impressive site, especially considering how old it is. Walking around the Battleships are great experiences too. Any age will love and remember the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NH
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“See Old Ironsides and Take the Water Taxi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Charlestown Navy Yard is home to the USS Constitution, the oldest commissioned warship at 215 years old. In July 2013 we could no longer do a self tour below decks, only topside. However, wait for the below decks tour. Old Ironsides id the best deal in Boston, its free. The destroyer Caissin Young is temporarily docked away from the yard while repairs are made to the dry dock in which it is normally located. The only way to see the yard is to the second best deal in the city, the water taxi from the Aquarium wharf to the Navy Yard. A 15 minute ride with the city as a backdrop for only $3.00 for adults. Either take the water taxi back to the waterfront, or walk towards the bridge and walk back through he North End for gelato, wine or whatever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Uss constitution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

On Thursday we visited Boston. We came late in the day to go to the Constitution. I bought the official freedom trail guide in the visitor centers gift shop. We did not see the visitor center exhibits though. We took the guided tour. There are steep stairs. We learned some interesting facts from our tour guide from Colorado. On the berth deck (sleeping deck) we re- enacted the hms gureierre vs uss constitution. I was on the uss constitution side. It was interesting to see the difference between the officer quarters to the soldiers. I recommend the 30 min guided tour. You can spend about 15 minutes on the top deck. Attraction rating G
Admission free
X rating 6.6

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnX269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the destroyer is currently elsewhere for repairs, USS Constitution was interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited on June 30, and visited the USS Constitution (guided tour of the wooden ship includes below deck access, you need photo id and you pass through a metal detector) and the USS Constitution museum building across the square. The USS Constitution tour is free and the admission to the Museum building is by donation, i.e. the price is reasonable. The wooden ship is well maintained but the lowr decks are quite short for adults. I was told that the WW2 destroyer might be back later in July.
I also took the enjoyable Super Duck amphibious bus tour that leaves from gate 2 just outside the Navy Yard/ square. You can purchase tickets for the Duck tour online or in the museum gift shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler_pcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlestown Navy Yard also viewed

 

Been to Charlestown Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing